Skip to main content

United States History Research Guide

Finding History Dissertations

EMORY DISSERTATIONS

Most Emory University dissertations published before 2007 are available in two formats, paper and electronic full-text. There is a full-text copy of each dissertation available in PDF format via discoverE or Proquest's Dissertations and Theses Full Text databaseAfter 2007, dissertations are only available in digital form.

Emory History Dissertations Guide

Citations to dissertations and some masters' theses from 1861 to present, full text of many titles from approx. 1997 to present
 

Dissertations

Dissertations & Theses Full-Text

Citations to dissertations and some masters' theses from 1861 to present, full text of many titles from approx. 1997 to present

The Music & Media Library

 

Videos, films, music, and all other audiovisual (A/V) materials can be obtained at the service desk in the Marian K. Heilbrun Music & Media Library.

LOCATION: Woodruff Library LOBBY LEVEL 4. Take the stairs or elevators JUST INSIDE the Woodruff lobby (NOT the "book stacks" elevators).

A/V materials are listed in discoverE, usually with a MUSICMEDIA location and a call number beginning with DVD, V.CASS, CD. etc. Take the call number to a staff member at the Music & Media service desk - they will retrieve and check it out for you (if it can be taken out of the Library) or show you where you can view/listen to it in-house.

For more help identifying and using A/V materials, see the Music & Media website or consult with Music & Media staff in person or by phone at 404-727-1777.

Finding Biographical Information

LIBRARY CATALOGS

To find full-length biographies or autobiographies, search:

discoverE (for titles available at Emory)
Search by AUTHOR for autobiographies written BY an individual; search by SUBJECT for biographies ABOUT an individual.

DATABASES

See the Databases@Emory - Category: Biographies listings for database suggestions in addition to the following:

Print version:
CALL NUMBER:  CT213 .A68 1999
LOCATION: Reference shelves (Level 2)
Successor to the renowned Dictionary of American Biography and a premier source on deceased individuals whose significant actions occurred during his or her residence in the United States or whose life or career directly influenced the course of American history. Includes bibliographies for further research and links to related biographies.

African American Biographical Database
Biographical profiles of African Americans, derived from the microform collection Black Biographical Dictionaries 1790-1950 and other sources.

American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography
Life histories of former American slaves and transcripts of actual slave interviews conducted by the Works Progress Administration (WPA) from 1936 to 1938.

These two databases contain biographical profiles, articles, and references for further reading on millions of people, and are searchable by name, profession, race/ethnicity, and other parameters.
  
Biography & Genealogy Master Index
Massive index to thousands of biographical reference sources on living and deceased individuals.  Eliminates the need to search through numerous reference books by pointing you directly to relevant biographical information on an individual. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Text-to-speech function is limited to 100 characters
 
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322