Skip to main content

Film and Entertainment Industry: Scholarly Articles

Designed mainly for researching recent trends in the film and entertainment industry.

Articles in discoverE

The Articles tab in discoverE allow you to search for articles in multiple databases at once. Under "Look for my Query," try selecting Performing Arts or Academic Search Complete. For more control over the search process and the results you retrieve, try searching in one of the online databases listed on this page. 

Get Articles through ILL

Using Interlibrary Loan (ILL), you can get copies of articles that Emory doesn't own. When placing your request, be sure to:

  • provide a complete citation if at all possible;
  • mention the source (such as the database or book) where you found the citation.

You will be notified when your materials arrive (most materials are obtained within 2 weeks).

Recommended Databases and Indexes

The Film and Performing Arts section of the Database Locator has a broad selection of databases which may contain film-related articles. The most useful citation databases and indexes for Film Studies are listed below.

TRY THESE DATABASES FIRST

 

 

ABI/Inform Complete (at ProQuest) (1971 to present). Covers business and management from U.S. and international journals and trade magazines, including company histories, competitive intelligence, and product development.

Business Source Complete (dates vary). A scholarly business database that provides full-text access to many peer-reviewed business related journals.

Communication and Mass Media Complete Provides indexing and some full text for journals in areas related to communication and mass media. Includes articles on film and television.

FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus (1972 to present). Major index of scholarly and popular film journals. Includes full text access to selected titles.

 Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text (1980s to present). Similar, but not identical coverage to the FIAF database. This resource indexes major film studies academic journals, professional trade journals such as Variety, and film reviews from newspapers and magazines. 

Film Literature Index Online Same index as above, covers 1976-2001.

 

ADDITIONAL RESOURCES

Academic Search Complete (1984 to present). Indexes both popular, general interest magazines and scholarly journals. Includes selected full text from 1990.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index
1975 to present A citation index to journals in the humanities. From the "Web of Knowledge" page click on "Web of Science" and then "Full Search."

JSTOR (Dates of coverage vary). Full text coverage of over 300 prominent scholarly journals in Film Studies, history, economics, and other fields. Coverage is usually from the first issue of a journal up to five years prior to the current year.

MLA International Bibliography (1963 to present). Film coverage begins in 1974. After that it is listed under "Cinema." This online version, with its keyword searching capability, may identify articles on film not specifically indexed as such.

Project Muse (ca. 1990 to present). Full text of forty journals, among them Wide Angle, Cinema Journal, Postmodern Culture, Modernism/Modernity.

Retrospective Index to Film Periodicals, 1930-1971. (1975)
Reference Z5784 .M9 B39. This publication acts a predecessor to International Index to Film Periodicals, above. It takes the indexing of basically the same journals back to 1930.

Subject Guide

James Steffen's picture
James Steffen
Contact:
Music and Media Library

Office phone: (404) 727-8107

Main Music and Media phone: (404) 727-1777
Website / Blog Page
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322