Skip to main content

Television Research Guide: Locate TV Shows and News

TV Shows on DVD

The Music and Media Library has large collection of TV shows on DVD. They can be found in discoverE and EUCLID using the same search techniques as books. Simply limit to resource type "audio visual" in discoverE or format "Visual Materials" in EUCLID.

Try the Quick Search Links on the DVD-LEND at the Music and Media Library Guide for a convenient list of popular TV shows that can be taken out overnight.

Historical TV Footage

AdViews

  • The Duke University Library's AdViews is "a digital archive of thousands of vintage television commercials dating from the 1950s to the 1980s. These commercials were created or collected by the ad agency Benton & Bowles or its successor, D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B). Founded in 1929, Benton & Bowles was a New York advertising agency that merged with D'Arcy Masius McManus in 1985 to form DMB&B. Major clients included are Procter & Gamble, Kraft, Schick, Vicks, and Post, among others."

American History in Video

  • Television programming includes the Longines Chronoscope series (1951-1955) from the Columbia Broadcasting System (CBS) and many PBS documentaries.

The Civil Rights Digital Library 

  • This site contains significant online collections of Civil Rights-era news footage from WALB (Albany, GA) and WSB-TV (Atlanta, GA). To access these collections, select BROWSE / Media Types / Visual Works / Moving Images. The contents are also searchable by keyword.   

Internet Archive

  • Includes a variety of television programming, freely accessible and in many cases available for download. The News and Public Affairs section has a diverse collection of archived news programs.

Vanderbilt Television News Archive

  • The Vanderbilt Television News Archive is "the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news," preserving national network news broadcasts since 1968. Some footage is available for free online viewing. 

The Video Encyclopedia of the 20th Century

  • New York, NY: CEL Communications, 1986. 12-inch videodisc format; 42 volumes plus printed indexes. Contains extensive newsreel film and television news footage of numerous historical events. Still one of the best overall resources for footage of this type. V.DISC. 1932, V. 1-42 (Not available online.)

Subject Guide

James Steffen's picture
James Steffen
Contact:
Music and Media Library

Office phone: (404) 727-8107

Main Music and Media phone: (404) 727-1777
Website / Blog Page
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322