Skip to main content

Grants, Foundations, and Scholarships: Funding for Graduate Students

Guide to research grants, fellowships, and scholarships

Funding for Graduate Students

Start HERE:

Databases to Find Funding

 

Additional Resources:

Money for Graduate Students in the Arts & Humanities.
Gail A. Schlachter and R. David Weber, eds.
El Dorado Hills, Calif.: Reference Service Press, biennial.
2007-2009 edition
Woodruff CAREERREF LB2337.2 .M652
If you are working on a master's, professional, doctoral, or other graduate degree in any of the arts or humanities, this directory will make it easy for you to find out about the 1,000 biggest and best fellowships, grants, and awards available to support your work in these fields. Best of all, only "free" money is identified. Full details are given for each program: contact information, purpose, eligibility, money awarded, duration, special features, limitations, number offered, and deadline date. Since the entries are grouped by recipient level (master's or doctoral degree), you'll be able to turn directly to the section that describes the type of funding you need. Plus, extensive indexing lets you access the programs by subject, residency, tenability, sponsor, title, and even deadline date. Covers Architecture, Art, Communications, Creative Writing, Dance, Design, Drama, Filmmaking, History, Journalism, Languages, Literature, Music, Mythology, Philosophy, Photography, Religion, Sculpture, and more!

Money for Graduate Students in the Biological Sciences.
Gail A. Schlachter and R. David Weber, eds.
El Dorado Hills, Calif.: Reference Service Press, biennial.
2007-2009 edition
Woodruff CAREERREF LB2337.2 .M653
This directory only lists programs open to graduate students in the scientific areas of: Agronomy, Animal sciences, Botany, Entomology, Environmental Sciences, Horticulture, Marine S, Veterinary Sciences, Zoology, or any other related field. Only "free" money is identified. In addition, all of the funding opportunities described are "portable," so you can take the money awarded by these fellowships to any number of schools. Each program is clearly described - with detailed information given on purpose, eligibility requirements, financial data, duration, special features, limitations, number awarded, and deadline date. Entries are grouped by level (master's and doctoral), so you can zero in on just the type of aid you need. You'll even find the same convenience in the indices, where title, organization, geographic coverage, subject, and deadline date are subdivided by student level.

Money for Graduate Students in the Health Sciences.
Gail A. Schlachter and R. David Weber, eds.
El Dorado Hills, Calif. : Reference Service Press, biennial.
2007-2009 edition
Woodruff CAREERREF LB2337.2 .M6532
This directory only lists 900+ programs open to graduate students in these health-related areas: Dentistry, Genetics, Medicine, Nursing, Nutrition, Pharmacology, other related health fields. Only "free" money is identified. Here's your chance to target programs that offer at least $1,000 per year to each recipient (and many go way beyond that, awarding full tuition or $30,000+ to graduate students annually), knowing that not one dollar of that will need to be repaid (provided, of course, that stated requirements are met)! In addition, all of the funding opportunities described are "portable," so you can take the money awarded by these fellowships to any number of schools. Each program is clearly described--with detailed information given on purpose, eligibility requirements, financial data, duration, special features, limitations, number awarded, and deadline date. Entries are grouped by level (master's and doctoral), so you can zero in on just the type of aid you need. You'll even find the same convenience in the indexes, where title, organization, geographic coverage, subject, and deadline date are subdivided by student level.

Money for Graduate Students in the Physical & Earth Sciences.
Gail A. Schlachter and R. David Weber, eds.
El Dorado Hills, Calif.: Reference Service Press, biennial.
2007-2009 edition
Woodruff CAREERREF LB2337.2 .M654
Describes 875+ of the biggest and best fellowships, grants, and awards set aside just for students interested in working on a master's or doctoral degree in: Atmospheric Sciences, Aviation, Chemistry, Computer Science, Electronics, Energy and Environmental Sciences, Geology, Mathematics, Physics, Space Sciences, Technology, or any other physical or earth science. Each program is clearly described -with detailed information given on purpose, eligibility requirements, financial data, duration, special features, limitations, number awarded, and deadline date. Entries are grouped by purpose (study and training or research and creative activities) so you can zero in on just the type of aid you need. You'll even find the same convenience in the indices where title, organization, geographic coverage, subject, and deadline date are subdivided by funding focus.

Money for Graduate Students in the Social & Behavioral Sciences.
Gail A. Schlachter and R. David Weber, eds.
El Dorado Hills, Calif.: Reference Service Press, biennial.
2007-2009 edition
Woodruff CAREERREF LB2337.2 .M667
Describes 1,100 of the biggest and best fellowships, grants, and awards set aside just for students interested in working on a master's or doctoral degree in: Accounting, Advertising, Business Administration, Criminology, Demography, Economics, Geography, International Relations, Librarianship and Library/Information Science, Marketing and Sales, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, or any of the other social or behavioral sciences. Each entry provides purpose, eligibility, financial data, duration, special features, limitations, number awarded, and application date. You can even get fax numbers, toll-free numbers, e-mail addresses, and web sites, along with complete contact information. Entries are grouped by purpose (study and training or research and creative activities) so you can zero in on just the type of aid you need. You'll even find the same convenience in the indexes, where title, organization, geographic coverage, subject, and deadline date are subdivided by funding focus.

Contact Us

Woodruff Library
Contact:
540 Asbury Circle
Atlanta, GA 30322
Reference: 404-727-6875
Circulation: 404-727-6873
Website / Blog Page
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322