Skip to main content

Data Resources for Sociologists: CD-ROM/Non-Web Databases

This guide is a collection of links to commonly-used data resources favored by Sociologists.

CD-ROM/Non-Web Databases

Area Resource File (ARF)
The Area Resource File is a database of health resources data, measured at the county level for over 6,000 indicators. The information includes measures of employment in various health professions; availability of health facilities; frequency of utilization; hospital and Medicare expenditures; and demographic and geographic indicators by county. The database is installed on all of the EDC's public workstations. It is also available for free download via the Health Resources and Services Administration. Data from earlier versions of the ARF are also available here and from the ICPSR.

Banks Cross-National Time-Series (CNTS) Data Archive
The Banks CNTS Data Archive contains time-series data from 1815-2016 on a wide range of political, economic, and social indicators. An older version of the archive is available here.

Neighborhood Change Data Base
The Neighborhood Change Data Base contains data from the 1970, 1980, 1990, 2000, and 2010 censuses and allows users to convert data from pre-2010 censuses into 2010 census tracts to show demographic and economic changes over time in given areas.

Data Services

Robert O'Reilly, Ph.D's picture
Robert O'Reilly, Ph.D
Contact:
404-727-6129 (P)

roreill@emory.edu

Emory Center for Digital Scholarship (ECDS)

Woodruff Library, 3rd Floor

ECDS Hours: Monday-Friday, 9:00AM-5:00PM

We help researchers with locating quantitative data and with cleaning and preparing data for analysis.
Website / Blog Page
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322