LGBT Collections in MARBL: Home

Related Guides

Researchers should also consult other resource guides in MARBL, particularly the Manuscript Sources for Women’s History, which contains collections related to feminist history and women’s activism that are not included in this guide. 

Another excellent research guide for secondary sources in a wide variety of subject areas is the New York Public Library’s Gay and Lesbian Studies Research Guide linked below.

Introduction to Collection

This guide identifies manuscript collections and rare book collections that may be useful for scholars and researchers of LGBT studies and the history of sexuality in the U.S. Some of the entries are related to LGBT people and may be useful for studying specific LGBT histories. Other collections are not related to LGBT individuals, though they can inform research related to gay and lesbian life, literature, and political activism. For example, there is a growing academic interest in the influence of sexuality on the arts, literature, entertainment, and Black community in general in 1920s and ‘30s Harlem. We have several collections related to the Harlem Renaissance that offer insight into the people and culture of that time and place.

To supplement this guide, you may wish to search our catalogs to locate additional materials:

Find Manuscripts and Archives
This database searches detailed descriptions of manuscript collections, which are called finding aids. Finding aids generally include a description of the collection's creator and contents and a box and folder list. The database includes finding aids for unprocessed collections.

Find Books and More
The Emory Libraries Catalog contains records for the majority of materials held in MARBL and the other university libraries, including rare books, manuscript collections and archives, microforms, and audiovisual materials.

Please note that not all manuscript collections are housed in MARBL. Some collections are located at an off-site storage facility and must be requested in advance. In addition, some collections have access restrictions. Researchers are encouraged to contact MARBL to insure that materials will be available. We are also happy to pull materials in advance of a research visit.

Revised editions of this guide will be forthcoming as new collections are accessioned and as material in existing collections is located and identified.

Research Guide
MARBL Research Services
Contact:
7th floor, Woodruff Library

404-727-6887
Planning Your Research Visit to MARBL

Please note that not all manuscript collections are housed in MARBL. Some collections are located in an off-site storage facility and must be requested in advance. To ensure your timely accessibility to our collections on and off-site, we appreciate advance notice of the collections you intend to view.

We are happy to assist you as you prepare for your research visit. If you have any questions about our collections, questions regarding MARBL's researcher policies, and/or would like to request materials to be on hold for your research visit, please email marbl@emory.edu to the attention of Research Services.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322