Skip to main content

Economics Current Contents: Citation Tracking and Analysis

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides citation information for most books and articles in its database.  Unlike the other databases, it includes books and working and conference papers.  Note that the citation figures provided by Google Scholar may differ widely from other databases, such as Web of Science, for a number of reasons (which we will not go into here!).

You may wish to try the Google Universal Citation Gadget

Publish or Perish Software

Publish or Perish is a software program that retrieves and analyzes academic citations. It uses Google Scholar to obtain the raw citations, then analyzes these and presents the following statistics:

  • Total number of papers
  • Total number of citations
  • Average number of citations per paper
  • Average number of citations per author
  • Average number of papers per author
  • Average number of citations per year
  • Hirsch's h-index and related parameters
  • Egghe's g-index
  • The contemporary h-index
  • The age-weighted citation rate
  • Two variations of individual h-indices
  • An analysis of the number of authors per paper.

The results are available on-screen and can also be copied to the Windows clipboard (for pasting into other applications) or saved to a variety of output formats (for future reference or further analysis). Publish or Perish includes a detailed help file with search tips and additional information about the citation metrics. NOTE: the software is FREE.  There is a companion volume, which is currently on order

AltMetrics

ImpactStory is a Web-based application that makes it easy to track the impact of a wide range of research artifacts (such as papers, datasets, slides, research code). The system aggregates impact data from many sources, from Mendeley to GitHub to Twitter and more, and displays it in a single, permalinked report.

Which Databases do Citation Tracking?

The citation tracking feature is used in the following library databases:

Web of Science (ISI Citation Indexes)

Journal Citation Reports (JCR), journal rankings

  • Use "Cited Reference Search" to find out how many times a work or author has been cited.

  • The database provides a link to the citing authors.

  • Rank the authors of the citing articles by clicking the "Analyze" link.

  • Register for a "Citation Alert" to be notified when an article is cited by new articles.

  • Each record includes a link to Journal Citation Reports. This report calculates the frequency with which a particular journal is cited . This measure is the "impact factor" of the jourrnal
  • NEW: BOOK CITATION INDEX (Spring 2013), now you are able to determine number of times particular books and chapters within edited volumes have been cited.  Still in beta phase. It is simply another option to search from on the menu.

EBSCOhost Databases

 

(A collection of 62 databases, including Academic Search Complete, America: History & Life, Business Source Complete, EconLit, ERIC, Historical Abstract, LGBT Life with Full Text, MLA International Bibliography, and SocINDEX with Full Text)

  • Not every every EBSCOhost database supports citation tracking.

  • When available, use the "Cited References" search option to find out if a particular author or work has been cited by others.

  • Each search result will report the number of times the article has been cited in the database.

ScienceDirect

  • To see who has cited an article click the "Cited By" link found in each full view record.

  • If an article has been cited, create a "Citation Alert" to be notified when more authors cite the article. E-mail Alerts can be sent on a daily, weekly, or monthly basis.



    © Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322