Skip to main content

Spanish 460: Drawing the Line: The Mexico-U.S. Frontera and its Stories: Finding Articles

This guide is designed to assist students in Professor Hartfield-Mendez's Spring 2018 Course with their research

Suggested Databases for Finding Articles

Access to most of the electronic resources listed below is limited to Emory University faculty, students, and staff. Information on Accessing Databases

The Databases at Emory page provides a complete list of databases and electronic journals provided by the General Libraries. It also lets you search for databases by subjects.

Academic Search Complete  is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. The best place to start your research.

Chicano Database  The Chicano Database is a comprehensive bibliographic index representing all types of material for information about Mexican-American topics and the only specialized database for and about Chicanos. Updated quarterly, the Chicano Database provides extensive coverage from the 1960s to the present, with selective coverage dating back to the early 1900s. Records added since 1992 have expanded its scope to include the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants.

Education Abstracts  A bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles of at least one column in length from English-language periodicals and yearbooks published in the United States and elsewhere. English-language books relating to education published in 1995 or later are also indexed.

Ethnic NewsWatch  Indexes and provides the complete articles from some 170 ethnic U.S. newspapers, two dozen of which are Hispanic newspapers. It can be searched in English or in Spanish.

HAPI Online: Hispanic American Periodicals Index  This is an excellent database for research on Hispanic America. HAPI covers all fields from popular topics to current events to history, literature, sciences and social sciences, including US Latino topics.

Hispanic American Newspapers Compilation of Spanish-language newspapers – some published in both Spanish and English - printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries.

Historical Abstracts Includes articles and, after 1976, books dealing with world history (except North American history). It includes writings about the period from 1450 to the present.

ìInforme! (Revistas en español en Infotrac) ìInforme! is a periodicals index covering both U.S. Latino and Latin American popular magazines and journals (presently about 100). Subject and keyword searching are not always effective but users will find links to the full-text of articles.

Latin American Newsstand Latin American Newsstand is a full-text database of over 35 leading newspaper titles from Latin America (including Brazil and Puerto Rico). Also included are regional magazines and wire services. Each issue of every newspaper is indexed thoroughly so that the database is cross-searchable. Citations are available for articles in all the source publications. Abstracts allow researchers to save time by allowing them to identify the complete articles they need. Full-text articles are also instantly accessible for all of the titles.

Latino Literature    Includes 100,000 pages of fiction and poetry and 450 plays, representing the Chicano culture and all the different ethnicities of Latin American writers with a Hispanic background working in the United States.

MLA International Bibliography The first stop for research on literature.

Sociological Abstracts The international bibliography of writings on sociology and related fields.

Women's Studies International   An excellent multi-disciplinary index to women's studies.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322