Abram, Morris B. (MSS 514) Papers, ca. 1940-1993; 104.75 linear ft. (110 boxes, 3 oversized papers, 1 oversized bound volume).
Morris B. Abram (1918-2000), a
American Jewish Committe, Atlanta Chapter: Atlanta Chapter Oral History Project. (MSS 596). Records, 1976-1983; 1 linear ft.
The Atlanta Oral History Project was begun in celebration of the seventy-fifth anniversary (1980) of the Atlanta Chapter of the American Jewish Committee and was an effort of the Atlanta Chapter to preserve the history of the Jewish community in Atlanta. The collection project was conducted from 1976-1983. Included in the project are interviews with such members as John Sibley, David Marx, Harry Epstein, Sam Eplan, Rebecca Gershon, Donald Oberdorfer, Joseph Cohen, Josephine Heyman, Cecil Alexander, and Sinclair Jacobs. The interviews pertain to recollections about the history of their own community and of Atlanta in general. The collection also includes audiotapes relating to oral history meetings, educational programs, and the Atlanta Chapter of the American Jewish Committee seventy-fifth anniversary collection. See EmoryFindingAids for a detailed description of the collection.
Bernd, Aaron. (MSS 1110) Papers, 1919-1937; 2.5 linear ft. (5 boxes, 25 oversized papers, and 2 oversized bound volumes).
Aaron Bernd (1894-1937) was a Jewish writer, literary editor, and businessman. The papers consist of correspondence, writings, scrapbooks, newspaper clippings, printed material, photographs, legal documents, and financial records. Correspondence primarily documents Bernd's professional activities as a literary editor and writer for The Macon Telegraph as well as his freelance literary endeavors. A large collection of personal letters from scholar and educator John Donald Wade concern faculty tenure negotiations at the
Boozer, Jack Stewart. (MSS 685) Papers, 1950-1989; 56.5 linear ft. (57 boxes).
Jack Stewart Boozer (1918-1989), scholar and teacher of religion, was a graduate of
Brodsky, Joseph. (MSS 901) Collection, 1988-1989; .25 linear ft. (1 box).
Iosif Alexandrovich Brodsky (Joseph Brodsky) (1940-1996), a Russian poet, was born May 24, 1940 in
The Joseph Brodsky collection contains collected materials relating to the life and work of Joseph Brodsky. The collection includes two printed commencement speeches by Brodsky and two poems inscribed to him by poet Mark Strand.
Clayton County, Georgia. Oral History. (MSS 828). Collection, 1989-1998; 1 linear ft. (3 boxes).
The Clayton County oral history project was initiated by Lucy C. Huie, a long-time resident of Jonesboro, Georgia. After interviewing her mother in the 1980's, she turned to her own community with the intention of developing an oral history collection. From 1989-1991, she interviewed people from Jonesboro and Clayton County. In April 1992, she and Philip R. Callaway joined forces and began to interview other long-time Clayton County citizens. Their interviews dealt with the broad subject of social change since World War II.
The collection consists of the eighty-eight audiocassette tapes of the Atlanta-area oral history interviews recorded from 1989-1998. The interviews include a cross-section of interviewees from Clayton County, the majority of them from the county seat of Jonesboro. Some interviewees are not Clayton County citizens, but are people who have worked there for many years. A few interviewees live outside Clayton County, but are related to the broad thrust of the project by historical period, topic, or family relationship. The collection consists of interviews with males, females, whites, African-Americans, Protestants, Catholics, and Jews. See EmoryFindingAids for a detailed description of the collection.
Davis, James C. (MSS 507). Papers, 1919-1966; 222.25 linear ft. (223, 28 oversized papers).
James Curran Erskine Davis (1895-1981) was an attorney, judge, and legislator. He was a state legislator from DeKalb County, Georgia (1924-1928), and attorney for the Georgia Department of Industrial Relations (1928-1931) and for DeKalb County (1931-1934), a Georgia Superior Court judge (1934-1946), and a Georgia representative to the United States Congress (1947-1963). Davis married Mary Lou Martin (1905-1969) in 1932, and was publisher (1964-1965) of the Atlanta Times, a conservative newspaper. The collection consists of correspondence, audio-visual materials, speeches, subject files, and fact files. The subject files and fact files include Jewish-related materials. See EmoryFindingAids for a detailed description of the collection.
