Skip to main content

Search Strategies: Finding articles

Search tips for using DiscoverE, Google, WorldCat, and Databases

Finding articles

Searching in articles databases can be useful for finding information on topics not addressed fully in monographs or for finding reviews of the literature. Emory has purchased access to hundreds of scholarly databases not available to the general public.  Some are full-text archives of journal articles. Some are merely citation indexes. Others contain non-periodical contents like statistics. Some are indexed by Google; many are not. Use DiscoverE for a broad sweep of most databases. Use Databases@Emory to get deeper into individual databases. To look at databases specifically recommended for Religion, go to Databases@Emory and click on the Religion category. If you know the name of a journal and want to see if we have access to an online version, try the eJournals database.

If a journal article is not available in its full text form online, see if we have the print edition in the library. The journal title is what you will type into EUCLID to determine if we subscribe to the journal. If we do not have it, click on the Interlibrary Loan icon at the top of the EUCLID screen to submit a request. You'll need the author, title, journal title, volume number, issue number, date and the pages in which the article appears. The ILL office will contact other libraries that have a subscription; their ILL staff will then photocopy the article and send it to us and then we will let you know by email.

Here is a fuller guide to finding articles.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322