Skip to main content

African American History and Culture (Rose Library): Education

discoverE Search Terms for Rose Library Collections

Use discoverE to find books, journals, videos, government documents, microfilm collections and other materials at the Emory libraries, which include Woodruff, Pitts Theology, Health Sciences Center, McMillan Law, Guy Chemistry, Math & Science Center and, Oxford libraries.

Helpful Search Terms for Rose Library Collections:

"African American Author"

"African American Illustrator"

"African American Pamphlet"

"African American Publisher"

 

Education

This guide identifies collections related to African Americans and education.  The Rose Library at Emory University houses a diverse body of primary sources associated with the African American experience, from literature and history to politics and popular cultureThese include an extensive collection of correspondence, literary manuscripts, photographs, and ephemeral material as well as rare books, periodicals, pamphlets, and other printed matter.

 The guide serves as a preliminary research tool, providing a brief description of holdings related to African Americans and eduation with basic information on size, inclusive dates, types of records, and broad subject areas.  More detailed descriptions of the sources listed below are available in Rose Library and through DiscoverE, the Emory Libraries’ online catalog.  DiscoverE contains bibliographic records for the majority of the manuscript collections held in Rose Library as well as books and other printed material available at Emory University. The online catalog is available at http://discovere.emory.edu.  Finding aids for these sources are also available through Rose Library's Web site at http://findingaids.library.emory.edu/. Please note that some collections may not yet have finding aids available.

Manuscripts A-Z

Research Guide

Rose Library Research Services's picture
Rose Library Research Services
Contact:
10th floor, Woodruff Library
404-727-6887
Website / Blog Page
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322