Draper, Theodore. (MSS 579) Research files, 1919-1970; 30 linear ft. (48 boxes, 122 microfilm reels, 1 oversized paper).
Theodore Draper (1912-2006), writer on twentieth century international affairs, was born in
Emory University. Atlanta Hillel. (RG 300/Series 9). Records, 1963-2006 (bulk 1963-1988); 1.5 linear ft. 2 boxes.
Atlanta Hillel, an organization for Jewish College students in Atlanta, Georgia, includes students from Emory University, Georgia State University, Georgia Institute of Technology, and Oglethorpe University. The collection consists of records of the Atlanta Hillel from 1963-1988. The files include membership applications, correspondence, subject files, public relations materials, budget reports, and information on the programs at Georgia Tech, Oglethorpe University, and Emory University. Files also include papers of the Reformed Jewish Students Committee (circa 1982-1984_ and pledge cards from the Jewish dental fraternity, Alpha Omega (circa 1963-11977). See EmoryFindingAids for a detailed description of the collection.
Emory University Archives. Emory University Center for Research in Social Change Witness to the Holocaust. (RG 600/Series 11). Project files, 1978-1982; 31 boxes.
The Center for Research in Social Change was establoshed at Emory University in 1965 to promote study of social change and to train students in methods of social research. Fred Roberts Crawford was appointed first director in 1966. The collection consists of papers of the Witness to the Holocaust project conducted by the Emory University Center for Research in Scoail Change from 1978-1982. The papers include recorded interviews with concentration camp liberators and tapes and transcripts of conversations with camp survivors, many of them residents oif Atlanta, Georgia. There is also a large collection of photographs, originals and reproductions, depicting the conditions in concentration camps circa 1945. The collection also includes subject files, including clippings, reports, and published materials relating to the Holocaust, Nazism, Israel, and Emory University's Witness to the Holocaust project; photographs from the post-World War II era; and publications, including entire issues of such newspapers and magazines as Hadassah, Martyrdom and the Resistance, and The Southern Israelite. The collection documents events and long-term effects of the Holocaust. See EmoryFindingAids for a detailed description of the collection.
Epstein, Melech. (MSS 803) Papers, 1964-1978; 2 linear ft. (2 boxes).
Melech Epstein (1889-1979), author and journalist, was born in
Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust. (MSS 971). Testimonies, circa 1979-2003; 3 linear ft. (6 boxes).
In 1979, a grassroots organization, the Holocaust Survivors Film Project, began videotaping Holocaust Survivors and witnesses in New Haven, Connecticut. In 1981, the original collection of testimonies was deposited at Yale University, and the Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies opened its doors to the public the following year. Since then, the Archive has worked to record, collect, and preserve Holocaust witness testimonies, and tomake its collection available to researchers, educators, and the general public.
The Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies, part of Manuscripts and Archives, at Sterling Memorial Library, Yale University currently holds more than 4,000 testimonies, which are comprised of over 10,000 recorded hours of videotape. The testimonies contain first-hand experience of the Nazi persecutions, including those in hiding, survivors, bystanders, resistants, and liberators. See EmoryFindingAids for a detailed description of the collection.
Note: One loan from the Manuscripts and Archives, Sterling Memorial Library, Yale University. Special restrictions apply. Researchers will be required to fill out a registration/user form before viewing material. Emory faculty my borrow edited versions for classroom use.
Frank, Leo. (MSS 674) Collection, 1915-1988; .75 linear ft. (2 boxes, 1 oversized paper, 3 microfilm reels).
Leo Max Frank (1884-1915), son of Rudolph and Rhea Frank, was born in
Frank was sentenced to death by hanging (1913) for the murder of Mary Phagan, an employee he supervised at the factory. His sentence was commuted to life imprisonment (July 1915) because of doubt by some trial officials as to his guilt. Thomas E. Watson, publisher of The Jeffersonian, wrote scathing articles attacking Governor Slaton's decision. Watson called for the boycotting of Jewish businesses and defended lynch mobs as "guardians of liberty". Frank was abducted by a mob (August, 1915) and taken from a prison farm outside
Note: Restrictions to access and reproduction may apply. Related materials are located at the William Breman Jewish Heritage Museum. See also Ralph McGill papers, Ernest Rogers papers, Mildred Seydell papers, Alfred Uhry collection, and Thomas E. Watson collection.
