Skip to main content

Data Resources for Sociologists: Comparative Political Economy/International Political Economy

This guide is a collection of links to commonly-used data resources favored by Sociologists.

Comparative Political Economy/International Political Economy

International Labour Organization
http://www.ilo.org/global/lang--en/index.htm
The ILO is the main international labor-rights advocacy group in the world and has brought together a variety of information about labor rights and working conditions internationally. You can access their databases directly at http://www.ilo.org/global/statistics-and-databases/lang--en/index.htm. The topics covered range from macroeconomic labour-market indicators (e.g. employment, unemployment, wages) to more specific topics such as trade-union membership and employment-protection legislation.

International Monetary Fund (IMF) Macroeconomic and Financial Data
http://data.imf.org/
The IMF's data library covers topics such as investment flows, monetary aggregates, economic output, commodity prices, exchange rates, public finances, financial institutions and markets, and both public and private debt. The available databases include the Balance of Payments Statistics, the Direction of Trade Statistics, the Government Finance Statistics, and the International Financial Statistics.

LIS Cross-National Data Center
http://www.lisdatacenter.org/
The LIS Cross-National Data Center "acquires datasets with income, wealth, employment, and demographic data from a large number of countries, harmonises them to enable cross-national comparisons, and makes them available for public use by providing registered users with remote access." Its microdata collections include both the Luxembourg Income Studies and the Luxembourg Wealth Studies. The Center also hosts a collection of cross-national country-level datasets on topics such as social spending, fiscal redistribution, family policies (e.g. family leave), and income distribution.

OECD iLibrary (Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development)
http://www.oecd-ilibrary.org/
The OECD iLibrary is an online interface that provides full-text access to OECD studies, periodicals, and dozens of statistical databases. The topical range of the iLibrary is considerable and covers areas such as agricultural policies, environmental indicators, social expenditures, labour markets, national accounts, foreign trade and FDI, and various industry-level data. While its focus is on wealthier developed countries, the iLibrary also includes OECD reports and publications on selected non-member countries such as the BRIC countries of Brazil, Russia, India, and China. This resource is also available via Databases at Emory.

World Development Indicators (World Bank)
http://data.worldbank.org/data-catalog/world-development-indicators
The World Development Indicators provide convenient access to hundreds indicators on over 200 countries and territories. Data are available annually from 1960 forward, with variation across countries and indicators. The database is part of the Bank's Data Catalog of statistical databases and other data collections. The WDI is also accessible via Databases at Emory and on CD-ROM in the Data Center.

Data Services

Robert O'Reilly, Ph.D's picture
Robert O'Reilly, Ph.D
Contact:
404-727-6129 (P)

roreill@emory.edu

Emory Center for Digital Scholarship (ECDS)

Woodruff Library, 3rd Floor

ECDS Hours: Monday-Friday, 9:00AM-5:00PM

We help researchers with locating quantitative data and with cleaning and preparing data for analysis.
Website / Blog Page
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322