Skip to main content

Jewish Studies Collections: Archives and Oral Histories

Collection Descriptions

American Jewish Committee, Atlanta Chapter; Atlanta Chapter Oral History Project. (MSS 596) Records, 1976-1983; 1 linear ft. (2 boxes).

The Atlanta Oral History Project was begun in celebration of the seventy-fifth anniversary (1980) of the Atlanta Chapter of the American Jewish Committee and was an effort of the Atlanta Chapter to preserve the history of the Jewish community in Atlanta.  The collection project was conducted from 1976-1983. Included in the project are oral history interviews with such members of prominent Atlantans as John Sibley, David Marx, Harry Epstein, Sam Eplan, Rebecca Gershon, Donald Oberdorfer, Joseph Cohen, Josephine Heyman, Cecil Alexander, and Sinclair Jacobs. The interviews pertain to recollections about the history of their own community and of Atlanta in general. Also includes audiotapes relating to oral history meetings, educational programs, and the Atlanta Chapter of the American Jewish Committee seventy-fifth anniversary celebration. See EmoryFindingAids for a detailed description of the collection. 

Clayton County, GA; Oral History. (MSS 828) Collection, 1989-1998; 1 linear ft. (3 boxes). 

The Clayton County (Ga.) oral history project was initiated by Lucy C. Huie, a long-time resident of Jonesboro, Georgia. After interviewing her mother in the 1980s, she turned to her own community with the intention of developing an oral history collection. From 1989-1991, she interviewed people from Jonesboro and south Clayton County. In April 1992, she and Philip R. Callaway joined forces and began to interview other long-time Clayton County citizens. Their interviews dealt with the broad subject of social change since World War II.

The collection consists of the eighty-eight audiocassette tapes of the Atlanta-area oral history interviews recorded from 1989-1998. The interviews include a cross-section of interviewees from Clayton County, the majority of them from the county seat of Jonesboro. Some interviewees are not Clayton County citizens, but are people who have worked there for many years. A few interviewees live outside Clayton County, but are related to the broad thrust of the project by historical period, topic, or family relationship. The collection consists of interviews with males, females, whites, African-American, Protestants, Catholics, and Jews. See EmoryFindingAids for a detailed description of the collection. 

Emory University, Atlanta Hillel. (RG 300/Series 9) Records, 1963-1988; 2 boxes.

Atlanta Hillel, an organization for Jewish College students in Atlanta (Ga.), includes students from Emory University, Georgia State University, Georgia Institute of Technology, and Oglethorpe University. The collection consists of records of Atlanta Hillel from 1963-1988. The files include membership applications, correspondence, subject files, public relations materials, budget reports, and information on the programs at Georgia Tech, Oglethorpe University, and Emory University. Files also include papers of the Reformed Jewish Students Committee (ca. 1982-1984) and pledge cards from the Jewish dental fraternity, Alpha Omega (ca. 1963-1977). See EmoryFindingAids for a detailed description of the collection. 

Emory University Center for Research in Social Change, Witness to the Holocaust. (RG 600/Series 11) Project files, 1978-1982; 31 boxes. 

The late Dr. Fred Roberts Crawford, Director of Emory’s Center for Research in Social Change and a witness to the liberation of Dachau, founded and directed the Project. The Witness to the Holocaust Project’s original aim was to collect eye witness accounts from the soldiers who liberated the German concentration camps during World War II, from Holocaust survivors, and from other witnesses in order to refute claims that the Holocaust never occurred.

The collection includes audio and video recordings of oral histories with liberators, survivors and others; transcriptions of oral history interviews; photographs, slides and films donated by liberators; Project publications; other publications, including entire issues of such newspapers and magazines as Hadassah, Martyrdom and the Resistance, and The Southern Israelite; and television programs produced by the Project. Some of this material can be found online at http://sage.library.emory.edu/collection-0608.html. See EmoryFindingAids for a detailed description of the collection. 

Fortunoff Video Archive for the Holocaust. (MSS 971) Testimonies, ca. 1979-2003; 3 linear ft. (6 boxes).

In 1979, a grassroots organization, the Holocaust Survivors Film Project, began videotaping Holocaust survivors and witnesses in New Haven, Connecticut.  In 1981, the original collection of testimonies was deposited at Yale University, and the Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies opened its doors to the public the following year. Since then, the Archive has worked to record, collect, and preserve Holocaust witness testimonies, and to make its collection available to researchers, educators, and the general public.

The Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies, part of Manuscripts and Archives, at Sterling Memorial Library, Yale University currently holds more than 4,000 testimonies, which are comprised of over 10,000 recorded hours of videotape. The testimonies contain first-hand experience of the Nazi persecutions, including those in hiding, survivors, bystanders, resistants, and liberators. See EmoryFindingAids for a detailed description of the collection. 

Note: On loan from Manuscripts and Archives, Sterling Memorial Library, Yale University.

Special restrictions apply. Researchers will be required to fill out a registration/user form before viewing material. Emory faculty may borrow edited versions for classroom use.  

New South Miscellany. (MSS 49) .5 linear ft. (1 box). 

The collection of various manuscript materials related to the New South includes Ruth Scheinberg’s oral history project entitled, “The Pekl: Folk/Histories of Jewish Peddlers in the South 1890-1914” (1980). Included with the corrected typescript are summaries and audiocassettes of the interviews with descendants of Jewish peddlers, background of the subject matter, and an explanation of the terminology. See EmoryFindingAids for a detailed description of the collection. 


Research Guide

Rose Library Research Services's picture
Rose Library Research Services
Contact:
10th floor, Woodruff Library
404-727-6887
Website / Blog Page
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322