Skip to main content

Data Resources for Political Science: CD-ROM/Non-Web Databases

This is a compilation of commonly-used data resources for Political Scientists. The "Classic Rock" of Data, if you will.

CD-ROM/Non-Web Databases

Banks Cross-National Time-Series (CNTS) Data Archive
The Banks CNTS Data Archive contains time-series data from 1815-2016 on a wide range of political, economic, and social indicators. The data include some supplementary events-level data on individual events that are aggregated to produce specific variables in the time-series data. An older version of the archive is available here. Access to the CNTS data is limited to current Emory faculty/staff/students and is for academic use only.

Catalist
Catalist is a database on voting registration and behavior and aggregated demographics that is used for data-analytics purposes by political campaigns. Emory has an academic license for querying underlying data to produce aggregated tables that also provides access to a 1% sample of active voter registration records. Access is via password. Please contact the Center for access. Access to Catalist is limited to current Emory faculty/staff/students and is for academic use only.

Datastream Advance
Datastream Advance is a very comprehensive source for data on exchange rates, interest rates, prices, stocks, and various other macroeconomic and microeconomic data. It is available on workstations in Center for Digital Scholarship. Access to Datastream is limited to current Emory faculty/staff/students and is for academic use only.

Neighborhood Change Data Base
The Neighborhood Change Data Base contains data from the 1970, 1980, 1990, 2000, and 2010 censuses and allows users to convert data from pre-2010 censuses into 2010 census tracts to show demographic and economic changes over time in given areas. Access to the NCDB is limited to current Emory faculty/staff/students and is for academic use only.

Data Services

Robert O'Reilly, Ph.D's picture
Robert O'Reilly, Ph.D
Contact:
404-727-6129 (P)

roreill@emory.edu

Emory Center for Digital Scholarship (ECDS)

Woodruff Library, 3rd Floor

ECDS Hours: Monday-Friday, 9:00AM-5:00PM

We help researchers with locating quantitative data and with cleaning and preparing data for analysis.
Website / Blog Page
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322