Skip to main content

Data Resources for Sociologists: Health Data

This guide is a collection of links to commonly-used data resources favored by Sociologists.

Health Data

Health Indicators Warehouse
https://web.archive.org/web/20170131213553/http://www.healthindicators.gov
The Heath Indicators Warehouse was a very useful catalog of of data on a variety of health-related topics such as maternal health, mortality, risk behaviors, and health infrastructure, with data available at national, state, and/or county levels depending on the indicator. The site is no longer available, but you can access its list of data sources and its lists of indicators via the Internet Archive.

IPUMS Health Surveys
https://www.ipums.org/healthsurveys.shtml
The University of Minnesota's IPUMS project has created harmonized microdata from the National Health Interview Surveys series and harmonized the data for easier comparisons over time. The integrated data consist of samples from different iterations of the NHIS dating back to the 1960s.

National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/
The NCHS, which is part of the CDC, contains much data on various health indicators at both national and state levels. The Data Warehouse may be of particular interest, as it provides access to public-use microdata from surveys such as the National Health Interview Survey. The National Vital Statistics System may also be of interest for data and historical reports on births, deaths, and marriages.

National Survey of Family Growth (NSFG)
http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/nsfg/
The NSFG is an on-going survey series focusing on matters of family history and reproductive history (e.g. marital history, childbirth, usage of contraceptives) as well as more general matters such as employment history and demographics. Earlier NSFG waves are available via the Social Science Electronic Data Library (see below), via the National Center for Health Statistics, and in harmonized form via the Integrated Fertility Survey Series.

Social Science Electronic Data Library (SSEDL)
http://www.socio.com/members/memonly.htm
The Social Science Electronic Data Library is an archive of over 300 datasets covering a variety of topic areas, including Adolescent Pregnancy, Aging, AIDS/STD's, the American Family, Disability in the US, and Maternal Drug Abuse. The archive is well-indexed and allows variable-level searches. This resource is also available via Databases at Emory. Many of the older studies are also available on CD-ROM's in the Data Center.

Data Services

Robert O'Reilly, Ph.D's picture
Robert O'Reilly, Ph.D
Contact:
404-727-6129 (P)

roreill@emory.edu

Emory Center for Digital Scholarship (ECDS)

Woodruff Library, 3rd Floor

ECDS Hours: Monday-Friday, 9:00AM-5:00PM

We help researchers with locating quantitative data and with cleaning and preparing data for analysis.
Website / Blog Page
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322