Skip to main content
Banner Image

American Literature (MARBL): Introduction

About Rose Library

Visit Rose Library's website

Emory University's Stuart A. Rose Manuscript, Archives and Rare Book Library (Rose Library) holds over 200,000 printed volumes, over 1,200 manuscript collections, photographs, motion picture film, audio recordings, and other visual media. Its renowned collections span more than 800 years of human history—with a special focus on modern literature, African American history, and the history of Georgia and the South. Everyone is welcome to use Rose Library collections: students, scholars, visiting researchers, and the general public.

 

Using this research guide

James Dickey, American poet and novelist

The Manuscript, Archives, and Rare Book Library (MARBL) has extensive American literary holdings, with special concentrations in writers from the American South, post-World War II American poets, and African American writers. In providing researchers with a general summary of MARBL’s literary holdings in American literature, this guide compiles information on manuscript collections that relate directly to authors and literature—drama, poetry, and fiction. There is a separate subject guide available which focuses on British and Irish literature.

The tabs in this research guide list the MARBL collections most directly related to American Literature. This guide is not intended to be a complete finding aid to the collections. It serves as a preliminary research tool, providing a brief description of holdings with basic information on size, inclusive dates, types of records, and broad subject areas. In addition to browsing these entries, you may wish to search our catalogs:

Find Manuscripts and Archives
This database searches detailed descriptions of manuscript collections, which are called finding aids. Finding aids generally include a description of the collection's creator and contents and a box and folder list. The database includes finding aids for unprocessed collections.

Find Books and More
The Emory Libraries Catalog contains records for the majority of materials held in MARBL and the other university libraries, including rare books, manuscript collections and archives, microforms, and audiovisual materials.

Ask a Question

E-mail: marbl@emory.edu
Phone: 404-727-6887
In Person: Woodruff Library, 10th
floor

Rose Library hours: Monday-Friday, 9:00-5:00, Saturday By Appointment Only

Planning Your Research Visit to MARBL

Please note that not all manuscript collections are housed in MARBL. Some collections are located in an off-site storage facility and must be requested in advance. To ensure your timely accessibility to our collections on and off-site, we appreciate advance notice of the collections you intend to view.

We are happy to assist you as you prepare for your research visit. If you have any questions about our collections, questions regarding MARBL's researcher policies, and/or would like to request materials to be on hold for your research visit, please email marbl@emory.edu to the attention of Research Services.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322