Banner Image

Emory University History: Introduction

This guide includes descriptions of resources from Emory University Archives as well as manuscript collections related to the history of Emory University.
Using MARBL, Student Perspective
Planning Your Research Visit to MARBL

The Emory University Archives operates in conjunction with the Manuscript, Archives, and Rare Book Library (MARBL), located on the 10th floor of Robert W. Woodruff Library. During the academic year, MARBL is open 9:00 AM-5:30 PM Monday-Saturday. During the summer, hours on Saturday are 10:00-4:00. MARBL is closed on Saturdays during intercession.

Please note that not all manuscript collections are housed in MARBL. Some collections are located in an off-site storage facility and must be requested in advance. To ensure your timely accessibility to our collections on and off-site, we appreciate advance notice of the collections you intend to view.

We are happy to assist you as you prepare for your research visit. If you have any questions about our collections, questions regarding MARBL's researcher policies, and/or would like to request materials to be on hold for your research visit, please email marbl@emory.edu to the attention of Research Services.

Using this research guide

The Emory University Archives is charged by the university with collecting, preserving and providing access to records and related materials documenting the history and function of Emory University, its predecessor schools, and related organizations. The majority of the Archives are available for use in the Manuscript, Archives, and Rare Book Library (MARBL), located in the Robert W. Woodruff Library. Some records related to Oxford College, Health Sciences, the Theology School, and the Law School are held by those entities.

The Archives contain the following types of materials:

University records: The Archives collects University records of permanent historical value regardless of format. These include, but are not limited to, minutes, correspondence, reports, and publications produced by administrative, academic, and research units in the course of University business.

Records of affiliated organizations: The Archives collects the records of alumni, faculty, staff, and student organizations, as well as those which have a close relationship to the university.

The Emory Web Archives documents websites produced by Emory's administrative offices, schools, departments, institutes, centers, and programs, as well as its faculty, student, and alumni organizations

In addition to University Archives material, MARBL also contains personal manuscript collections with additional information about Emory's history.

This research guide lists and provides links to the finding aids for the most significant and largest collections. It does not offer a complete list. It serves as a preliminary research tool, providing a brief description of the collections. In addition to browsing these entries, you may wish to search the following catalogs:

EmoryFindingAids
This database searches detailed descriptions of manuscript collections, which are called finding aids. Finding aids generally include a description of the collection's creator and contents and a box and folder list. The database includes finding aids for unprocessed collections.

discoverE
The Emory Libraries Catalog contains records for the majority of materials held in MARBL and the other university libraries, including rare books, manuscript collections and archives, microforms, and audiovisual materials.

Revised editions of this guide will be forthcoming as new collections are accessioned and as material in existing collections is located and identified.

Contact Information
John Bence
Contact:
Manuscript, Archives, and Rare Book Library (MARBL)

540 Asbury Circle

Atlanta, GA 30322



404-727-9123

jbence@emory.edu
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322