Skip to main content

Renaissance Women Writers: Secondary Sources

Google Scholar

Google Scholar searches specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.

Interlibrary Loan

Using Interlibrary Loan (ILL), you can:

  • borrow books and more from other libraries
  • get copies of articles that Emory doesn't own

You will be notified when your materials arrive (most materials are obtained within 2 weeks).

Databases for locating journal articles

JSTOR
JSTOR, the Journal Storage Project, provides access to digitized versions to complete runs of key scholarly journals.

Historical Abstracts (1450 to present)
The international index to history journals and a key means of identifying periodical articles. The indexes of Historical Abstracts will directly link to any items which are available through JSTOR.

International Medieval Bibliography and Bibliographie de civilisation médiévale (400-1500)
The International Medieval Bibliography and Bibliographie de civilisation médiévale index journal articles and books covering the years 400 to 1500.

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. 

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1500)
Indexes journals covering the cultural aspects of the Renaissance in Europe from 1300-1700. It will eventually include all aspects of the Renaissance and Middle Ages (400-1500).

MLA International Bibliography (dates vary)
Produced by the Modern Language Association, this database indexes critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Coverage includes journals, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings, and other materials.

Internet Resources

These resources are freely available on the Internet.

Early Modern Women Online
Excellent collection of web-links plus an annotated bibliography to assist in the study of early modern women. Sponsored by the Society for the Study of Early Modern Women.

Other Women's Voices
A collection of excerpts (in translation) of 125 women writers active before 1700.

Bibliography of Early Modern Women Writers
Lists works by early modern women currently in print; some additional digital resources.

Italian Women Writers Project
Collection of texts and biographical information for hundreds of Italian women writers born before 1945. Original texts in Italian. Sponsored by the University of Chicago.

The ARTFL Project
Portal to digitized texts and other resources, mainly in French. Coverage is mainly the 18th, 19th and 20th Centuries but there are a few works from the Renaissance as well. Sponsored by the University of Chicago.

Emory Women Writers Resource Project
Collection of edited and unedited texts written by women in English from the seventeenth through the early twentieth centuries. Sponsored by the Emory University Dept. of English and the Emory University Libraries.

Locating books

To find materials located at any of Emory's libraries, search discoverE Emory's online library catalog.

Here are some examples of useful searches:

 
Alessandra Strozzi
Maria Celeste Galilei
Moderata Fonte
Teresa of Avila
Katharina Schutz Zell
Cassandra Fedele
Veronica Franco
Marguerite , Queen, consort of Henry II, King of Navarre,  1492 1549
European literature Women authors.
England  Social life and  customs 16th century

Renaissance France
Marriage Italy History
 

If you are interested in getting books not held at Emory,try using WorldCat. This "mega-database" provides information about books and other works held in about 72,000 libraries around the world. Almost all titles identified through a WorldCat search can be borrowed through Interlibrary Loan and, since it also lists holdings of local libraries, you can usually borrow from these thanks to the GETS Program or the ARCHE Interlibrary Use Program.

Subject Guide

Chella Vaidyanathan's picture
Chella Vaidyanathan
Contact:
Emory University
Robert W. Woodruff Library
540 Asbury Circle
404-727-5049
Website / Blog Page

Ask a Librarian

Contact the Library Service desk for the answers to your questions!

Reference Phone: 404-727-6875
Circulation Phone: 404-727-6873
E-mail: ask@emory.libanswers.com
In Person: Woodruff Library, Main floor

Click here for our current library hours

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322