Skip to main content

Data Resources for Economists: Help with R/SAS/SPSS/Stata

This guide is a collection of links to commonly-used data resources favored by Economists.

Help with R/SAS/SPSS/Stata

This page is a collection of links for help with using R, SAS, SPSS, and Stata. The guides are very "from-the-ground-up" and cover multiple topics, from the basics of getting data into the program to various common data-management tasks to introductory data analysis.

These guides generally focus on using syntax to work with and analyze data in statistical software. While there are learning curves of varying degrees of steepness with each of these applications, a syntax-based approach to working with data is a more robust and reproducible means of doing empirical analysis and is the flip side of proper citation with regard to the coin of transparency in quantitative research. Simply put, syntax is documentation that spells out what you did to process and analyze the data and produce your findings, and access to that syntax thus shows others how you got your results. Some journals such as the American Economic Review and the American Journal of Political Science even require submission of syntax for cleaning and analyzing data as part of their submission policies on data availability.

For additional guidance on working with data, see "Stata for Researchers: Project Management" (written for Stata users, but applicable more generally) and the Teaching Integrity in Empirical Research Project's recommended specifications and processes for working with data.


R Resources:

"Articles on Statistical Computing - R" from the Social Science Computing Cooperative, at the University of Wisconsin-Madison

"Cookbook for R," by Winston Chang

"Getting Started in Data Analysis Using Stata and R," by Oscar Torres-Reyna, Princeton University

"Quick-R - 'Accessing the Power of R'"

"R - "Quick List of Useful R Packages"

"r4stats.com," by Robert A. Muenchen, the University of Tennessee

"R Software - Easy Guides," from Statistical Tools for High-Throughput Data Analysis [NOTE: this site is a bit dense; scroll down for R tutorials.]

"RStudio Cheat Sheets"

"R for SAS and SPSS Users," by Robert A. Muenchen, the University of Tennessee (.pdf)

"R for Stata Users," by Matthieu Gomez , Princeton University

"Resources to Help You Learn and Use R," from UCLA's Academic Technology Services

"Stata Fully Mapped into R," an R Package for Translating Stata Syntax into R Syntax

"Using R and RStudio for Data Management, Statistical Analysis, and Graphics" (Second Edition) (.pdf)

"Using R to Analyse Key UK Surveys," from the UK Data Service (.pdf)


SAS Resources:

"Articles on Statistical Computing - SAS Basics and SAS Topics" from the Social Science Computing Cooperative, at the University of Wisconsin-Madison

"Documentation for SAS Products and Solutions," from the SAS Institute

"Frequently-Asked Questions about SAS," from the Department of Statistics and Data Sciences at the University of Texas-Austin (via the Internet Archive)

"Introduction to SAS Version 8.2," from the University of Virginia's ITC Division (via the Internet Archive)

"Knowledge Base / Samples and SAS Notes," from the SAS Institute

"Main Continuous and Historical NHANES Tutorials," from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention [NOTE: this collection focuses on NHANES data, but the tutorials have useful guidance for analysis of survey data more generally.]

"Resources to Help You Learn and Use SAS," from UCLA's Academic Technology Services

"SAS Analyst for MS Windows," from the Division of Statistics and Data Sciences at the University of Texas-Austin (.pdf)

"SAS Classes and Seminars," from UCLA's Academic Technology Services

"SAS I: Getting Started," from the Division of Statistics and Data Sciences at the University of Texas-Austin (.pdf)

"SAS II: Inferential Statistics," from the Division of Statistics and Data Sciences at the University of Texas-Austin (.pdf)

"Topics in SAS Programming," from UNC's Carolina Population Center


SPSS Resources:

"Articles on Statistical Computing - SPSS" from the Social Science Computing Cooperative, at the University of Wisconsin-Madison

"Frequently-Asked Questions about SPSS," from the Department of Statistics and Data Sciences at the University of Texas-Austin (via the Internet Archive)

"Resources to Help You Learn and Use SPSS," from UCLA's Academic Technology Services

"SPSS Classes and Seminars," from UCLA's Academic Technology Services

"SPSS: Interactive Introduction to SPSS Statistical Software," from the Social Science Research and Instructional Center

"SPSS for Windows: Getting Started," from the Department of Statistics and Data Sciences at the University of Texas-Austin (.pdf)

"SPSS for Windows: Descriptive and Inferential Statistics," from the Department of Statistics and Data Sciences at the University of Texas-Austin (.pdf)

"SPSS for Windows: Displaying Data," from the Department of Statistics and Data Sciences at the University of Texas-Austin (.pdf)

"SPSS for Windows: Data Manipulation and Advanced Topics," from the Department of Statistics and Data Sciences at the University of Texas-Austin (.pdf)

"SPSS for Windows I," from the Centre for Applied Statistics at Lancaster University (via the Internet Archive)

"SPSS for Windows II," from the Centre for Applied Statistics at Lancaster University (via the Internet Archive)

"SPSS Tutorials," from Ruben Geert Van Den Berg in the Netherlands

"What Is SPSS 20 For Windows?" from the UK Data Service (.pdf)


Stata Resources:

"A Little Bit of Stata Programming Goes A Long Way," from Christopher Baum at Boston College (.pdf)

"Articles on Statistical Computing - Stata Basics and Stata Topics" from the Social Science Computing Cooperative, at the University of Wisconsin-Madison

"Getting Started in Data Analysis Using Stata and R," by Oscar Torres-Reyna, Princeton University

"Introduction to Stata," by Germán Rodríguez, Princeton University

"Frequently Asked Questions," from the Stata Corporation

"Resources for Learning Stata," from the Stata Corporation

"Resources to Help you Learn and Use Stata," from UCLA's Academic Technology Services

"A SAS User's Guide to Stata," from the UNC Carolina Population Center

"Stata Classes and Seminars," from UCLA's Academic Technology Services

"Stata Cheat Sheets," from the "Fundamentals of Data Analysis and Visualization" Project

"A Stata Tutorial," from the UNC Carolina Population Center

"Welcome to the Online Stata Tutorial at DSS," by Oscar Torres-Reyna, Princeton University

"What Is Stata?" from the UK Data Service (.pdf)

Data Services

Robert O'Reilly, Ph.D's picture
Robert O'Reilly, Ph.D
Contact:
404-727-6129 (P)

roreill@emory.edu

Emory Center for Digital Scholarship (ECDS)

Woodruff Library, 3rd Floor

ECDS Hours: Monday-Friday, 9:00AM-5:00PM

We help researchers with locating quantitative data and with cleaning and preparing data for analysis.
Website
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322