Here you'll find funding sources for tuition, language training, research and other projects, internships, and travel that are relevant for graduate students in development studies specifically. However, in addition to what's listed here, you might also try checking out these general purpose databases:
You can search discoverE for the subject heading Student aid -- United States -- directories for resources the library owns on this subject. Finally, you might also look through the general Finding Funding LibGuide.
American Association of University Women International Fellowships
International Fellowships are awarded for full-time study or research in the United States to women who are not U.S. citizens or permanent residents. Both graduate and postgraduate studies at accredited U.S. institutions are supported. Applicants must have earned the equivalent of a U.S. bachelor's degree by September 30, 2012 and must have applied to their proposed institutions of study by the time of the application. Up to five fellowships are renewable for a second year.
Aga Khan Foundation International
The Aga Khan Foundation provides a limited number of scholarships each year to outstanding students from select developing countries who have no other means of financing their studies. Scholarships are awarded on a 50% grant-50% loan basis through a competitive application process once a year in June or July. The Foundation accepts applications from nationals of the following countries: Bangladesh, India, Pakistan, Afghanistan, Tajikistan, Kyrgyzstan, Syria, Egypt, Kenya, Tanzania, Uganda, Madagascar and Mozambique. In France, Portugal, UK, USA and Canada, applications are accepted from those who are originally from one of the above developing countries, are interested in development-related studies and who have no other means of financing their education.
The AIGC Fellowship program provides approximately $1,200,000 in fellowships to over 400 American Indian and Alaska Native graduate and professional students each year. Graduate fellowships are monetary awards made to American Indian and Alaska Native graduate or professional full-time, degree-seeking students, who meet all eligibility criteria. The fellowship amount is typically between $1000 and $5000 per academic year (not including summer), and varies from year to year, depending on the number of qualified applicants, the availability of funds and unmet financial need.
Alpha Kappa Alpha (AKA) Educational Advancement Foundation Graduate Scholarships
Alpha Kappa Alpha offers a $1,000-$3,000 award to graduate students who excel academically. Eligible applicants must: 1) Be a full-time and currently enrolled undergraduate student with sophomore standing at an accredited campus-based degree-granting institution, 2) Be a full-time and currently enrolled graduate student at an accredited campus-based degree-granting institution, 3) Continuing a program of study in this or another degree-granting institution, 4) Demonstrate exceptional academic achievement with a minimum GPA of 3.0 ("B" average) 5) have demonstrated community service and involvement.
American Indian Graduate Center the Bureau of Indian Education Loan for Service
AIGC administers a grant from the Bureau of Indian Education to provide financial assistance in the form of loans to eligible American Indian and Alaska Natives seeking graduate and professional degrees. The goal is to promote opportunities for careers with tribal governments, Bureau of Indian Affairs, Bureau of Indian Education and Bureau of Indian Affairs funded organizations on and off reservations.
Artic Education Foundation
Short or long term grants in support of graduate studies for Northern Alaska Inupiat Natives of at least 1/4 blood quantum currently residing in the Arctic Slope Region.
Armenian Professional Society Scholarship
The APS Scholarships are open to students who have been accepted or enrolled in a graduate school in the United States. Selection is based on financial need, scholastic achievements, faculty recommendations, and involvement in the Armenian Community. An eligible candidate shall be awarded for a scholarship for no more than a total of two times.
Charles Elias Shepard Scholarship for Graduate Study (Emory Undergraduates Only)
The Charles E. Shepard Scholarship provides funding for graduate school tuition and/or expenses for students pursuing a masters or PhD. Applicants must have a superior record of intellectual ability, scholastic achievement and personal promise, as well as other indicators of substantive intellectual accomplishment (e.g. reseaerch awards, departmental awards, independent research, publications, etc). Applicants must also have a demonstrated ability to complete with distinction a graduate program ranked among the best for the discipline/focus. Seniors and alumni from any Emory University undergraduate program are eligible to apply.
Charles B. Rangel International Graduate Fellowship
The Fellowship welcomes applications from young people interested in careers of international service. Fellows must be U.S. citizen seeking to attend a two-year graduate program in a U.S. institution to study any area of relevance to the Foreign Service, including international relations, public policy, public administration, languages, or business administration.
Citadel Capital Scholarship
The Citadel Capital Scholarship Foundation was created in 2007, out of a strong will to contribute to national development through creating high caliber professionals to help enhance Egypt’s growth in all sectors. The Foundation is funded by an endowment from Citadel Capital to grant academic scholarships for talented and promising young Egyptian men and women to pursue master degrees and PhDs in all fields of study.
Clara Mayo Grants
The Clara Mayo Grant program was set up to support masters’ theses or pre-dissertation research on aspects of sexism, racism, or prejudice, with preference given to students enrolled in a terminal master’s program. Studies of the application of theory or the design of interventions or treatments to address these problems are welcome. The maximum amount of any grant is $1,000.
Congressional Hispanic Caucus
CHCI scholarships provide Latino graduate students who have a history of performing service-oriented activities in their communities with up to $5,000 to over tuition, room, and board, textbooks, and other educational expenses.
Cook Inlet Region, Inc. Foundation (CIRI) Scholarships
The USINDO Edward E. Masters Fellows Program funds the education and manages the placement of top ranked officials from Indonesian Ministries at leading schools in the United States. Masters Fellows are nominated by their Ministry and must meet the requirements of the Masters Fellows Program, with exacting standards applied by USINDO and other committee members during the selection process.
Daniel B. Goldberg Scholarship
The Daniel B. Goldberg Scholarship of $10,000 is available to a full- time graduate student who is pursuing an advanced degree preparing for a career in state or local government finance.
