Skip to main content

Grants, Foundations, and Scholarships: General Grant Information

Guide to research grants, fellowships, and scholarships

General Grant Information

The Emory libraries provide access to more than 600 research databases in major fields of study, but there also are a number of publicly-available web sites you may want to explore to find out information about grants and scholarships. Such databases and web sites are ideal venues to identify specific resources for grants, foundations, and scholarships. You also may want to use discoverE, the Emory libraries' tool for searching the library catalog, selected databases, and other digital collections.

Good databases and web sites to check out:

Carnegie Corporation  The Carnegie Corporation of New York offers grants used to promote "international peace and the advancement of education and knowledge." Their current programs include Education, Democracy, Higher Education and Research in Africa, and International Peace and Security. This site offers information on these grants, along with information on how to apply, program guidelines, and general information about the Corporation.

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance  A database of all Federal programs available to state and local governments and covers all types of federal assistance, not just financial aid and guaranteed loans.

Chronicle of Higher Education Vitae Provides helpful articles pertaining to grants and fellowships in higher education.

Community of Science is a global resource for hard-to-find funding information critical to scientific research and other projects across all disciplines. Requires an account. 

ED.gov, supported by the U.S. Department of Education, provides a web portal to federal resources for education aimed primarily at undergraduates. It provides infomation on FAFSA (the standard application for Federal student aid) as well as a useful forecast for future funding opportunities.

Foundation Center maintains the most comprehensive database on U.S. grantmakers and their grants. The Center's subscription database, Foundation Directory Online, provides detailed information about more than 95,000 U.S. foundations and corporate donors and 1.3 million grants. This online Directory is subscribed to by the Emory libraries and is not open to the general public.

Grants for Individuals, organized by the Michigan State University Libraries, focuses primarily on funding opportunities such as financial aid or scholarships for students. Searchable by academic level, population group, and subject.

Grants.gov, supported by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is a central storehouse for information on over 1,000 grant programs awarding approximately $500 billion in annual awards.

GrantsNet is a database of funding opportunities for training in the biophysical, life, physical, and social sciences, as well as mathematics and engineering. It contains listings for programs that offer training and research funding for graduate and medical students, postdoctoral fellows, and junior faculty as well as programs for undergraduates. GrantsNet is a free service but users must sign up for a password.

Grant Select lists one of the largest collection of sponsored research opportunities in all subject areas, featuring more than 12,000 programs from over 5,100 sponsors. Emory does not subscribe to this service but it may be available at selected public libraries and colleges in Georgia.

GRAPES Database (UCLA Graduate & Postdoctoral Extramural Support) Maintained by the UCLA Graduate Outreach, Diversity and Fellowships Office, contains information on over 500 private and publicly fundd awards, fellowships, and internships. Advanced search options allow users to refind their search by field, academic level, awared type, amount, and other criteria. Designed for UCLA students, the site is open for public use and is a helpful supplement to the GRANT forward database below.

GRANT Forward Database A joint project from Cazoodle, Inc. and the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Cazoodle took over the IRIS grant search service. Grant Forward currently contains over 9,000 active federal and private funding opportunities in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanties. Searchable by sponsor, deadline date, keyword, and other criteria. Grant Forward also provides an alert service. Grant Forward is a service subscribed to by the Emory libraries and is not open to the general public.

National Science Foundation E-Bulletin Program Dates and Deadlines The National Science Foundation funds research and education through grants and cooperative agreements with more than 2,000 colleges, universities, K-12 school systems, and other research organizations. The NSF accounts for about one-fourth of the federal support to academic institutions for basic research.

National Science Foundation Proposal and Award Policies and Procedures Guide, describes the mechanism for preparing and submitting grant proposals to the NSF. This includes NSF's FastLane System, an interactive real-time system used to communicate with researchers, reviewers, and research administrators and their organizations. NSF FastLane requires an NSF ID to log in.

Contact Us

Woodruff Library's picture
Woodruff Library
Contact:
540 Asbury Circle
Atlanta, GA 30322
Reference: 404-727-6875
Circulation: 404-727-6873
Website / Blog Page
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322