Skip to main content

Course Guide to Introduction to East Asian Studies: Finding Journal Articles

Other Resources to Try

For other suggestions see the full listing of resources available to locate articles related to the topics of either your project or paper.

See also: Finding Articles at Woodruff Library

Locating Articles

 

Woodruff Library subscribes to thousands of periodicals (scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers). For the most part the contents of these periodicals are NOT FREELY AVAILABLE ON THE INTERNET.  All the current printed periodicals are in the Matheson Reading Room.  The Library also subscribes to quite a lot E-Journals, simply click the E-Journals site above or at the Library's website, you can read the journals on your computer.  Here are several E-journals related to your class:

 

1. Austrian Journal of South-East Asian Studies

 

2. European Journal of East Asian Studies

 

3. Journal of East Asian Studies


4. Studies in Central and East Asian Religions

 

5. East Asia: An International Quarterly

 

 

The Library also subscribes to subject related online databses, some of them cover the journal atricles in the subject area of Chinese Studies, they are: 

JSTOR

JSTOR (Journal Storage Project) contains the complete text of 332 prominent scholarly journals in history, political science and Asian Studies.  Not only is the text of all articles available online but every word of every article in all journals can be searched.  Some titles go back to the nineteenth century (the earliest Asian studies journals goes back to 1928) but most end five years before the current date.

Project MUSE

Another database providing the full text of articles from 160 journals covering literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science ...  It includes the journal Late Imperial China.

Bibliography of Asian Studies

This database coveres bibliographic information of western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.

Historical Abstracts [ABC-CLIO]

The ABC-CLIO Historical Abastracts covers the materials from 1955 to the present.

eHRAF World Cultures

eHRAF World Cultures is a cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life.  The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.  eHRAF is produced by the Human Relations Area Files, Inc at Yale University.

MLA International Bibliography

 

MLA International Bibliography produced by the Modern Language Association, this database indexes critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.  Coverare includes journals, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings, and other materials.

 

MagazinePlus

 

MagazinePlus Provides over 3.3 million bibliographic references to articles from more than 7,600 Japanese scholarly periodicals from 1975 to the present. It covers subject areas including the humanities, social sciences, medical science and science and technology.

 

China Academic Journals 中国学术杂志库

This full text journal article database contains more than 8,200 journal titles, covering the period of time from 1994 to the present.  Search words should be Chinese characters.

China Core Newspaper Database 中国主要报纸数据库

CCND selects core newspaper articles published in mainland China since 2000, the sources are from 1,000 publicly issued newspapers in mainland China.  Search words should be Chinese characters.

 

Subject Guide

Guo-Hua Wang's picture
Guo-Hua Wang
Contact:
404-727-0411
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322