Banner Image

African American Newspapers in Print and Microformat: About This Directory

Service Desk Contact Information

Contact the Library Service desk for the answers to your questions!

Reference Phone: 404-727-6875
Circulation Phone: 404-727-6873
E-mail: WoodRef@emory.edu
In Person:
Woodruff Library, Main floor
IM: EmoryWoodRef or use the widget above

Click here for our current library hours

Disclaimer - This GUIDE is for print and microfilm

This guide is just for print and microfilm holdings.

To search our digital collection of newspapers, consult our current and historical news databases. Find a comprehesive list of databases that include African American titles here.

Using Newspapers in Print and Microfilm Formats

How do you search for information in newspapers that are only available in print or microfilm format?  The short answer - it's often not easy!   Your options are usually limited to:

Finding newspaper references in footnotes or bibliographies from other sources,

Ascertaining the probable date(s) when an event or topic would have been covered and browse the newspaper page by page for that time period, OR

Using newspaper subject indexes.  These may be available in print, microform, or online formats, and they provide REFERENCES (NOT full text) with title, date, section, and page number information to articles on a specific subject.  Use this information to locate articles in the chronologically arranged microfilm or print version of the newspaper.  Subject indexes are scant for Atlanta newspapers.  Indexing available for selected portions of the ATLANTA JOURNAL, ATLANTA CONSTITUTION, and ATLANTA JOURNAL-CONSTITUTION are described in the following box.

Finding Atlanta Newspapers at Emory

The following tabs at the top of this guide provide information about notable Atlanta newspapers held at Emory:

 

For listings of other Atlanta papers available at Emory:

Search by place, title, or time period for newspapers held by Woodruff Library in print or microfilm - online newspapers are NOT listed here. Slightly outdated but contains a relatively complete list of Atlanta papers available in print or microformat at Woodruff.

 

OR ... search discoverE or EUCLID by subject or by newspaper title. Use these standard subject headings to search for Atlanta newspapers by subject in discoverE, EUCLID, or other library catalogs:

atlanta ga newspapers

american newspapers georgia atlanta

 

Contact Information

Erica Bruchko
Contact:
Emory University

Robert W. Woodruff Library

540 Asbury Circle

Atlanta, GA 30322



Phone: 404-727-0657

E-mail: Berica@emory.edu
Social:Twitter Page

Interlibrary Loan

Using Interlibrary Loan (ILL), you can:

  • borrow books and more from other libraries
  • get copies of articles that Emory doesn't own

You will be notified when your materials arrive (most materials are obtained within 2 weeks).

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322