Skip to main content

Search Strategies: DiscoverE

Search tips for using DiscoverE, Google, WorldCat, and Databases

DiscoverE

DiscoverE

What is it?  It is a single Google-like interface for the Emory library catalog and other proprietary databases licensed to Emory -- to make searching easier. As of 2009, it is our primary search interface.  EUCLID will always be available.

DiscoverE has two tabs -- one for finding books (and videos) and one for finding articles.

  • Advantages:
    • Search EUCLID and most proprietary databases from one interface
    • Faceted browsing, “Did you mean…” feature and other suggested alternatives
    • Save searches, selected database sets (“e-shelf”)
  • Disadvantages:
    • Lowest common denominator searching
    • Some databases not compatible

Searching For Books In discoverE

From the Catalog tab in discoverE:

  • Type in your keywords
  • When you get some results, use "Refine Search Results" on the left to narrow your search by author, item type, date and more.

Too many search results?

  • Add additional terms to your search
  • Limit your search by item type, exact phrase, and/or author/title/subject using discoverE's drop-down menus
  • Use discoverE's "Refine Search Results" feature (in the left column) 

Too few results?

  • Remove some terms from your search
  • Add synonyms using OR [in upper case] with parentheses - for example (women OR woman OR female)

Off-topic results?

Consult the discoverE help page for further tips.

Searching For Articles In discoverE

In discoverE you can search some of our databases for articles.

When you first open discoverE, it defaults to using the Catalog tab. You should choose the Combined tab, which is the third from the left:

  1. Enter your search terms.
  2. Use discoverE's 'Refine Search Results' feature (in the left column) to limit your search to articles and by topic, author, and date.
  3. Click on the "Full Text Available' link if there is one. You should also click on the "No Full Text" links; some of them will lead to a full-text online copy.
  4. If it's not available online, follow these directions.

discoverE/EUCLID and articles

The contents of journals are not searchable from the "Catalog" tab in discoverE.

The catalog tab of discoverE provides the titles and call numbers of all the periodicals in the library collection, (and links to the full text of the journal, magazine or newspaper if we have it available electronically). But if you do a search in the catalog tab of discoverE on "women and Shakespeare," you will find BOOKS but NOT JOURNAL ARTICLES on this subject.

discoverE

Use discoverE to find books, journals, videos, government documents, microfilm collections and other materials at the Emory libraries, which include Woodruff, Pitts Theology, Health Sciences Center, McMillan Law, Guy Chemistry, Math & Science Center and, Oxford libraries.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322