Skip to main content

Spanish 460: Drawing the Line: The Mexico-U.S. Frontera and its Stories: Reference Books

This guide is designed to assist students in Professor Hartfield-Mendez's Spring 2018 Course with their research

Reference Titles

Gale Virtual Reference Library  A collection of online reference works

Oxford Reference Online This database includes fully-indexed, cross-searchable full text content from more than 170 subject dictionaries, language reference and subject reference works in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.

Books listed in this section are located in the Reference Collection of Level 2 or in the Book Stacks of Woodruff Library.

Contemporary Hispanic Quotations. Compiled and edited by Daniel E. Stanton and Edward F. Stanton. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2003.

Reference PN6084 .H47 C66 2003

Dictionary of Hispanic Biography. Joseph C. Tardiff & L. Mpho Mabunda. New York: Gale Research, c1996.

Book stacks CT1343 .D53 1996

Encyclopedia of Latino Popular Culture. Cordelia Chvez Candelaria, executive editor. Westport, Conn: Greenwood Press, 2004. 2 volumes

Reference E184 .S75 E59 2004

Encyclopedia of Minorities in American Politics. Edited by Jeffrey D. Schultz et al. Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press, 2000. 2 volumes

Reference E184 .A1 E574 2000

The Hispanic American Almanac: A Reference Work on Hispanics in the United States. Edited by Sonia G. Benson. 3rd ed. Detroit: Gale/Thomson, c2003.

Reference E184 .S75 H557 2003

The Hispanic Databook: Detailed Statistics and Rankings on the Hispanic Population, including 23 Ethnic Backgrounds from Argentinian to Venezuelan, for 1,266 U.S. Counties and Cities. Editor, David Garoogian. 2nd ed. Millerton, NY: Grey House Pub., c2004.

Reference E184 .S75 H567 2004

The Latino Encyclopedia. Editors, Richard Chabrán and Rafael Chabrán. New York: Marshall Cavendish, c1996. 6 volumes

Book Stacks E184 .S75 L357 1996

Notable Latino Americans: A Biographical Dictionary. Matt S. Meier. Westport, Conn.; London: Greenwood Press, c1997.

Book Stacks E184 .S75 M39 1997

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States. Suzanne Oboler and Deena J. González, editors in chief. New York : Oxford University Press, 2005. 4 volumes

Reference E184 .S75 O97 2005

Voices of Multicultural America: Notable Speeches Delivered by African, Asian, Hispanic, and Native Americans, 1790-1995. Deborah Gillan Straub, editor. New York: Gale Research, c1996.

Reference PS663 .M55 V64 1996

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322