Hecht, Anthony. (MSS 926) Papers, circa 1894-2005; 89 linear ft. (180 boxes, 16 oversized papers, 7 bound volumes, 4 oversized bound volumes).
The papers of American poet Anthony Hecht (1923-2004) include correspondence (1895-2005); drafts of poetry and prose writings (1951-2004); writings by other authors that is primarily undated; personal files (189402005); academic files (1945-2000); printed material (1941-2005); subject files (1951-2005); a small group of audio-visual materials (1964-2004); photographs (circa 1880s-2002); and scrapbooks (1951-1998). The collection documents the development of Hecht's writing career as well as his lengthy teaching career. In addition, materials document Hecht's professional efforts in literary organizations and his interest in the arts. See EmoryFindingAids for a detailed description of the collection.
Restrictions: Letters from Seamus Heaney are closed without the written permission of Seamus Heaney. Writings by Ted Hughes (letters and literary works) may not be reproduced without the written permission of Carol Hughes.
Jaffe, Philip J. (MSS 605) Papers, 1936-1980; 90.25 linear ft. (160 boxes, 13 oversized papers, 1 oversized bound volume, 3 microfilm reels).
Philip Jacob Jaffe (1897-1980) was born in Mogileb, a village near Poltova in the
Klehr, Harvey. (MSS 664) Papers; 64.5 linear ft. (88 boxes).
Harvey Klehr is Mellon Professor of Politics and History at
Note: Restrictions to access and reproduction may apply.
Lane, Mary. (MSS 607) Papers, 1954-1980; .5 linear ft. (1 box).
Mary Lane, English teacher from Waycross, Georgia, who after reading Anne Frank's Diary of a Young Girl, began corresponding with Frank's father Otto, the only member of the Frank family to survive the Nazi concentration camp Bergen-Belsen and his second wife, Fritzi Frank. The collection consists of papers of
Levine, Isaac Don. (MSS 700) Papers, ca. 1914-1978; 82 linear ft. (149 boxes).
Isaac Don Levine (1892-1981), journalist and author, was born in
Lewyn, Bert. (MSS 1148). Bert and Esther Lewyn family papers, 1920-2009; 3 linear ft. (3 boxes).
The family papers of Bert and Esther Lewyn consist primarily of material relating to the publication of Bert Lewyn's Holocaust memoir, On the Run in Nazi Berlin, in addition to family correspondence, photographs, and printed material.
Virginia Myers McBlair (ca. 1821-1896) was born in
Note: Related collections of Myers Family Papers are located at the American Jewish Archives in
McGill, Ralph. (MSS 252) Papers, 1853-1971; 66.5 linear ft. (126 boxes, 32 oversized papers, 75 oversized bound volumes, 7 microfilm reels).
Ralph Waldo Emerson McGill (1898-1969), journalist, editor, and publisher, was born in Igou's Ferry,
New South Miscellany. (MSS 49). .5 linear ft. (1 box).
The collection of various manuscript materials related to the New South includes Ruth Scheinberg's oral history projct entitled, "The Pekl: Folk/Histories of Jewish Peddlers in the South 1890-1914" (1980). Included with the corrected typescript are summaries and audiocassettes of the interviews with descendants of Jewish peddlers, background of the subject matter, and an explanation of the terminology. See EmoryFindingAids for a detailed description of the collection.
Rich, Richard. (MSS 575) Papers, 1902-1981; 42.5 linear ft. (83 boxes, 7 oversized papers, 9 oversized bound volumes).
Richard H. Rich (1901-1975), merchant and business executive, was born in
Note: Restrictions to access and reproduction may apply. Related materials are located at the William Breman Jewish Heritage Museum.
Rogers, Ernest. (MSS 328) Papers, 1918-1967; 10 linear ft. (20 boxes, 1 oversized paper).
Ernest Rogers (1897-1967), the son of Wallace R. (a Methodist minister) and Mary (Brinsfield) Rogers, was born in
Rothschild, Jacob M. (MSS 637) Papers, 1933-1985; 13.25 linear ft. (27 boxes, 2 oversized papers).
