Skip to main content

Resources for Film History Research: Microfilm Collections

Archival Documents on Microfilm

The following list highlights some microfilm collections that you might find helpful for your research. Always check discoverE or EUCLID for the most complete and up-to-date information on our holdings.

Association of Workers of Revolutionary Cinematography (1923-1932).
Asso´t`sia´t`si´i`a rabotnikov revol´i`u´t`sionnoi kinematografii (ARRK) (1923-1932).
Documents from the Russian State Archive of Art and Literature (RGALI)
Woodbridge, CT : Research Publications, Primary Source Media, 1999.
12 reels + guide.
MICFILM 4243

 

Cinema Pressbooks from the Original Studio Collections.

Documents from the Wisconsin Center for Film and Theater Research.

Research Publications, 1988.

38 reels + guide.

Contents: Pt. 1. Section A. Warner Brothers - Sound Features (Reels 1-19) -- Pt. 2. Section B. Warner Brothers - Silent (Reels 20-23). Monogram features (Reels 24-25). United Artists and Eagle Lion (Reels 26-38).

MICFILM 3183

D. W. Griffith papers, 1897-1954.
Frederick, Md. : University Publications of America, 1982.
36 reels + guide.

Includes business and personal papers, publicity scrapbooks, family memorabilia.
MICFILM 1749

Gallup looks at the movies : audience research reports 1940-1950.

American Institute of Public Opinion & Scholarly Resources, Inc. 

Scholarly Resources, Inc., 1979.
4 reels.

MICFILM 4458

History of the Cinema.

Series 1: Hollywood and the Production Code Administration.

Now available online as Hollywood, censorship, and the motion picture production code, 1927-1968

Selected files from the Motion Picture Association of America Production Code Administration, filmed from the holdings of the Magaret Herrick Library, Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. PCA files on 500 films dating from 1927 to 1968, including some significant foreign film releases.

Woodbridge, Conn. : Primary Source Microfilm, 2006.

33 reels + guide.

MICFILM 4482

J. Edgar Hoover and radicalism in Hollywood. Part 1, Communist infiltration of the motion picture industry. 
Confidential letters of J. Edgar Hoover and internal and external FBI documents concerning radical artists, writers, actors and musicians investigated beginning in July 28, 1942. Includes censored text (blacked-out).
Woodbridge, CT : Primary Source Media, 2007. 
14 reels + guide
MICFILM 4558

Meyerhold Theatre, 1920-1938 [microform] : from the holdings of Russian State Archive of Literature and Art, Moscow, Russia = Gosudarstvennyi teatr imeni V.·E. Meierkhol’da, 1920-1938 gg. : iz fondov Rossiiskogo Gosudarstvennogo arkhiva literatury i iskusstva, Moskva, Rossi´i`a.

Woodbridge, CT : Research Publications, 1999.

165 reels + guides

MICFILM 4391

Moscow Lenin Order Mosfilm Studio (1938-1945) = Moskovska´i`a kinostudi´i`a "Mosfil’m" (1938-1945).
Documents from the Russian State Archive of Art and Literature (RGALI)

Woodbridge, CT : Research Publications, Primary Source Media, 1999.

14 reels + guide

MICFILM 4243


Will Hays Papers.

Edited by Douglas Gomery.
Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1988, c1986.
78 reels ; 35 mm + guide.

MICFILM 4329

Wisconsin/Warner Bros Screenplay Series.
Reading, Berkshire, England ; Woodbridge, Conn. : Research Publications, 1989-.
Summary of Contents: Part 1. Gangster films (reels 1-8) -- Part 2. Women's films (reels 9-19) -- Part 3. Social dramas (reels 20-28) -- Part 4. The musical (reels 29-36) -- Part 5. Crime films (reels 37-43) -- Part 6. Horror, detective, murder melodrama (reels 44-47) -- Part 7. War films (reels 48-54) -- Part 8. Westerns (reels 55-60) -- Part 9. Comedy (reels 61-65) -- Part 10. Prestige pictures: adventure, biography, classics (reels 66-74).

78 reels ; 35 mm. + guide.

MICFILM 3637

 

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322