Skip to main content

Data Resources for Sociologists: Education

This guide is a collection of links to commonly-used data resources favored by Sociologists.

Education

Henry A. Murray Research Archive
http://www.murray.harvard.edu/
The Murry Archive at Harvard's Institute for Quantitative Social Science archives many datasets from the IQSS' collection. The Murray Archive's data holdings cover many topics, including education.

Higher Education Research Institute (HERI)
https://heri.ucla.edu/
UCLA's Higher Education Research Institute conducts recurring surveys on college freshmen, college seniors, and faculty. Data from many of their surveys are available for researchers upon application.

National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
http://nces.ed.gov/
The NCES is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data and statistics in the United States and in various other countries. The NCES conducts or participates in various data-gathering programs, such as this collection of surveys pertaining to higher education and this collection of data for international comparisons. For quick reference, researchers should check out http://nces.ed.gov/quicktables/ and the Digest of Education Statistics.

National Longitudinal Survey of Freshmen (NLSF)
http://nlsf.princeton.edu/
The NLSF, which is housed at Princeton University's Office of Population Research, follows a cohort of college freshmen over time, with the intent of testing competing theories/explanations for underperformance of minorities in higher education. The data are available upon registration from the OPR.

Data Services

Robert O'Reilly, Ph.D's picture
Robert O'Reilly, Ph.D
Contact:
404-727-6129 (P)

roreill@emory.edu

Emory Center for Digital Scholarship (ECDS)

Woodruff Library, 3rd Floor

ECDS Hours: Monday-Friday, 9:00AM-5:00PM

We help researchers with locating quantitative data and with cleaning and preparing data for analysis.
Website / Blog Page
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322