Skip to main content

Atlanta Newspaper Guide

Atlanta Historic Newspapers Archive

The University of Georgia Libraries' Atlanta Historic Newspapers Archive spans the years 1847-1922 with over 67,000 images, and includes the following titles:

  • Atlanta Daily Examiner, 1857
  • Atlanta Daily Herald, 1873-1876
  • Atlanta Georgian, 1906-1911
  • Atlanta Intelligencer, 1851, 1854-1871
  • Atlantian, 1911-1922
  • Daily/Georgia Weekly Opinion, 1867-1868
  • Gate-City Guardian, 1861
  • Georgia Literary and Temperance Crusader, 1860-1861
  • New Era, 1869-1872
  • Southern Confederacy, 1861-1864
  • Southern Miscellany, and Upper Georgia Whig, 1847
  • Southern World, 1882-1885
  • Sunny South, 1875-1907
  • Weekly Constitution, 1869-1882

Other Notable Atlanta Newspapers

Below is an additional selected list of currently published as well as historical Atlanta newspapers of note. For more complete listings of Atlanta newspapers, consult the sources listed on the About Atlanta Newspapers page of this guide.

Refer to the box to the left for more information on locations listed in this chart.

Title

Location / Format

Time Period Covered

Atlanta Business Chronicle:

Published 1978- 

Covers economic trends and developments in Atlanta’s business community.Use it to track movement of business people and organizations.

Publishes dozens of ongoing Atlanta and Georgia lists and the annual Atlanta Book of Lists.

More information from:

Publisher’s website (online)

June 1996-

ABI/INFORM at ProQuest (online)

July 1999-2004

Latest issues in Business Reference & Career Reference (Level 2); earlier issues at HF1 .A84 (Level 7)

1983-

Atlanta Georgian:

Published Apr. 25, 1906-1939; title varies. 

Daily afternoon paper purchased in 1912 by William Randolph Hearst, who transformed it into a yellow press publication and made it the third largest paper in Atlanta by the 1930’s.  James M. Cox purchased the Georgian and the Atlanta Journal in 1939, and immediately shut down production of the Georgian.

MICFILM 4343 (microfilm)

June 1906-1922

MARBL, Level 10 (print)

May 21, 1917 (extra issue)

Digital Library of Georgia, Atlanta Historic Newspapers (online)

1906-1911

Daily Intelligencer:

Published 1849-1871; title varies.

Began as a weekly, switching to daily format in 1854.  One of the earliest Atlanta papers, it had a secessionist bias and was the only one to survive the Civil War.

MICFILM 6 (microfilm)

1858-1867  [some gaps]

MARBL (print)

Uncataloged scattered issues, 1863-1864 (see Woodruff Newspaper Directory)

Digital Library of Georgia, Atlanta Historic Newspapers (online)

1851, 1854-1871

Great Speckled Bird:

Published Mar. 1968-Feb. 1985 (suspended Oct. 1976-Apr. 1984)..

Famed Vietnam War era underground paper with Emory roots.

Search tip: Alternative Press Index provides subject access to the Bird

More information from:

MICFILM 626 (microfilm)

1968-1976

MARBL (print)
Call number: AP2 .G79 FOLIO

Nearly complete run, missing handful of issues.  MARBL also holds a collection of Bird archival records

Georgia State University Library, The Great Speckled Bird

1968-1985

Jeffersonian

Published 1906-1917; title varies.

Mouthpiece of firebrand populist Tom Watson.  His paper rivaled the Atlanta Journal and Atlanta Constitution in circulation and influence.

More information from:

MICFILM 4355  (microfilm)

1907-1917

MARBL (print)

Uncataloged scattered issues, 1910-1916 (see Woodruff Newspaper Directory)

Kourier

Published  Dec. 1924-1936; title varies. Continues Imperial Night-Hawk (no Emory holdings).

Ku Klux Klan paper.

MICFILM 902 (microfilm)

1924-1936

MARBL (print)

Uncataloged scattered issues, 1929-1932

Southern Voice

Published 1988-  

Gay news source for Atlanta and the Southeast.

LGBT Life (online)

2004-   (full text); 2002-2003 (references only)

Newspaper Room (print)

Latest 3 months only

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322