ABSEES: American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies
(1957 to present)Lists English language articles from journals (but also lists books and dissertations) covering literature, political science, history, economics, etc.
Google Scholar searches specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.
Art & ArchitectureSource
Art Source covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,0000 images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.Art Index Retrospective™: 1929 -1984 provides users access to over half a century of art literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art.
International Index to Music Periodicals
Indexes articles from more than 430 journals from about 20 countries, and selectively indexes some newspapers. Coverage begins with 1996 except for a selection of journals indexed in their entirety.
(Dates of coverage vary)Some titles go back to the late 19th Century. JSTOR (Journal Storage Project) contains the complete text of every issue of over 300 prominent scholarly journals in language and literature, slavic studies, history, and other fields. Not only is the text of all articles available but every word of every article is searchable. Coverage is usually from the first issue of a journal up to five years prior to the current year.
Literature Resource Center
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. Includes full-text biographies, articles and bibliographies.
MLA International Bibliography
1963 to presentThe print version (Stacks Z7003 .M6) goes back to 1921 but for the Russian scholar it is of little use before 1959. An annual, from 1921 to 1955 it was limited to writings by Americans on English and western European languages and literatures. In 1956 it began to include writings by scholars from abroad and in 1959 it expanded coverage to include most of the world's languages and literatures including Russian. From its beginning through 1980, the basic arrangement was by langauge/literature subdivided chronologically and, within each time period, by author. It was very hard to search by any subject other than an author's name. In 1981 the bibliography began providing full subject indexing. In the online version of the MLA International Bibliography, the peculiarities of the print version regarding subject searching are perpetuated so that subject searching prior to 1981 is essentially by title keyword or author name.
(coverage from mid-1990's to present)Specializes in literary, gender and political studies. Full-text of articles is included.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Compiled by the Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale, RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (1969-present) is the world's largest, continuously updated bibliography of music literature providing broad international coverage including records in over 202 languages from 5,200 journals.