Skip to main content

Yoga Research Guide: Getting Started: Reference

Getting Started

Finding Background Information

 

Reference sources such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, or bibliographies/guides to the literature are a great way to find background information on a topic, as a starting point for your research. Here are some good print and online yoga resources to try.

Suggested Reference Works

Encyclopedia of Hinduism. Constance A. Jones and James D. Ryan. New York : Facts On File, 2007.

Reference BL1105 .J56 2007

The Shambhala encyclopedia of yoga. Georg Feuerstein. Boston, MA: Shambhala, 1997.
BL1238.52 .F57 1997

Encyclopedic dictionary of yoga. Georg Feuerstein. New York, NY: Paragon House Publishers, 1990.
BL132 .Y6 F46 1990

A Student's guide to the history and philosophpy of yoga. Peter Connolly. London; Oakville, CT : Equinox, 2007.
B132 .Y6 C638 2007

Sanskrit-Hindi-English dictionary. Surya Kanta. Bombay: Orient Longman, 1975.
Reference PK926 .S88 1975

A classical dictionary of Hindu mythology and religion: geography, history and literature. John Dowson. New Delhi: D.K. Printworld, 1998.
Reference BL1105 .D6 1998

A dictionary of Buddhist and Hindu iconography, illustrated : objects, devices, concepts, rites, and related terms. Fredrick W. Bunce. New Delhi : D.K. Printworld, 1997.
Reference N8193 .A4 B86 1997

The practical Sanskrit-English dictionary: containing appendices on Sanskrit prosody and important literary and geographical names of ancient India. Vaman Shivram Apte. Delhi : Motilal Banarsidass, 1989.
Reference PK933 .A63 1989

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322