Skip to main content

ARTHIST 379R: African American Art (Fall 2013): Research Tools

Topics could include romanticism in England and the United States, issues in American painting; African diaspora ritual arts; and African American painting and sculpture

DATABASES

Databases that provide info. about journal articles

All Emory databases can be found at the DATBASES@Emory page, use the drop-down menu to find databases in your field.

African American Biographical Database
Biographical information, including photographs and illustrations. AABD includes profiles and full-text sketches providing both biographical detail and narratives chronicling the lives of Black Americans.

Art Abstracts and Art Index Retrospective Covers 404 art publications from around the world.

ARTbibliographies Modern
Abstracts international selection of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews on art from 1850-present.

ARTstor
The ARTstor database includes digital images representing architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture. 

Black Studies Center
Black Studies Center seamlessly integrates the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP) and full-text access to historical back-files of Chicago Defender from 1935-1975, a prominent black newspaper. The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience consists of commissioned essays by scholars in the field and a collection of primary resources that includes photographs and video clips

JSTOR
The Journal Storage Project provides full text access to the back files of many core academic journals.

America History and Life [EBSCOhost]
Description: Indexes journals, book reviews, and dissertations for American history and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present.

Humanities International Complete
Humanities International Complete covers journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index The Arts & Humanities Citation Index(A&HCI), part of Web of Science, includes subjects such as Archaeology, Linguistics, Architecture, Literary Reviews, Art, Literature, Asian Studies, Music, Classics, Philosophy, Dance, Poetry, Film, History, Religion, Language, and Theater.

Periodicals Index Online is the new name for Periodicals Contents Index - a database of millions of article citations published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, across more than 300 years.

Project Muse
Provides networked access to the full text of more than 150 scholarly journals, including important historical journals. Coverage is from the mid-nineties to the present.

Web Sites

Smithsonian American Art Museum's African American Masters: Highlights traveling exhibit

African American / African Diaspora Biography on the Internet

Rhapsodies in Black: Art of the Harlem Renaissance, curated by David A. Bailey and Richard J. Powell. The Web site elaborates on some of the key themes in the exhibition: The Harlem Renaissance, Representing the New Negro, Modernism and Modernity, A Blues Aesthetic, Imaginging Africa, Haiti and Images of Black Nationhood.

The Paul R Jones Collection of African American Art, housed in the University Museums at the University of Delaware in Newark, Delaware, contains African American visual art dating from the 18th century up to the present.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322