Skip to main content

Course Guide to CHN394: Screening China: Finding Journal Articles

This class introduces students to "film in China" and "China in film," focusing on both the development of the film industry in China and the continual reconfiguration of history and national identity in cinematic productions.

Searching E-Journals

Besides the printed journals in the Matheson Reading Room, here are the E-journals related to your class:

1. Journal of Chinese Cinemas

2. New Cinemas: Journal of Contemporary Film

3. Transnational Cinemas

Locating Articles

 

The Library also subscribes to subject related online databses, some of them cover the journal atricles in the subject areas related to your class:

Art Source (formerly Art Full Text) and Art Index Retrospective

A bibliographic and full-text database that indexes and abastracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world.  Full text: 1997 to current.  Abstracts: 1984 to current.

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus

It indexes more than 300,000 articles from 300 of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals, dating from 1972 onward.  It also incorporates the International Index to TV periodicals, treasures from the Film Archives, ...

Film Literature Index Online

It indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television.

JSTOR

JSTOR (Journal Storage Project) contains the complete text of 332 prominent scholarly journals in history, political science and Asian Studies.  Not only is the text of all articles available online but every word of every article in all journals can be searched.  Some titles go back to the nineteenth century (the earliest Asian studies journals goes back to 1928) but most end five years before the current date.

Project MUSE

Another database providing the full text of articles from 160 journals covering literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science ...  It includes the journal Late Imperial China.

Bibliography of Asian Studies

This database coveres bibliographic information of western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.

 

MLA International Bibliography

 

MLA International Bibliography produced by the Modern Language Association, this database indexes critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.  Coverare includes journals, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings, and other materials.

 

Proquest Database

 

Contains the following databases: ABI/Inform Global, Business Dateline, Dissertation Abstracts, National Newspapers, and Research Library. These databases can be searched individually or simultaneously.

China Academic Journals 中国学术杂志库

This full text journal article database contains more than 8,200 journal titles, covering the period of time from 1994 to the present.  Search words should be Chinese characters.

 

 

Subject Guide

Guo-Hua Wang's picture
Guo-Hua Wang
Contact:
404-727-0411
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322