Skip to main content

Television Research Guide: Research the Industry

Articles on the TV Industry

To find articles on the TV industry, start with the following databases:

Factiva

LexisNexis Academic Universe

Academic Search Complete 

Research Library GALILEO Edition (at ProQuest) 

Trade Journals

Trade newspapers and journals, intended for primarily for industry professionals, are an invaluable source of information about trends and developments affecting the broadcasting industry. Here are some trade publications likely to be consulted by television executives:

Variety

"Provides an insider's perspective on the latest developments and trends in film, television and music both within the United States and globally." (from Factiva) Also includes influential reviews of televisions shows.

Issues held in Current Periodicals until replaced by microfilm. (MICFILM 651)

Electronic access

Advertising Age

Weekly tabloid publication covering marketing, advertising and media news nationally and internationally. (from Factiva)

Issues shelved in Current Periodicals until replaced by microfilm. (MICFILM 597)

Electronic access

Adweek

"Offers unrivaled coverage of ad/marketing trends, creative work, direct mail, print, television and radio. Provides an insider's view on the world of advertising. Content from Adweek's regional editions of New England (ANEW), Midwest (AMWE), Southeast (ADSE), Southwest (ASWE) and Western (ADWW) merged into this source." (from Factiva)

Recent issues held in Current Periodicals. Older issues are bound and held in Stacks under call number HF5801 .A48 

Electronic access

Brandweek

"Weekly review of the advertising and marketing industries. Includes print and online articles from Brandweek." (from Factiva)

Recent issues held in Current Periodicals. Older issues are bound and held in Stacks under call number HF1040 .A3

Electronic access

Broadcasting & Cable

"Broadcasting & Cable is the leading voice of the television industry, serving the broadcast, cable and syndication communities each week. It covers the entire spectrum of broadcast, cable, satellite, telco, multimedia, broadband, and other emerging technologies." (from Factiva)

Recent issues held in Current Periodicals. Older issues are bound and held in Stacks under call number TK6540 .B85.

Electronic access

MEDIAWEEK

"Weekly source covering general advertising industry news, major advertising projects and advertiser case histories." (from Factiva)

Latest three months in Current Periodicals. For older issues, use electronic access.

Electronic access

TelevisionWeek

"Weekly newspaper focusing on broadcasting. Covers news relating to management, programming, syndication, technology, regulatory/governmental affairs, trends and developments within the industry. Formerly named Electronic Media." (from Factiva)

Electronic access

 

 

Subject Guide

James Steffen's picture
James Steffen
Contact:
Music and Media Library

Office phone: (404) 727-8107

Main Music and Media phone: (404) 727-1777
Website / Blog Page
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322