Skip to main content

Psychology Research Guide: Reference Sources

Reference Sources

Encyclopedias, dictionaries, guides, directories, handbooks, bibliographies, etc. are general reference sources. Use reference books to look up terms, people, issues, topics, statistics, citations, etc. for background information.



Key
reference sources in Psychology:


Encyclopedias and Handbooks

 

General/Broad Coverage:

Encyclopedia of Psychology 8 volumes

Kazdin, A. E. | American Psychological Association (2000)

Woodruff Reference BF31 .E522 2000


The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science 4 volumes

W. Edward Craighead, Charles B. Nemeroff (Editors) | Wiley (2001)

Woodruff Reference BF31 .E52 2001


Handbook of Psychology 12 volumes

Irving B. Weiner, Editor in Chief | Wiley (2003)

Reference BF121 .H213 2003

v.1 - History of Psychology

v.2 - Research Methods in Psychology

v.3 - Biological Psychology

v.4 - Experimental Psychology

v.5 - Personality and Social Psychology

v.6 - Developmental Psychology

v.7 - Educational Psychology

v.8 - Clinical Psychology

v.9 - Health Psychology

v.10 - Assessment Psychology

v.11 - Forensic Psychology

v.12 - Industrial and Organizational Psychology

Encyclopedia of Human Behavior 4 volumes

V. S. Ramachandran, Editor in Chief | Academic Press (1994)
Woodruff Reference BF31 .E5 1994

International Encyclopedia of Psychology 2 volumes

Frank N. Magill, Editor | Fitzroy Dearborn (1996)

Woodruff Reference BF31 .I58 1996

International Encyclopedia of Psychiatry, Psychology, Psycho-analysis, and Neurology 12 volumes + progress volume

Benjamin B. Wolman, Editor | for Aesculapius Publishers by Van Nostrand Reinhold Co. (1977, 1983)

Woodruff Stacks RC334 .I57


Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology

Yo Jackson, Editor | Sage (2007)

Reference GN502 .E63 2006

 

Subject Specific:

Encyclopedia of Memory and Memory Disorders (2001)

Reference BF371 .N55 2001


Encyclopedia of Psychological Assessment (2003) 2 volumes

Reference BF39 .E497 2003

Steven's Handbook of Experimental Psychology (2002) 4 volumes

Reference BF181 .H336 2002

v.1 - Sensation and Perception

v.2 - Memory & Cogntitive Processes

v.3 - Learning, Motivation, & Emotion

v.4 - Methodology in Experimental Psychology

Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology (2004) 3 volumes

Reference BF636 .E52 2004

Encyclopedia of Statistics in Behavioral Science (2005)

Reference BF39 .E498 2005

Encyclopedia of Learning and Memory (1992)
Reference B318 .E53 1992

Handbook of Child Psychology 4 volumes (1998)
Reference BF721 .H24 1998

Encyclopedia of Human Intelligence 2 volumes (1994)
Reference BF431 .E59 1994

 

Dictionaries

General/Broad Coverage:

APA Dictionary of Psychology (2007)

Reference BF31 .A63 2007

A Dictionary of Psychology (2006)

Reference BF31 .C65 2006

The Encyclopaedic Dictionary of Psychology (2005)

Reference BF31 .E495 2005

The Dictionary of Psychology (1999)
Reference BF31 .C72 1999

Dictionary of Theories, Laws, and Concepts in Psychology (1998)
Reference BF31 .R625 1998

Macmillan Dictionary of Psychology (1995)
Reference BF31 .S88 1995

A Student's Dictionary of Psychology (1999)
Reference BF31 .S69 1999

 

Subject/Area Specific:

The Blackwell Dictionary of Cognitive Psychology (1991)
Reference BF311 .B535 1991

Dictionary of Developmental and Educational Psychology (1986)
Reference BF712.7 .D53 1986

Dictionary of Personality and Social Psychology (1986)
Reference HM251 .D5 1986

Dictionary of Statistics for Psychologists (1999)
Reference BF39 .E83 1999

Biographies

These reference sources contain biographical sketches on individuals who have made some contribution to the development of the field of psychology.

Biographical Dictionary of Psychology (1997, Routledge)
Reference BF109 .A1 B56 1997

Biographical Dictionary of Psychology (1984, Greenwood Press)
Reference BF109 .A1 Z85 1984

A History of Psychology in Autobiography (1930-1989) 8 volumes
Woodruff Stacks BF105 .H5

Names in the History of Psychology: A Biographical Sourcebook (1975)
Reference BF109 .A1 Z85

Women in Psychology: A Bio-Bibliographic Sourcebook (1990)
Reference BF109 .A1 W65 1990

 

 

Dissertations

Dissertation Abstracts

Available via GALILEO.

 

Style Manuals

Dissertations and Theses from Start to Finish: Psychology and Related Fields (1993)
Reference BF67.5 .C645 1993

A Guide to Grammar for Psychology and Related Fields (1993)
Reference BF76.8 .B44 1993

The Psychologist's Companion: A Guide to Scientific Writing for Students and Researchers (1993)
BF76.8 .S73 1993

The World's Easiest Guide to Using the APA: A User Friendly Manual for Formatting Research Papers According to the American Psychological Association Style Guide (2002)

Reference BF76.7 .A43 2002

 

Social Sciences Librarian

Jennifer Elder's picture
Jennifer Elder
Contact:
Librarian for Psychology, Journalism, & Women's, Gender, & Sexuality Studies

Emory University

Robert W. Woodruff Library

404-712-2833
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322