Skip to main content

Data Resources for Sociologists: Major Data Archives

This guide is a collection of links to commonly-used data resources favored by Sociologists.

Major Data Archives

ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research)
http://www.icpsr.umich.edu/
The ICPSR is one of the largest collections of quantitative data in the world. The archives contents cover a very wide range of topics, with household surveys, health conditions and health care, and public opinion being particularly strong points in the collection. Emory's local ICPSR representatives are Ms. Jennifer Doty and Dr. Robert O'Reilly. The ICPSR is also available via Databases at Emory. Please see this notice from the ICPSR on how to access the archive and its data when off-campus.

Harvard Dataverse Network (DVN)
https://dataverse.harvard.edu/
Harvard's Dataverse Network is an eclectic collection of datasets and data collections, including replication datasets for articles on topics such as political competitiveness in post-war Latin America or the effect of IMF programs on government spending, ongoing research projects on topics such as manifestos of regional political parties and ideology scores of state legislators and perceptions of electoral integrity, organizations such as development NGOs, groups such as networks of economists at different universities, and replication archives for academic journals.

World Bank Data Catalog
https://datacatalog.worldbank.org/
As part of its Open Data Initative, the World Bank has opened up access to dozens of its data collections and compiled into a single data catalog. The holdings here range from larger databases covering multiple topics to more narrowly-focused collections associated with particular research projects.

Data Planet
https://statisticaldatasets.data-planet.com/dataplanet/Datasets.html
Data Planet is an aggregator of data and statistical information from domestic and international sources, both public and private. It provides access to data on topics such as crime, economics and finance, the environment, health, housing, and population demographics. You can download tables into spreadsheet-friendly formats, although downloading large amounts of data is not always a ready option. Data Planet is also available via Databases at Emory.

"More and Beyond, and Fun!"
http://data.library.virginia.edu/datasources/find-data/more-and-beyond-and-fun/
UVa's Research Data Services and Sciences has compiled a list of off-beat data collections with a pop-culture focus.

Data Services

Robert O'Reilly, Ph.D's picture
Robert O'Reilly, Ph.D
Contact:
404-727-6129 (P)

roreill@emory.edu

Emory Center for Digital Scholarship (ECDS)

Woodruff Library, 3rd Floor

ECDS Hours: Monday-Friday, 9:00AM-5:00PM

We help researchers with locating quantitative data and with cleaning and preparing data for analysis.
Website
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322