Davis Putter Scholarship Fund
The Davis Putter Scholarship Fund provides need-based grants to students who are actively working for peace and justice. Davis-Putter scholars are both graduate and undergraduate students and must be living in the U. S. and planning to enroll in an accredited school. Grantees must receive college credits for the time period covered by their grant. Early recipients fought for civil rights, against McCarthyism, and for peace in Vietnam. More recently, grantees have been active in the struggle against racism, sexism, homophobia, and other forms of oppression; building the movement for economic justice; and creating peace through international, anti-imperialist solidarity.
Delta Gamma Foundation Fellowships
Delta Gamma Foundation fellowships are awarded on a competitive basis to qualified initiated members pursuing graduate/professional degrees. Selection is based on scholastic excellence, contributions to chosen field, past and current Delta Gamma activities and leadership roles in her collegiate chapter and alumnae group, campus and community involvement, and required recommendations. For questions or for more information contact Director of Scholarships and Fellowships at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Dolores Zohrab Liebmann Fund
Provides funding for graduate study in any recognized field of study in the humanities, social sciences, or natural sciences (including law, medicine, engineering, architecture, or other formal professional training) or for independent research or study projects. While the Liebmann Fund encourage Armenian Studies, a candidate's program of study ned not be limited to this field, and candidates can e of any national descent. Fellowships cover the cost of tuition and provide an annual $18,000 stipend for living expenses. Fellowships are restricted to graduate students who are U.S. citizens attending an accredited institution within the U.S.
Donald M. Payne International Development Graduate Fellowship
The Payne Program is designed to attract outstanding young people to careers in international development as USAID Foreign Service Officers. The Payne Fellowship Program provides benefits valued at up to $90,000 over two years toward a two-year master's degree, arranges internships in Washington D.C. and at USAID missions overseas, and provides professional development and support activities. Fellows who successfully complete the program become USAID Foreign Service Officers. Fellows may use the fellowship to attend a two-year master's program in a U.S. institution to study an area of relevance to the USAID Foreign Service, including international development, international relations, public policy, business administration, foreign languages, economics, agriculture, environmental sciences, health, or urban planning at a graduate or professional school approved by the Payne Program. At the end of the two-year fellowship, Fellows enter the USAID Foreign Service. Applicants must be college seniors or graduates looking to start graduate school in the fall of the year they apply, have GPAs of at least 3.2 and be U.S. citizens. The program welcomes applications from those with any undergraduate major and encourages applications from members of minority groups historically underrepresented in the USAID Foreign Service and those with financial need.
Women over the age of 25 who are residents of Georgia are eligible to apply for Emerge Scholarships. The scholarships are generally between $2,000 - $5,000 and may only be used to cover tuition and fees.
Environmental Research Education Fund
Scholarships are awarded by EREF to recognize excellence in master’s, doctoral or post-doctoral waste management research and education. Applications will be considered from those who will be this year or are now a full-time master’s student, doctoral student or post-doctoral researcher, and have a clearly demonstrated interest in solid waste management research. Doctoral and post-doctoral scholarships are awarded up to $12,000 per year, paid monthly, and can be extended for up to 3 years from the initial award date. Master’s scholarships are awarded up to $5,000 per year and can be extended for up to 2 years from the initial award date.
Fulbright Foreign Student Program
The Fulbright Program brings citizens of other countries to the United States for Master’s degree or Ph.D. study at U.S. universities or other appropriate institutions. Foreign students apply for Fulbright Fellowships through the Fulbright Commission/Foundation or U.S. Embassy in their home countries. The Institute of International Education (IIE) arranges academic placement for most Fulbright nominees and supervises participants during their stay in the United States.
Fulbright-Nehru Master's Fellowships for Leadership
The foundation offers financing through loans to Mexican citizens to obtain a Master's degree from a reputable University. Fixed interest rate of 3.75%. Applications are continually accepted.
Harvey Fellows Program
The Harvey Fellows Program provides scholarships to Christian students who are pursuing graduate studies at premier universities in fields considered to be underrepresented by Christians and who possess a unique vision to impact society through their vocations. Applicants must sign statement of faith; looking for students in fields that lack Christian "voices." Valued at $12,000/year, renewable up to two years.
Healthline Stronger Scholarship Program
Healthline awards two $10,000 scholarships annually to graduate students who are pursuing work related to health and wellness. The scholarship theme changes each year - for example, the 2017 theme is Type 2 Diabetes. The theme description states: "We're looking for people who are in some way connected to Type 2 Diabetes and want to use their advanced degree to help make the world a stronger, healthier place, whether as an advocate, resource, or part of the healthcare industry itself."
Hellenic Times Scholarship Fund
Tuition and stipend for students of Greek descent. Must be of Greek descent and between 17 and 25 as of May in the year of application. Students receiving a full scholarship from any other source, or a partial scholarship exceeding 50% of their annual tuition, are ineligible.
Hispanic Scholarship Fund
Various awards provide students from Hispanic descent support for their graduate study. Applicants must be pursuing their first graduate degree. Values of the awards vary.
Institute for Diversity Cathy L. Brock Scholarship
The Cathy L. Brock Health Care Scholarship is a $1,000 opportunity, awarded to a graduate student pursuing a MHA or comparable program (e.g. MPH). The Cathy L. Brock Memorial Scholarship recognizes graduate student leaders, who represent ethnically diverse cultural backgrounds, and is named in memory of Cathy L. Brock, Director of Operations for the American Hospital Association's (AHA) Health Research and Educational Trust.
Institute for Diversity in Health Management
The Transamerica Retirement Solutions Leaders in Health Care Scholarship is a $5,000 opportunity awarded to two (2) recipients. The Transamerica Scholarship is available to first and second year graduate students who are pursuing degrees in healthcare administration or comparable degree program (e.g. MBA, MPH, MHA, MPA, or MSN). Individuals must demonstrate financial need, a commitment to community service and excel academically.
Joint Japan/World Bank Graduate Scholarship Program
For individuals from World Bank member countries to undertake graduate studies at any university located in a World Bank member country except their own.
Korean American Foundation Scholarship
The KASF seeks 1) to assist Korean American students in pursuit of academic and personal achievement, 2) to encourage community and civic service as an integral part of leadership development, and 3) to nurture the sense of pride and confidence in Korean cultural heritage and tradition. Grants vary from $1,000-$5,000 depending on the allocations from local chapters. Students must have a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.0 and demonstrate a need for financial assistance.
Kosciuszko Foundation Grant for American Students of Polish Descent
Kosciuszko Foundation Tuition Scholarships support American students of Polish descent for graduate studies at colleges and universities in the United States. Scholarships ranging from $1,000 to $7,000 are awarded on a competitive basis for one academic year.
Margaret McNamara Memorial Fund Grants
Awards to female students from developing countries who are currently studying in the U.S. & Canada. The MMMF grants about $12,000 to each student.
National Italian American Foundation Scholarship
The National Italian American Foundation (NIAF) annually awards scholarships to outstanding students in the summer for use during the following academic year. Scholarship awards range from $2,000-$12,000 and are awarded to undergraduate, graduate, post-graduate, medical, and legal students. To be considered for an NIAF scholarship, a student must be a member of NIAF or have a parent or guardian who is a member of NIAF.
NSEP David L. Boren Graduate Fellowship
The National Security Education Program David L. Boren Graduate Fellowships supports students pursuing graduate study who are interested in international relations as well as future careers in government service. Fellow recipients must commit to U.S. Government service for one year.
Peace First Fellowships
Peace First Fellowships provide $25,000 two-year awards to young leaders whose work and ideas demonstrate tangible youth peacemaking, a term Peace First defines as “the creative process of engaging with others to make positive and lasting change” in response to injustice in their schools, neighborhoods, and communities. Fellowship awards may be used to contribute to the recipient’s educational and professional development, and/or to support the recipient’s ongoing community work. Fellows also receive mentoring and professional development support, and they are expected to be ambassadors of Peace First in various official and unofficial capacities. Applicants must be legal residents of the U.S. between the ages of 18 and 22 on January 1 in the year of application, and must have records of significant engagement toward positive change in their communities. All candidates must apply for Peace First Prizes, which provide smaller awards for similar pursuits; the sponsor selects finalists from this applicant pool for consideration as Peace First Fellows.
Point Foundation Scholarship
Point empowers promising LGBTQ students to achieve their full academic and leadership potential—despite the obstacles often put before them—to make a significant impact on society. Point scholarships are awarded on a "last provider" basis. Point fills in the gaps and provides funds not provided by other scholarships, grants, loans, work/study programs, etc. It is the responsibility of the Point Scholar to secure as much outside funding as possible. Point is not intended to be, and cannot be, the sole source of support because there is no guarantee that the financial support will be the same each year, or will be provided each year. Point never meets 100% of demonstrated financial need. When scholarship funding is robust the average yearly scholarship amount provided is $10,000 per year for up to four years. Point support scholars through graduation (or for up to four years of scholarship funding).
Presidential Management Fellows
The PMF Program is a flagship leadership development program at the entry level for advanced degree candidates. The Program is designed with a narrow focus--developing a cadre of potential government leaders. In addition to salary and benefits, the PMF Program gives you a lot in return for your hard work. Your two-year appointment will provide a fast-paced opportunity to gain experience and develop your talents. You will be challenged with opportunities to flourish into a problem solver, strategic thinker and future leader. In addition to working at a single Federal agency, you may have the option to participate in a rotational opportunity at another agency. These rotational opportunities will challenge you even further and give you insight into how other areas of government operate.
The Rowe Fund is an education loan program of the Organization of American States (OAS) that helps citizens from Latin America and Caribbean OAS Member states finance their studies or research at accredited universities in the U.S. They award interest-free loans of up to $15,000.
Schepp Foundation Scholarships
Leopold Schepp Foundation Scholarships provide support to full-time students who may otherwise have insufficient means to obtain or complete their formal education. Scholarships typically range from $1,000 to $8,500, according to individual need, and approximately 200 scholarships are awarded annually. Candidates must be U.S. citizens or permanent residents, currently enrolled (or about to enroll) full-time in an undergraduate or graduate degree program, and maintaining a GPA of at least 3.2 on a four-point scale. Graduate student applicants must be under the age of 40 at the time of application. In addition to academic ability, candidates must demonstrate good character, and the foundation ordinarily prefers to award scholarships to individuals with goals that show promise of future benefit to society. The foundation requires all candidates to undertake a personal interview at its offices in New York City—it does not reimburse travel expenses for this interview.
Senior Care Innovation Scholarship
A Place for Mom will award five students with a $1,000 scholarship for advancement in the field of gerontology. This is a general scholarship which will award the selected applicants with a financial donation. This scholarship will be awarded to students enrolled in an accredited college or university during the academic year. Eligible students will be enrolled in an associate's degree, bachelor's degree or graduate level program in the fields of gerontology, long term care administration, social work, medicine, nursing, or sociology at an accredited 2-year college or 4-year university.
Singapore Government Public Service Commission Lee Kuan Yew Scholarship
The Lee Kuan Yew Scholarship is synonymous with both prestige and a willingness to serve Singapore. It marks Singapore's continuous effort to recognize outstanding individuals with the aptitude and inclination to contribute to our society. Scholars must be Singaporeans must have outstanding academic records, and can pursue either Master's or PhD programmes at local or overseas universities. There is no restriction on the course of study.
Swiss Benevolent Society
The Swiss Benevolent Society awards a variety of scholarships and grants on the basis of need and merit for education. The applicant or one of his or her parents must be a Swiss national.
The Paul & Daisy Soros Fellowships for New Americans
The Paul and Daisy Soros Fellowships for New Americans provides leadership opportunities for New Americans in any professional or academic graduate field. The program seeks to assist new Americans in pursuing their career goals through graduate study at any accredited U.S. institution. Each fellow receives a maintenance grant of $25,000 and up to $20,000 in tuition and fees or 50% of required tuition and fees per year.
The Roothbert Fund Scholarship Program
The scholarship program provides awards to approximately 20 students who are "motivated by spiritual values" and reside in specific states in the U.S. Grants are small (averaging $2,000-$3,000) and are meant to be supplementary.
Thomas R. Pickering: Foreign Affairs Fellowship
The Thomas R. Pickering Foreign Affairs Fellowship Program provides funding to graduate students seeking admission to a two- year master’s degree program. Students must be a U.S. citizen at the time of application and have an interest in pursuing a Foreign Service career with the U.S. Department of State. 2014 Fellows will receive financial support of up to $40,000 annually for two-years and are required to serve as a Foreign Service Officer for a minimum of five years.
Acumen Global Fellows Program
The Global Fellows Program is a 12-month fellowship for individuals dedicated to changing the way the world tackles poverty. We are looking for potential social sector leaders who embody service above self. The fellowship begins with eight weeks of training in the Acumen New York office, where Fellows build their understanding of the problems of poverty, the current tensions in the sector as we explore solutions and understand the role we have to play. After training, each Fellow is placed with a company within Acumen's ecosystem where they work on a key business challenge. In the past, Fellows have worked on projects ranging from leading operations of a new business unit at a cotton ginnery in Uganda, to leading operations at a coffee processing company in Rwanda, to building partnerships for a vocational skills training company in India.
Catholic Relief Services International Development Fellows Program
The Catholic Relief Services International Development Fellows Program, or IDFP, is an opportunity for people interested in careers in international relief and development with a faith-based organization to experience our programs overseas. Each year, CRS places approximately 20-30 fellows in our country programs. Assignments, of approximately 10 months, start in late August. Specific job responsibilities vary from country to country, but usually include work in agriculture, health, peacebuilding, education, microfinance, or a combination of these. The goal of the IDFP is to place fellows in positions where they can draw on their previous education and work experience, while broadening their skills. Most of our fellowships lead to permanent positions with CRS.
Center on Budget and Policy Priorities State Policy Fellowships
State Policy Fellows tackle domestic policy challenges in areas like health care, taxes, anti-poverty policy, education and criminal justice. Working in independent, highly respected think tanks located in state capitals, Fellows analyze the impact of state budget and tax policy choices on low-income residents and promote positive reforms. Eligible candidates must have received a graduate degree in public policy, public affairs, economics, law, social work, public health, or a related field within the past 1-2 years, or expect to receive a degree before August 1 of the year applying; must have a strong academic record; and must be eligible to work full-time in the United States for the two-year duration of the program. Candidates should have an interest in state fiscal policy and a commitment to improving the welfare of low- and moderate-income households. Preference will be given to applicants who have experience with, or demonstrate a strong interest in, working with low-income or diverse communities.
Echoing Green Fellowships
Echoing Green Fellowships provide generous support, over two years, to promising social entrepreneurs, giving them start-up capital and technical assistance as they launch their organizations and build the capacity of their social enterprise, anywhere in the world. Each fellowship provides a stipend of $80,000, paid in four installments over two years, plus a health insurance stipend and an annual professional development stipend. (Two-person partnerships will receive a stipend of $90,000.) Echoing Green also provides conferences for fellows, led by organizational and development experts, access to technical support and pro bono partnerships, and access to an extensive community of like-minded social entrepreneurs and public service leaders, including nearly 500 alumni of its own fellowship program. Each organization proposed must be the original idea of the applicant, and it must be in a start-up phase at the time of application—Echoing Green's financial support should qualify it as significant early funder. The organization must also be independent and autonomous—organizations cannot be considered independent or autonomous if they are started under the direction of an existing organization. The applicant must be the primary decision maker for the organization’s development and management.
Filmmakers without Borders
In collaboration with an in-country school or non-profit organization, Filmmakers without Borders Fellows spend one year teaching filmmaking, medial literacy, and technology skills to K-12 students from underserved communities. The fellowships are fully funded (including flights, housing, food, equipment and curriculum tools). Applicants must have at least 2 years of film/media-related experience and a minimum of 6 months (cumulative) of in/formal teaching experience. Participants in the program create two short films, one feature length film, and 10+ weekly video updates in addition to their teaching duties.
Fulbright English Teaching Assistant Program
The English Teaching Assistant (ETA) programs place Fulbrighters in classrooms abroad to provide assistance to local English teachers. ETAs help teach English while serving as cultural ambassadors for the U.S. The age and academic level of the students varies by country, ranging from kindergarten to university level. Applicants for English Teaching Assistant Programs can apply to only one country. Consult the website for details on specific country requirements and numbers of awards.
Global Health Corps Fellow
During a yearlong paid fellowship, Global Health Corp fellows work in a range of critical roles within partner organizations on the front lines of health equity in Malawi, Rwanda, Uganda, the US, and Zambia, developing as leaders and making an impact every day. Fellows work in paid placements with partner organizations working to address health inequity across a range of issue areas. Through a comprehensive leadership and management training curriculum, we bring fellows together five times a year to foster systems-thinking, strong management, and key leadership practices. Applicants must be 30 years or younger by the start of the fellowship, must have a bachelors/undergraduate degree by the start of the fellowship, and must be proficient in English.
Insight Collaborative Fellowship Program
Applications and placements are shaped by the Insight Fellowship Guidelines, which encourage original and reflective thinking, innovative approaches to managing conflict, exposure to other cultures and customs, cultivation of entrepreneurship and leadership, volunteering for the benefit of underserved populations, and the development of a disposition toward the world. The Fellowship includes a $25,000 USD expense allowance to support multiple placements totaling one year, typically in three to four month blocks. Each Fellow is required to repay the amount of the $25,000 allowance used through individual fund raising efforts, regenerating the funds to ensure support for the next Fellow. This “pay forward” approach instills the values of sustainability and non-profit entrepreneurship.
Institute of Current World Affairs Fellowship
The ICWA fellowship program aims to nurture deep expertise in foreign countries and cultures by supporting a Fellow who carries out a program of self-designed, independent study abroad for a minimum of two years. They do not support degree programs at universities. Candidates are encouraged to browse the ICWA archives on this website to see the kind of projects that the Institute had previously supported.
Mickey Leland International Hunger Fellow
The Mickey Leland International Hunger Fellows Program trains emerging leaders in the fight to end hunger worldwide. It is a unique two-year program that combines field and policy work. Leland Fellows develop new skills while actively working to alleviate hunger and poverty in Asia, Africa, and Latin America. During the first year, fellows work directly to build food security in the field. In the second year, fellows apply their field experience to the design of sound development policy at the organizational, national, and international level. Eligible candidates have some experience working or volunteering in a developing country on issues related to hunger and poverty and usually possess a relevant graduate degree or equivalent experience.
The Shuttleworth Foundation offers fellowships to individuals to support them in implementing their ideas for social change over the course of a year. The foundation is particularly interested in ideas at the intersection between openness, technology, knowledge, and learning—ideas that would enhance access to global knowledge and social and economic development. Each fellowship provides for generous financial support, equivalent to a full year’s salary based on a fellow’s qualifications, experiences, and comparable cost of time for their skill level. In addition, each fellow will have access to potential project funding from the foundation, which will match a fellow’s personal project investment by at least tenfold. The foundation also provides technological and legal support throughout each project’s development, as well as connections to its network of projects, funders, and institutions. Anyone who has an innovative idea for social change that adds value in the areas of knowledge, learning, and technology may apply, provided they have reached the age of majority—in the U.S., in most states, this is 18. The fellowship is not limited to any specific geographical place, but all fellows must be fluent in English.
American Research Institute in Turkey
The American Research Institute in Turkey (ARIT) offers summer fellowship for advanced Turkish language study at Bogazici University in Istanbul. The fellowships support students pursuing the equivalent of at least one full academic year of college-level Turkish language study during an intensive summer course. Candidates must be U.S. citizens, permanent residents, or national who are currently enrolled in undergraduate or graduate study programs. They must also have a GPA of at least a B in their academic program and be able to perform at the high-intermediate level on a language proficiency-based admissions exam for ARIT. This program is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education's Office of Post-Secondary Education, the American Association of Teachers of Turkic Languages, and Georgetown University.
Blakemore Freeman Foundation Language Grants
Fellowships for individuals who want to spend a year abroad in an intensive language program to improve their Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Vietnamese, Thai, Indonesian, Burmese or Khmer language skills. The Foundation seeks superior candidates pursuing careers in fields such as business, STEM (science, technology, engineering, math), accounting, law, medicine, journalism, architecture, teaching, social or NGO work, government service, and academia are encouraged to apply.
Center for Arabic Study Abroad
The Center for Arabic Study Abroad (CASA) offers advanced level training in Arabic language and culture to qualified American students at The American University in Cairo and Qasid Arabic Institute in Amman. Applicants to the various CASA programs must be U.S. citizens or permanent residents and with a minimum of 3 years of formal instruction in Arabic prior to joining CASA.
Critical Language Scholarships
The Critical Language Scholarship (CLS) Program provides overseas foreign language instruction and cultural enrichment experiences in 13 critical need languages for U.S. students in higher education. The CLS Program is part of a U.S. government effort to expand dramatically the number of Americans studying and mastering critical need foreign languages. Undergraduate, master's and doctoral-level students of diverse disciplines and majors are encouraged to apply for the seven-to-10-week-long programs. Participants are expected to continue their language study beyond the scholarship period, and later apply their critical language skills in their future professional careers.
Institut D’Etudes Francaises D’Avignon Summer Language Program
The Institut d'études françaises d'Avignon, under the auspices of Bryn Mawr College, offers a six-week summer program of intensive work in significant aspects of French culture. This advanced program, established in 1962, is designed for selected undergraduate and graduate students with serious interest in French language, literature and civilization, and primarily for those who expect to engage in professional careers requiring a knowledge of France and the French language. Must have completed at least 3 years of college-level French. There is a program cost but scholarships are available on a limited basis. All scholarships will be awarded on the basis of academic excellence and financial need.
Institute of Turkish Studies Summer Language
These grants are for summer travel to Turkey for language study in preparation for graduate research. The time period for these grants varies with each individual application. Normally, the recipients of the Summer Language Study Grants are expected to spend a minimum of two months in Turkey at an established Ottoman or Turkish language training facility. Stipends generally range from $1,000 to $3,000. These grants are distributed as reimbursement for documented expenses, as proposed in the application, up to the dollar amount awarded by the Institute of Turkish Studies.
Kathryn Davis Fellows for Peace Language Program
These 100 fellowships are made possible by a generous gift from Kathryn Davis, to address today's critical need for increased language proficiency in the United States. The Kathryn Davis Fellowships cover 100% of tuition, room, and board for one summer of summer language study from beginner to graduate levels in Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Hebrew, Korean, Italian, Japanese, Portuguese, Russian, and Spanish at the Middlebury College Language Schools. The Davis Fellowships are merit-based and intended for exceptionally qualified individuals with demonstrated interest in one or more of the following areas: international, global, or area studies; international politics and economics; peace and security studies; and/or conflict resolution. Individuals in other fields, including working professionals, are encouraged to apply if their field of expertise requires them to study one of the critical languages listed above. The Kathryn Davis Fellowships are competitive, merit-based awards.
Qatar Scholarship for Arabic Study
The Qatar Scholarship Program offers dedicated Arabic language students from the United States the opportunity to master their skills in an intensive Arabic language program at Qatar University (QU) in Doha for an entire academic year (September to June). The scholarship includes tuition, room and board in university dorms, round-trip airfare, local transportation and books. This program is designed for those who have already developed their Arabic at the intermediate and advanced levels. Students passing a proficiency exam at QU will also have the opportunity to audit regular undergraduate courses taught in Arabic in an array of subjects. This is a non-degree program; however, students will receive a certificate upon completion of the academic year and academic credit will be awarded.
Southeast Asian Studies Summer Institute
Offers intensive summer language programs at the University of Wisconsin-Madison in several Southeast Asian languages. They offer a SEASSI Scholarship that covers all tuition and includes a $1100 summer living stipend.
Acton Institute Calihan Academic Fellowships and Travel Grants
Provide academic fellowships of up to $3,000 to advanced graduate students and seminarians who show outstanding potential in advancing understanding of the relationship between theology and the principles of the free and virtuous society. Such principles include recognition of human dignity, the importance of the rule of law, limited government, religious liberty, and freedom in economic life.
American Center for Mongolian Studies Fellowships for Research in Mongolia
The American Center for Mongolian Studies (ACMS), with funding support from the US State Department Educational and Cultural Affairs Bureau and the Council of American Oversees Research Centers, funds the ACMS US-Mongolia Field Research Fellowship Program to support short-term student, post-doctoral, or faculty field research in Mongolia for the summer or fall. The program will provide awards of up to $4,000 to approximately 4-8 students, post-docs, or faculty. The field research project should be conducted in conjunction with a Research Sponsor, such as a faculty member or senior researcher, and involve at least 6 weeks for students or 3 weeks for post-docs or faculty of fieldwork in Mongolia. Preference is given to projects in which the Research Sponsor will work directly with the researcher in the field in Mongolia.
Alexia Foundation Student Grants
Alexia Foundation Student Grants provide monetary and in-kind benefits to help students produce bodies of photographic or multimedia work that share the Foundation's goals of promoting world peace and cultural understanding. All awards include a small stipend and a gift card to assist with project production and purchase of supplies.
American Institute for Maghrib Studies Long-Term Grant
The program offers grants to U.S. scholars interested in conducting research on North Africa in any Maghrib country, specifically Algeria, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, or Tunisia. AIMS sponsors three Overseas Research Centers in the region in Oran, Tunis and Tangier and has other institutional affiliations that support AIMS scholars. AIMS only funds primary research conducted in the Maghrib. AIMS offers awards with a maximum of $15,000 for projects longer than three months. Applicants must be members of AIMS at the time of application. For membership and grant information, please contact the AIMS Executive Office at email@example.com.
Asian Cultural Council Grants
The Asian Cultural Council supports international dialogue, understanding, and respect through cultural exchange and nurtures the individual talents of artists and scholars in Asia and the United States. Grants are open to citizens and permanent residents of the United States or citizens and permanent residents of the countries of Asia, from Afghanistan eastward through Japan and Indonesia. Applicants seeking assistance to conduct research study, receive specialized training, undertake observation tours, or pursue non-commercial creative activity among the countries of Asia (or in the U.S. for applicants who are residents of Asia) are eligible to apply.
Clara Mayo Grants
The Clara Mayo Grant program was set up to support masters’ theses or pre-dissertation research on aspects of sexism, racism, or prejudice, with preference given to students enrolled in a terminal master’s program. Studies of the application of theory or the design of interventions or treatments to address these problems are welcome. The maximum amount of any grant is $1,000.
The Curtis Scholarship is an annual award that funds an overseas development trip with Global Citizen. In 2016, the award winner was invited to join a five day learning trip to Senegal, the trip will be an immersive cultural experience that will also provide an opportunity to learn about development programs focused on the core policy area of child health and wellness. The trip location changes annually: in 2015, the award winner traveled to India. The scholarship includes round trip airfare, all trip-related meals, lodging and transportation, and other out of pocket expenses.
DAAD's primary goal is to facilitate transatlantic mobility to Germany for US and Canadian scholars, therefore Germany must be a component of your intended academic travel. Funding is awarded to graduate students, undergraduates, faculty, and postdocs on a competitive basis. We consider the academic merit of the individual, the feasibility and quality of the proposal, and the impact of the applicant and application as a whole. For a list of all scholarships and grants available, please see the program index here.
Ella Lyman Cabot Trust
The Ella Lyman Cabot Trust (ELCT) offers grants to individuals with charitable, religious, artistic, educational, and scientific projects that promote the good of others. Within this general guideline, the trustees pay special attention to how the proposed project will be essential to the applicant's own growth and development. While this is no formal limit on the size of an individual grant, the trustees expect grants to be in the range of $15,000 per recipient, and do not expect any grant to exceed $25,000.
Environmental Research & Education Foundation Scholarships for Waste Management
The Robert P. Stearns and Robert J. Riethmiller scholarships are for master's students, specifically. The awards recognize excellence in waste management research and education.
Institute for Money, Technology, & Financial Inclusion Grant
The Institute for Money, Technology & Financial Inclusion at the University of California, Irvine is soliciting proposals for original scholarly research on the use of money as a means of saving, storing, and transferring value for those who live on less than $1USD/day. For this call, IMTFI is most keenly interested in the following broad topics: -What is it really like to live in a cash-only world? To live in a world where new technological innovations are changing people’s habits and ideas around money? -How do technological infrastructures interact with social infrastructures when cashless options are introduced into cash-only worlds? -How do physical and electronic media of exchange work together in people’s everyday lives? -What is the role of gender, rank or status, economic class, occupation, age, physical capacity, or geography in people’s payment choices? -What is happening to “informal” and/or potentially fraudulent practices as mobile and electronic payments interface with cash payments or other accounting practices? -How do emerging domestic and international value transfer and remittance technologies affect livelihoods, investment, spending, and migration? -Intervention of policy and design Eligibility: This call for proposals is open to all researchers who work in the developing world. Note: For this call, proposals to design or implement a service or product are ineligible.
Kinsey Institute for Research in Sex, Gender, and Reproduction
This program confers sexuality research grants to emerging scholars and seeks to fund significant and innovative research, from a wide array of disciplines and perspectives, that deals with human sexuality. The program is supported by donations from Friends of The Kinsey Institute. Applications for funding should include a clear and concise research description (study rationale, methods, and planned data analysis), a budget, and a letter of support from a faculty mentor/advisor. The maximum length is three pages for the research description and one page for the budget. All applicants must be registered as full time graduate students at accredited universities in the United States. In one year’s time following the funding award, we require awardees to submit to The Kinsey Institute preliminary findings of the study in the forms of a one page final report. In addition, the awardees will send the institute any presented/accepted abstracts for presentations at scientific meetings and/or submitted/accepted publications in peer-reviewed journals that are based on the funded research.
Laura W. Bush Traveling Fellowship
The fellowship will help fund a proposal designed by the applicant to conduct brief work (4-6 weeks) in a foreign country related to the mandate of UNESCO – using education, natural sciences, social and human sciences, culture, and/or communication and information to build strong ties among nations. The fellowship is intended for American university students who express an interest in international collaboration but as of yet had not been afforded many opportunities to travel abroad. Must be a US citizen currently enrolled in a college or university in United States, aged 18-25. The average fellowship award is $2,500.
Luce Foundation Scholarship
The Luce Scholars Program is a nationally competitive fellowship program. It was launched by the Henry Luce Foundation in 1974 to enhance understanding of Asia among potential leaders in American society. The program provides stipends, language training, and individualized professional placement in Asia. They welcome applications from college seniors, graduate students, and young professionals in a variety of fields who have had limited exposure to Asia. Those who already have significant experience in Asia or Asian studies are not eligible for the Luce Scholars program. Candidates may have taken Asian language or Asia-focused courses (without majoring in Asian Studies). They may have spent up to a total of twelve weeks in countries where Luce Scholars are placed.
Sir Ratan Tata Trust (SRTT) Travel Grants to India
Travel grants are provided to the students proceeding for post-graduate and doctoral studies and for professionals proceeding for their mid-career programs or to attend relevant and meaningful seminars and conferences abroad. The grant to students consists of only a partial international airfare from India to the university / organization abroad. The students proceeding for fall session (July, August and September) are requested to submit their personal application to the Trusts, after finalizing the university they intend to join. The last date for applying to the Trusts is May 31 every year. Students proceeding abroad for the spring session are requested to contact the Trusts three / four months prior to their departure, after finalizing the university.
U.S. Borlaug Fellows in Global Food Security Graduate Research Grant
The U.S. Borlaug Fellows in Global Food Security graduate research grant program supports exceptional graduate students who are interested in developing a component of their graduate research in a developing country setting and in collaboration with a mentor from an International Agricultural Research Center (IARC), or a qualifying* National Agricultural Research System (NARS) unit. We anticipate the fellowship program will lay a foundation for launching long-term international research collaborations for the students and their affiliated faculty advisors and IARC/NARS mentors. We envision that the group of graduate students supported by the program will eventually assume leadership positions in a wide variety of organizations, and across an array of disciplines related to food security. The grants have a maximum value of USD 15,000 for students applying for 6-month long international research stays; USD 20,000 for 1-year long international research stays; and USD 40,000 for 2-year long international research stays. Students are expected to stay in-residence in the host country for the majority of the time (85%) with some time available for short-term absences. Grant funds are not intended to cover all costs of the proposed research, and applicants are expected to leverage outside funding in support of their work plans.
United States – Indonesia Society Travel Grant
USINDO awards grants of up to $2,000 to fund travel to Indonesia or to the United States. These grants are awarded to promote academic and other exchanges between the two countries. USINDO Travel Grants are open to U.S. and Indonesian citizens seeking to travel to Indonesia or the United States to conduct field research or other professional projects, including conferences. The criteria for awarding travel grants include, but are not limited to: availability of funds, qualifications of the applicant, importance of the proposed project, and the potential of the applicant to contribute to long-term understanding between Indonesia and the United States.
West African Research Center Travel Grant
The WARA Travel Grant program promotes intra-African cooperation and exchange among researchers and institutions by providing support to African scholars and graduate students for research visits to other institutions on the continent. Funded through a grant from the Educational and Cultural Affairs Bureau of the US Department of State, the West African Research Center in Dakar, Senegal offers travel costs up to $1500 and a stipend of $1500 to selected scholars. This competition is open only to West African nationals affiliated with institutions of higher education. Travel grant funds may be used to 1) attend and present papers at academic conferences relevant to the applicant’s field of research; 2) visit libraries or archives that contain resources necessary to the applicant’s current academic work; 3) engage in collaborative work with colleagues at another institution; 4) travel to a research site.
American Evaluation Association Graduate Education Diversity Internship Program
The GEDI program provides paid internship and training opportunities during the academic year—working to engage and support students from groups traditionally under-represented in the field of evaluation. The goals of the GEDI Program are to expand the pool of graduate students of color and from other under-represented groups who have extended their research capacities to evaluation. stimulate evaluation thinking concerning under-represented communities and culturally responsive evaluation, and deepen the evaluation profession’s capacity to work in racially, ethnically and culturally diverse settings.
American India Foundation
The American India Foundation's William J. Clinton Fellowship for Service in India provides for ten months of work in NGOs and social enterprises in India. The fellowship pair young professionals with selected organizations in India in order to accelerate, impact, and create effective projects tht are replicable, scalable, and sustainable. To be eligible, candidates must be citizens or permanent residents of the U.S. (or citizens of India) between the ages of 21 and 34 during the tenure of the fellowship.
New American Pathways is a new organization created on October 1, 2014, by the merger of Refugee Resettlement and Immigration Services of Atlanta (RRISA) and Refugee Family Services (RFS). Prior to the merger, RRISA and RFS shared a deep legacy of service to the refugee community in metro Atlanta. For more than two decades, the organizations provided complementary services ranging from initial resettlement to literacy, employment, youth education and school services, and immigration and citizenship assistance. Each fall, they hire interns to work with them in a variety of areas, including after school tutoring, vocational counseling, and affordable housing.
Google Policy Fellowships
The Google Policy Fellowship program offers undergraduate, graduate, and law students interested in Internet and technology policy the opportunity to spend the summer contributing to the public dialogue on these issues, and exploring future academic and professional interests. Fellows will have the opportunity to work at public interest organizations at the forefront of debates on broadband and access policy, content regulation, copyright and creativity, consumer privacy, open government, government surveillance, data security, data innovation, free expression and more. More information about the host organizations and the areas of focus for the fellows is outlined here. For the 2016 application cycle, host organizations are concentrated in Africa, Asia, and the Middle East. Fellows will receive a stipend of USD 7,500 for the ten-week program.
Hispanic Association of Colleges and Universities National Internship Program
Since 1992, HACU has offered one of the best internship programs in the country. We believe that participation in an internship is an invaluable opportunity to gain hands-on work experience, but internships offered through many other organizations often come at a price, whether monetary or otherwise. To honor our commitment to providing equal access to such opportunities, the HACU National Internship Program offers many additional benefits which offset or eliminate many common costs of taking part in an internship: All HACU internship positions are paid; HACU will arrange housing in the internship location (optional); Travel to and from the orientation and/or work site can be arranged at no cost to HACU interns; and provisions can be made for interns to receive academic credit. Free professional development activities are regularly offered during the course of the program.
Humanity in Action the Diplomacy and Diversity Fellowship
The Diplomacy and Diversity Fellowship is a new transatlantic Humanity in Action program. The Fellowship is an educational program for 24 American and European graduate students about the changing international dynamics of diplomacy and diversity. In Washington, DC and Paris, the Fellows will explore how American and European governments and societies are responding to a wide range of international and national diversity issues. The program’s guiding mission is to increase awareness of the importance of diversity in diplomacy and other international fields and to encourage and sustain the careers of professionals from minority backgrounds in foreign affairs. The 4-week program usually take places from late May to mid June.
Kirchner Food Fellowship
The purpose of the Kirchner Food Fellowship program is to foster the development of individuals who have the practical skills and knowledge to make effective investments in emerging agricultural technologies that have the possibility of addressing global food security. The principal part of the Kirchner Food Fellowship will be undertaken over an academic year but Fellows will be expected to have a continuing commitment and interest in the investment portfolio, to their cohort of Fellows and to subsequent cohorts of Fellows. Kirchner Food Fellows will be selected on the basis of their demonstrated interest in food security issues and a desire to work with seed-stage, for-profit companies with innovative business models and potentially disruptive technologies. Fellows will receive invaluable mentoring from experts in the field of capital investment who will also provide feedback and guidance on investment processes and opportunities. Fellows will also have the opportunity to meet and work with serial entrepreneurs in the United States, Canada and Europe.
Koch Summer Fellow Program
The Koch Summer Fellow Program uniquely combines policy work experience with professional education through a rigorous nine-week program. Through the program, fellows are connected to policy and research roles at more than eighty think tanks and non-profit organizations across the country, working on a variety of federal and state-based issues. Alongside the in-depth work experience, fellows undertake a rigorous curriculum of market-based policy analysis, participate in professional education seminars, and engage in theoretical discourse on the ideas of a free society.
New Sector Alliance Senior Summer Fellows
Masters students with 2+ years of post-college work experience at at least 1 year of graduate study are eligible for this 11-week summer program. Fellows are selected from a highly competitive pool and serve in a cohort of 25 fellows with organizations in the Boston, San Francisco, Twin Cities, and Chicago areas. Fellows serve full-time to strengthen nonprofit and community organizations, while engaging in intensive professional development activities to strengthen their skills for immediate and future impact. In addition to specialized training provided by New Sector and mentoring provided by organizations such as Bain and Company, Accenture, the Boston Consulting Group, and Oliver Wyman, the fellowship provides a living stipend of $6,000 to graduate students during their non-profit placement.
SAMHSA/CSAP Prevention Internship Program
The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration’s (SAMHSA) Center for Substance Abuse Prevention (CSAP) established the Prevention Internship in 2011 as a partnership between the Strategic Prevention Framework-Tribal Incentive Grantees (SPF-TIGs), other Tribal organizations and SAMHSA/CSAP’s Prevention Fellowship Program (PFP). The Prevention Internship, a component of SAMSHA/CSAP’s Prevention Fellowship Program, invites qualified individuals, with strong interest in substance abuse prevention and behavioral health, for a 5-month paid internship program in participating Strategic Prevention Framework Tribal Incentive Grant (SPF TIG) locations and other Tribal Organizations throughout the United States. The PFP is a workforce development program that aims to develop and sustain a well-trained and knowledgeable cadre of prevention professionals who understand and exemplify the principles and best practices of substance abuse prevention. As a component of the PFP, the Prevention Internship aims to develop and expand the workforce of substance abuse prevention professionals who are committed to serving Tribal communities.
Social Impact Fellows
Third-Plateau is a multi-disciplinary, social impact strategy firm. They work with nonprofits, mission-driven companies, public institutions and schools, foundations, and individual donors--advising their clients on strategic planning, business planning, community engagement, metrics development, program design, development strategy, impact evaluation, and more. Impact fellows work in a consulting and research capacity on the firm's current projects. Fellows provide high-quality support and project management to clients, lead a summer project that furthers Third Plateau's progress toward its strategic goals, and collaborate with other fellows and the full-time team. The fellowship application has two deadlines--one in December and the second in March, with interviews conducted after each round. All applicants are notified of decisions by early April. The fellowship takes place over 12 weeks in the summer.
Walter O. Spofford, