Skip to main content

PSYC 212: Social Psychology -- Fall, 2017

Use Databases to Find Articles

Suggested databases for this class:

PsycINFO

Scholarly articles from peer-reviewed psychology journals.THE BEST FOR PSYCHOLOGY ARTICLES!

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection

Scholarly articles from psychology and other behavioral science journals.

Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA)

Covers journals in health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and

education.

Web of Science

A collection of multidisciplinary citation databases.

SocINDEX with Full Text

Indexes journals, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations and conference papers in sociology and related disciplines.



The following databases cover disciplines outside of social psychology but which may be related to your topic.  Include the term "psychology" as one of your search terms. 

Academic Search Complete
Covers all subjects. Includes both scholarly journals AND popular magazines.

ABI/Inform Complete
Covers business and management from U.S. and international journals and trade magazines.

Animal Behavior Abstracts  (1982 - present, online)
Indispensable resource for scientists in behavioral and related studies. Significant papers relevant to animal behavior, with subjects ranging from neurophysiology to behavioral ecology and from genetics to applied ethology. Surveys all of the important journals dealing with the biology of particular taxonomic groups.

ATLA Religion Database
Indexes journals, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews in the areas of religion and theology.

Gender Watch
GenderWatch is a full text database of diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch provides a historical perspective on the evolution of the women's movement and the changes in gender roles. Publications include academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, non-governmental organization, and special reports.

LexisNexis Academic 
Provides full-text access to news, business and legal sources. The sources include international, national and regional newspapers; magazines; trade journals; newsletters; wire service reports; transcripts of television and radio news programs; law reviews; company reports and much more. 

PubMed

Covers journals in the field of medicine.

ERIC
Education database.

Political Science Complete

Political Science database.

Empirical vs. Review Articles

Know the difference between empirical and review articles.

Empirical article
An empirical (research) article reports methods and findings of an original research study conducted by the authors of the article.  

Review article
A review article or "literature review" discusses past research studies on a given topic.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar searches specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322