Skip to main content

ARTHIST 373 + 575R/FILM 375/IDS 385/RUSS 373: Russian Avant-Garde Course Guide: Locating Articles

Google Scholar

Google Scholar searches specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.

Databases

ABSEES: American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies
(1957 to present)Lists English language articles from journals (but also lists books and dissertations) covering literature, political science, history, economics, etc.


 Art Index Retrospective
1929 to the present

Covers 404 art publications from around the world. Subjects include: archaeology, architecture, art history, city planning, crafts, landscape architecture, film, fine arts, folk art, graphic arts, industrialdesign, interior design, and photography. The print edition counterpart to these two complimentary databases, Art Index, published by the H.W. Wilson company began in 1929.

ARTbibliographies Modern
1974 to present Abstracts an international selection of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews includes literature on painting, printmaking, sculpture, drawing, performance art, installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theater arts, crafts, jewelry, and illustration.

FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus (1972 to present). Major index of scholarly and popular film journals. Includes full text access to selected titles.

Film Literature Index (1973 to present). Similar, but not identical coverage to the FIAF database. This resource indexes major film studies academic journals, professional trade journals such as Variety, and film reviews from newspapers and magazines.  Print edition: Reference Z5784 .M9 F45. 

Film Literature Index Online covers 1976-2001. 

International Index to Music Periodicals
Indexes articles from more than 430 journals from about 20 countries, and selectively indexes some newspapers. Coverage begins with 1996 except for a selection of journals indexed in their entirety.

JSTOR
(Dates of coverage vary)Some titles go back to the late 19th Century. JSTOR (Journal Storage Project) contains the complete text of every issue of over 300 prominent scholarly journals in language and literature, slavic studies, history, and other fields. Not only is the text of all articles available but every word of every article is searchable. Coverage is usually from the first issue of a journal up to five years prior to the current year.

Literature Resource Center
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. Includes full-text biographies, articles and bibliographies.

 MLA International Bibliography
1963 to presentThe print version (Stacks Z7003 .M6) goes back to 1921 but for the Russian scholar it is of little use before 1959. An annual, from 1921 to 1955 it was limited to writings by Americans on English and western European languages and literatures. In 1956 it began to include writings by scholars from abroad and in 1959 it expanded coverage to include most of the world's languages and literatures including Russian. From its beginning through 1980, the basic arrangement was by langauge/literature subdivided chronologically and, within each time period, by author. It was very hard to search by any subject other than an author's name. In 1981 the bibliography began providing full subject indexing. In the online version of the MLA International Bibliography, the peculiarities of the print version regarding subject searching are perpetuated so that subject searching prior to 1981 is essentially by title keyword or author name.

Project MUSE
(coverage from mid-1990's to present)Specializes in literary, gender and political studies. Full-text of articles is included.

 

 

Subject Guide

Tarina Rosen's picture
Tarina Rosen
Contact:
Woodruff Library
Emory University
Atlanta, Ga. 30322

Phone: 404 727-1583
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322