Skip to main content

AAS485/History 488: Transnational Black Leadership: Home

Materials to support students in AAS485/History 488: Transnational Black Leadership

Getting Started

Steps in the Research Process, see your class syllabus for more detailed steps

  • STEP 1: Formulate your question
  • STEP 2: Get background information (see REFERENCE Box below)
  • STEP 3: Refine your search topic
  • STEP 4: Consider your resource options
  • STEP 5: Select and use the appropriate tool, Books (discoverE), databases, etc. [see also RESEARCH TOOLS tab)
  • STEP 6: Locate your materials
  • STEP 7: Analyze your materials
  • STEP 8: Organize and write
  • STEP 9: Cite your work/Compose your bibliography

Reference

Biography Resource Center: A comprehensive database of biographical information on more than one million people throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.

Credo Reference Unlimited

Gale Virtual Reference Library  (includes Encyclopedia of African-American culture and history: the Black experience in the Americas, Encyclopedia of African American society, and The African American years)

Oxford Reference Online

Reference Books:

Pan-African Chronology : A Comprehensive Reference to the Black Quest for Freedom in Africa, the Americas, Europe, and Asia.

REF E185.18 .J46 1996 3 vols.

 

African American Political Leaders.

Reference E185.96 .C18 2004

Black Women in America.

REF E185.86 .B542 2005 3 vols.

Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History

Ref E 185. E54 2006. 6 vols.

Harvard Guide to African American History.

REF E 185 .H326 2001

Finding Books at Emory

From the Books, Movies, Music tab in discoverE:

  • Type in your keywords
  • When you get some results, use "Refine My Results" on the left to narrow your search by author, item type, date and more

Subject Headings related to your topic:

  • truncation -  *
  • synonym clusters -
    • black* or African American* or negro* or Afro-American* etc. Range of words used will reflect time period under study.
  • Use OR within clusters, AND between clusters:
  • "Glue" clusters of synonyms together with AND and parentheses:

 

WorldCat

Search libraries worldwide. WorldCat Galileo database contains citations for books, journals, manuscripts, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, computer files, newspapers, slides, and videotapes.

Materials from WorldCat may be requested through Interlibrary Loan.

OTHER Libraries

You can use our Interlibrary Use Programs to photocopy an article or borrow a book from another Atlanta area library yourself:



Be sure to check the other library catalogs page for links to local academic and public library catalogs.

 

To search for a small piece of information across a sizeable number of books, try Google Book Search. The advanced search is recommended. Full text availability varies by copyright status of work and license between Google and the book's publisher for in-copyright works

Locating the Book and checking it out

USE our RESEARCH FAQS guide (http://web.library.emory.edu/instruction/researchfaqs/books/callnumbers.html)

The General Libraries use the Library of Congress Classification System (not the Dewey Decimal Classification System) to organize our collections.

Library of Congress call numbers are a combination of letters and numbers that group library materials by subject. Each floor of the library holds a specific range of call numbers. For example, call number GV will be found on the seventh floor of the Woodruff Library Book Stacks.

 

Please consult Emory's CALL NUMBER GUIDE OR check the signs on the STACKS elevator

As an undergraduate you can loan books for 28 days, but you can renew the item online using My Account

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322