Rothschild (1911-1973) was rabbi of The Temple,
Note: Related collections are located at the William Breman Jewish Heritage Museum and the
Seydell, Mildred Woolley. (MSS 449) Papers, 1842-1987; 65.25 linear ft. (150 boxes, 48 oversized papers, 2 medals).
Seydell (1889-1988) was a journalist, author, and lecturer from
Note: Restrictions to access and reproduction may apply.
Singer, Sol. (MSS 909). Sol Singer collection of Philatelic Judaica, 1902-2008; 60.5 linear ft. (131 boxes).
The Sol Singer collection includes stamps that were collected by Atlanta businessman Sol Singer including those issued by the state of Israel as well as stamps featuring Jewish themes issued all over the world. See EmoryFindingAids for a detailed description of the collection.
Uhry, Alfred. (MSS 833) Collection; 12 linear ft. (12 boxes).
Playwright Alfred Uhry (1936- ) was raised in
Watson, Thomas E. (MSS 121) Collection, 1906-1923; 5 linear ft. (2 boxes).
Thomas Edward Watson (1856-1922), lawyer, editor, politician, was born on his grandfather's plantation near
Weinstein, Alfred Abraham. (MSS 564). Papers, 1940-1976; 2.25 linear ft. (5 boxes, 4 oversized papers, 10 oversized bound volumes, 1 oral history).
Weinstein (1908-1964) was a physician, author, and sculptor who moved to Atlanta in 1938. During his service in the U.S. Army he spent three and one half years as a POW in Japan. His collection includes materials related to professional, civic, and religious organizations in Atlanta. His experiences as a P.O.W. were the basis for his book, Barbed-Wire Surgeon (1948). A series of articles first published in the Atlanta Journal (1963) were subsequently published as As I Saw Russia (1963). Weinstein was a member of many professional, religious, and civic organizations including B'nai B'rith. As a sculptor, he exhibited his work at the Fogg Art Museum at Harvard and the Atlanta High Museum of Art. See EmoryFindingAids for a detailed description of the collection.
Winn, David Read Evans. (MSS 363). Papers, 1861-1863; .5 linear ft. (1 box, 1 oversized paper).
David Read Evans Winn (1831-1863), physician and Confederate soldier, was born in Camden, South Carolina, and died at Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. He received a degree from Jefferson Medical College (1852), and practiced in Americus, Georgia, until 1861 when he enlisted in the Sumter Light Guards (4th Georgia Infantry). He was acting adjutant to thirteen Georgia companies, including many from the 4th Georgia (the ALbany Guards, the Baldwin Blues, and the Macon County Volunteers), and was promoted to lieutenant colonel before he was killed in action. The collection includes correspondence and typed copies, photograph, genealogical information, and military documents. Of particular interest are three letters in which Winn mentions Jewish Confederate soldiers (December 12, 1861, July 9, 1862, and July 17 1862). See EmoryFindingAids for a detailed description of the collection.
Wolf, Alfred. (MSS 747). Papers; 1.25 linear ft. (3 boxes).
Alfred Wolf (1889-1981) was born in Heilbronn, Germany to Julius (1870-[?] 1939) and Cecile Held Wolf (1876-[?] 1937). Wolf's Jewish name was Menachem Bar Joel Malivi. He served in the Signal Corps of the Royal Bavarian Army (1916-1918_. Afterwards, he enrolled in the School for Textile Technology in Reutlinger and upon graduation was certified as a textile engineer. He obtained his Ph.D. (1922) from the University of Frankfurt in economics and political science. Because he was German, Wolf was interred in camps in France (1939-1940). Wolf served as a meber of the 313 Compagnie des Prestataires (1940). Wolf emigrated to New York (1941), worked in the textile industry there, and later settled in Atlanta (1945-retirement). The Alfred Wolf papers consist of his autobiography "Alfred & Story" which is in the form of both manuscript carbon and audiocassette recordings. The autobiography, written to pass down family history, describes his life growing up and gies family history of other family members. Wolf describes his life growing up and gives family history of other family members. Wolf describes his experiences as a soldier in World War I, as a student, and his working career in the textile industry in Europe and America. He also discusses his marriages to Trudl Victor and Lillian Greta Lazarus, as well as other aspects of his life and thoughts. The collection also includes a photograph of Wolf. See EmoryFindingAids for a detailed description of the collection.