Skip to main content

Course Guide to CHN272: Literature in Early and Imperial China: Finding Journal Articles

This course offers an introduction to traditional Chinese literature from its beginning in the first millennium through the end of the imperial era in 1911. The class will read and discuss some representative works from various periods, ...

Searching E-Journals

 

Woodruff Library subscribes to thousands of periodicals (scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers). For the most part the contents of these periodicals are NOT FREELY AVAILABLE ON THE INTERNET.  All the current printed persiodicals are in the Matheson Reading Room.  The Library also subscribes to some E-Journals.  You can read e-journals from E-Journal site at the Library's website.  Here are several E-journals that are related to your class:

1. Chinese Literature

2. Tsinghua Journal of Chinese Literature

3. Chinese Studies in History

Locating Articles

 

The Library also subscribes to subject related online databases, some of them cover the journal articles in the subject area of Chinese literature, they are:

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Chinese Studies

Guide to scholarly literature in the Chinese Studies, subdivided into articles by established scholars covering major categories of research, with corresponding bibliographies of recommended resources.

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database is updated daily and features PDF content going back as far as 1865.

Bibliography of Asian Studies

This database coveres bibliographic information of western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.  Although this is not a full-text database, it indexes essays published in books which would be otherwise hard to find.

The library also subscribed two Chinese full-text databases, they are China Academic Journals and China Core Newspaper Database.

China Academic Journals

This database provides access to full text articles from Chinese academic journals.  It covers the majority of academic journals published in the People's Republic of China.  The coverage is from 1994 to now.  The language is Chinese.

China Core Newspaper Database

This database provides abstracts and full text articles from major Chinese newspapers on the subjects of literature, history, arets and philosophy.

JSTOR

JSTOR (Journal Storage Project) contains the complete text of 332 prominent scholarly journals in history, political science and Asian Studies.  Not only is the text of all articles available online but every word of every article in all journals can be searched.  Some titles go back to the nineteenth century (the earliest Asian studies journals goes back to 1928) but most end five years before the current date.

Project MUSE

Another database providing the full text of articles from 160 journals covering literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science ...  It also includes the journal Late Imperial China.

Proquest

This full text journal article database contains Contains the following databases: ABI/Inform Global, Business Dateline, Dissertation Abstracts, National Newspapers, and Research Library. These databases can be searched individually or simultaneously.

Subject Guide

Guo-Hua Wang's picture
Guo-Hua Wang
Contact:
404-727-0411
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322