Banner Image

AAS 190: The Black Athlete (Anderson): Getting Started

This seminar examines the roles, contradictions, struggles, and triumphs of African American athletes as symbols of racial uplift, resistance, economic advancement, and democracy during the late 19th and throughout the 20th centuries.

Images of Americans and Sports

Useful Links

Welcome to the Woodruff Library!

Looking for quiet study spaces? Need help downloading an article? Wondering how to find good sources? Check out the Library's new Library Simplified guide.

Service Desk Contact Information

Contact the Library Service desk for the answers to your questions!

Reference Phone: 404-727-6875
Circulation Phone: 404-727-6873
E-mail: WoodRef@emory.edu
In Person:
Woodruff Library, Main floor
IM: EmoryWoodRef or use the widget above

Click here for our current library hours

The Black Athlete in American Society

Prof. Carol Anderson

Weds. 2:00-4:30

This seminar examines the roles, contradictions, struggles, and triumphs of African American athletes as symbols of racial uplift, resistance, economic advancement, and democracy during the late 19th and throughout the 20th centuries.

September 24: Paper Topics and Working Bibliography Due

October 8: Introduction Due

October 24: Papers and Research Journals Due

December 10: Revised Papers Due

Biographical Databases

Oxford African American Studies Center

Core texts includes: Africana, The Encyclopedia of African American History; Black Women in America, and The African American National Biography. Henry Louis Gates, Jr., editor-in-chief. **If you have problems logging into OAASC, try using Oxford Reference Online. It contains many of the same core encyclopedias on African American History.

Recommended Searches:

  • Athlete name
  • Group/League (Negro League Baseball)
  • Event (Berlin Olympics, 1936)

African American Biographical Database

AABD has over 600 profiles and full-text sketches of African American athletes. To find this list search by occupation: "athlete."

American National Biography

Successor to the renowned Dictionary of American Biography, the ANB is a premier source of biographical information on over 18,000 people from all eras who have influenced and shaped American history and culture.

Credo Reference Unlimited

Credo has hundreds of reference books covering every major subject. 

Reference Universe

Reference Universe has over 4,200 subject encyclopedias and reference works from 250 publishers.

----------------------------------------------------------------

Print Reference:

REF E185 .P56 1990 V.1-5 Reference Library of Black America (2000, v.5 includes sports - overviews of African-American history in particular sports followed by short biograpies of individual athletes, coaches etc.)

REF E185 .H543 1995 V.1-2 Historical Statistics of Black America (2 v.) Sports statistics but also business ownership, educational statistics, media statistics, etc.

REF GV875 .A1 L68 2003 Encyclopedia of Negro League Baseball 

REF GV697 .A1 W69 1998 Outstanding women athletes

REF GV558 .E53 1997 V.1-2 Encyclopedia of Sports Science 

REF Z7515 .U5 D38 Black athletes in the United States : a bibliography of books, articles, autobiographies, and biographies on black professional athletes in the United States

GV706.3 .B47 1994 Sports ethics: a reference handbook 

The World almanac and book of facts offers basic reference sources including 6,000 records of biographies, encyclopedia entries, facts, and statistics.

 
 

Who do I contact at the library and at MARBL?

Erica Bruchko, Librarian for African American Studies, Robert W. Woodruff Library

berica@emory.edu

404-727-0657

-----------------------

Gabrielle Dudley, Instruction Archivist and QEP Librarian

gabrielle.dudley@emory.edu

404-727-1652

-----------------------

Pellom McDaniels, Faculty Curator of African America Collections, MARBL

pellom.mcdaniels.iii@emory.edu

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322