Skip to main content

Resources for Film History Research: Film-related Resources at MARBL

Highlights of MARBL Collections

Emory's Manuscripts, Archives and Rare Books Library (MARBL) is especially noted for its Southern and African-American collections, which include some film-related materials. These are some of the major holdings.

African American Cinema Collection.

1907-2001; 10 linear ft.

This collection consists primarily of promotional materials, including lobby cards, posters, pressbooks, and ephemera related to African Americans in cinema or African Americans in general. The strength of the collection resides in the periods from 1920-1980 and 1991-2000. The ephemera includes stills, slides, promotional photographs, comics and foreign movie programs.

MSS 814

Atlanta Film Council

Papers, 1947-1952; 1 box

The Atlanta Film Council is affiliated with the Film Council of America and is committed to increasing information about and promoting more effective use of audiovisual materials. The collection includes correspondence, program announcements, membership and committee lists, reports of meetings, and a copy of the council's constitution. Also includes records of the Audio and Visual Education Workshop sponsored jointly by Emory University and the Atlanta Film Council, 1949.

MSS 488

Dixon, Thomas, 1864 – 1946
Papers, 1901-1905; 0.25 linear feet in 1 box
Thomas Dixon was born in Shelby, North Carolina, on January 11, 1864, and died on April 3, 1946. During his lifetime he was an attorney, legislator, clergyman, author, and motion picture producer. Between 1902 and 1940 he published twenty-two novels but is most remembered for The Clansman (1905), the novel that became the controversial film classic Birth of a Nation (1915). In 1915 he opened his own movie studio, eventually producing his novel, The One Woman. Dixon’s correspondence with his publisher and his wife primarily comprises the collection but also included is a letter to Walter Hines Page mentioning his work on the plot development for The Clansman. Additionally, the papers contain photographs and a typescript of The One Woman.
MSS 23

Killens, John Oliver, 1916-1987

Papers, 1937-1987; 26 linear ft.
John Oliver Killens was a novelist, essayist, screenwriter, political activist, and teacher. After years of struggling, Killens saw his first novel, Youngblood, published in 1954 to critical acclaim. In 1964 his World War II novel, And Then We Heard the Thunder, was nominated for the Pulitzer Prize in Fiction. After the success of Youngblood, Killens received assignments from Harry Belafonte, the popular singer and actor, to write outlines for screenplays as well as story ideas and screen treatments. Like Belafonte, Killens was active in the civil rights movement, serving in various capacities in the New York State NAACP and as Chairman of the NAACP's National Cultural Committee. He also supported the Congress of Racial Equality (CORE) and the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC) as well as helping Malcolm X set up the Organization for Afro-American Unity. The John Oliver Killens papers document his personal, intellectual, professional and political life. The collection includes correspondence, writings by Killens, writing by others, and printed material. These include critical writings; forewords and prefaces; essays; speeches; novellas and novels; plays; screenplays; scripts; and story ideas.

MSS 957

Kurtz, Wilbur G., 1882 – 1967
Collection, 1888-1979; 3.75 linear feet in 8 boxes
Wilbur Kurtz, born in Illinois and later resident of Atlanta, Georgia, was a professional illustrator specializing in architectural drawings. In addition to supervising the restoration of Atlanta’s Cyclorama in the 1930s, Kurtz served as technical adviser for the movie Gone with the Wind. Among the papers, photographs, and drawings in this collection are correspondence with Margaret and Eugene Mitchell and writer Medora Field Perkerson, technical and historical material regarding the filming of Gone with the Wind, and clippings Kurtz collected about the movie.
Finding aids: collection description, EUCLID, RLIN.

MSS 586

Larkin, John
Scrapbook, ca. 1914-1932; 1 oversize bound volume.

This collection consists of a scrapbook documenting part of the career of "Jolly" Jon Larkin, a noted vaudeville performer and motion picture actor. The scrapbook includes movie reviews, programs, advertisements, newspaper clippings, as well as broadsides relating to Larkin's vaudeville performances with the Dandy Dixie Minstrels.

MSS 858

Mitchell, Margaret , 1900-1949

Collection, 1920-1991; 10 boxes, 2 OH, 5 OP

Mitchell was an Atlanta journalist and author of Gone With the Wind. Collection includes correspondence, photographs, reviews, newspaper clippings, magazine articles and Gone With the Wind memorabilia. Also includes an audiocassette interview by Paul Shields of Ralph McGill about Mitchell.

MSS 265

Myrick, Susan, 1893-1978

Papers, 1913-1972; 4 boxes, 10 OP, 4 OBV

Myrick, a journalist with the Macon Telegraph, served as a technical advisor for filming of Gone With the Wind. The papers include correspondence, writings, clippings, printed material, photographs and scrapbooks relating mainly to Myrick's work on Gone With the Wind.

MSS 542

O'Brien, Edna, 1936 – 
Papers, ca. 1960-1998; 49.5 linear feet in 99 boxes
Novelist and short story writer Edna O’Brien was born in County Clare, Ireland, in 1936. She has written over a dozen novels, including The Country Girls, the story of a woman’s sexual awakening in the 1960s which was banned in Ireland along with her next six books. She has also written several plays and screenplays as well as a biography of James Joyce. The papers include literary manuscripts of most of O’Brien’s short stories and novels, among them The Lonely Girl, Girls in Their Married Bliss, August is a Wicked Month, Casualties of Peace, Night, A Pagan Place, The High Road, Time and Tide, House of Splendid Isolation, Down by the River, and Wild Decembers. Also present is literary correspondence, diaries (currently restricted), photographs, collected printed material, and other related papers documenting her distinguished literary career.
MSS 855

Patterson, Louise Thompson, 1901-1999
Papers, 1909-1996; 21 linear ft.

Louise Thompson Thurman Patterson (1901-1999) was an important figure in the Harlem Renaissance and an active campaigner for civil rights, racial and sexual equality, economic justice, and international human rights. The collection includes extensive correspondence with Langston Hughes; correspondence concerning the film on the Negro in American life to have been made in the Soviet Union, 1932; documentation of the Harlem Suitcase Theatre co-founded with Langston Hughes; and records of the Sojourners for Truth and Justice, a national black women's organization co-founded with Beah Richards. Emory also holds the personal library of Louise Thompson Patterson.

Finding aid: descriptive inventory, EUCLID, RLIN.

MSS 869

Uhry, Alfred
Collection, n.d.; 8 linear feet in 8 boxes
Playwright Alfred Urhy was raised in Atlanta, Georgia. The collection holds notebooks, drafts of scripts and television screenplays, including Driving Miss Daisy, Last Night of Ballyhoo, and Parade. Additionally, there are photographs, printed material, and a videotape of the documentary, “Southern Roots, Southern Stories: Alfred Uhry.”
MSS 833

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322