Skip to main content

JS210R / REL 210R : The Akeda : the binding of Isaac: Literature

Locating Articles

MLA International Bibliography
1963 to present
The print version (Stacks Z7003 .M6) goes back to 1921. An annual, from 1921 to 1955 it was limited to writings by Americans on English and western European languages and literatures. In 1956 it began to include writings by scholars from abroad and in 1959 it expanded coverage to include most of the world's languages and literatures including Russian. From its beginning through 1980, the basic arrangement was by langauge/literature subdivided chronologically and, within each time period, by author. It was very hard to search by any subject other than an author's name. In 1981 the bibliography began providing full subject indexing. In the online version of the MLA International Bibliography, the peculiarities of the print version regarding subject searching are perpetuated so that subject searching prior to 1981 is essentially by title keyword or author name.

 

ABELL (annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature) (Coverage
1920 – present)
Indexes monographs, journals, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays, and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world in the areas of English language, English literature, bibliography, and traditional culture of the English-speaking world.

 

Literature Online  (Coverage 8th century – present)
A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, plus biographies, bibliographies and key criticism and reference resources. Because LION links to the MLA and ABELL databases, as well as many others, you can search all of them at the same time.



Literature Resource Center
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. Includes full-text biographies, articles and bibliographies.

 

Subject Guide

Tarina Rosen's picture
Tarina Rosen
Contact:
Woodruff Library
Emory University
Atlanta, Ga. 30322

Phone: 404 727-1583
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322