Skip to main content

HIST495: Introduction to Historical Interpretation (History Honors)

Guide for history honors students.

General Reference

Reference Universe Reference Universe is designed to be used in conjunction with a library's print reference collection. It provides the ability to search the article titles and back-of-the-book indexes to over 4,200 subject encyclopedias and reference works from 250 publishers, with links directly to EUCLID to indicate which of the titles Emory owns. It also links to online versions of the sources, if available, and to reviews of the works indexed. The Browse feature permits exploration by publisher, title, subject heading, index terms, and LC call number.

CREDO Reference Unlimited Try me first! Credo Reference Unlimited is a full-text database of hundreds of reference books covering every major subject, inculding several encyclopedias such as the Reader's Companion to American History.

Biography

American National Biography A premier source of biographical information on over 18,000 people from all eras who have influenced and shaped American history and culture. The ANB covers deceased individuals whose significant actions occurred during his or her residence within what is now the United States or whose life or career directly influenced the course of American history.

Biography & Genealogy Master Index Indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world.

Biography in Context A database of biographical information on people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.

Biography Reference Bank Similar to Biography in Context, the Biography Reference Bank aggregates full-text from a variety of different sources.

Handbooks, Guildes & Companions

Cambridge Companions: Cambridge Companions are a series of authoritative guides, written by leading experts, offering lively, accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods.

Oxford Handbooks OnlineThe Oxford Handbook Series brings together review essays that evaluate the current thinking on a field or topic, and make an original argument about the future direction of the debate.

Other companions and bibliographies include: Blackwell Companions (example: Companion to American Cultural History) and Oxford Bibliographies (example: Atlantic History)

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322