Skip to main content

HIST495: Introduction to Historical Interpretation (History Honors)

Guide for history honors students.

Finding Articles

What if Emory doesn't have what I need?

Place an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request and we'll get the item for you; takes several days, so plan ahead. More about Interlibrary Loan

Use your EmoryCard to borrow materials yourself from Georgia Tech, Georgia State University, and the University of Georgia (Athens), OR ...

... ask for an interlibrary use card at the Woodruff reference desk to borrow materials from other Atlanta area colleges. More about Interlibrary Use

 

Full-text article databases

 

Academic Search Complete (dates vary) Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for a large number of journals.

JSTOR (dates vary) JSTOR, the Journal Storage Project, provides access to digitized versions to complete runs of key scholarly journals in the arts, the humanities, literature, the sciences, the social sciences, and selected scholarly journals in related disciplines such as business, ecology, botany, music, and statistics. JSTOR represents the building blocks of a truly interdisciplinary scholarly journal archive.

Project MUSE (dates vary) Provides access to scholarly journals published by major university presses. Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.

Secondary Source Databases

Modern history research will generally require one or both of the following databases.  They can be searched simultaneously or separately:

America: History & Life Scholarly journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations in U.S. and Canadian history.

Historical Abstracts Scholarly journal articles, books reviews, and dissertations in world history focusing on 1450 to present, excluding the U.S. and Canada.

 

British and Irish History 

Bibliography of British and Irish History A good index for all periods of British and Irish history.

 Researchers in medieval or ancient history will likely find one of the following databases useful: 

International Medieval Bibliography and Bibliographie de Civilisation Médiévale: Focus is on 400 CE-1500 CE. Coverage started in 1967.

[L']Annee Philologique: An international bibliography that contains citations for Greek and Roman studies. The database covers all aspects of classical languages, literatures, history, philosophy, art, religion, music, mythology, science, numismatics, and other subjects. Its scope is the period from 2000 BC to 800 AD.

TIPS: 

Find other databases relevant for your research via:

Databases@Emory

Select databases by subject or by category, by title, or by keyword.

Woodruff Library's Research Guides

Tips on databases and other resources relevant for research in specific subjects.

Ask a subject librarian!

Searching Databases Effectively explains how to get better search results with strategies like those used above.  You can also ask the library reference staff or a subject librarian for help in refining your search strategy.

See Find Journal Articles for details on locating journals at Emory Libraries.

Don't forget - print bibliographies and indexes, especially for older scholarship, may also be useful.  The Building a Bibliography box on the Basics page has examples.

What about Google Scholar?

Google Scholar

 

Google Scholar searches scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources and can be a useful first step. If you install the Libx add-on in your FireFox browser, LibX will insert an Emory LibX "cue" that links you to Emory libraries' print and electronic resources from your search results in Google Scholar and other select web tools.  Click on the link to see if something is available at or through Emory.

Be aware, however, that Google Scholar only searches a small subset of materials you can identify via "library" databases like those listed above. AND in most cases it doesn't provide full text, which you'll end up retrieving from library sources anyway.

Evaluating Sources

QUESTIONS TO ASK YOURSELF:

  • Have you used a variety of sources?  Compare and contrast the information you find with several authors and and array of sources such as books, journal articles, and dissertations. Comparing and contrasting information will help you identify any bias and enhance the validity and reliability of your research.
  • What are the author's qualifications and affiliation (i.e., where does the author work)?
  • What is the date of the publication? Is the information out-of-date for your topic?
  • Who's published it?  Is it a university press -- in which case the material is more likely to be scholarly?  Is the publisher of a website an educational institution (.edu site) or a commercial or organizational entity (.com or .org site) -- which may give you insight into potential biases?
  • Is the information valid and well-researched?  That is, are the author's ideas supported with research documented by footnotes, a bibliography, and/or a works cited page?
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322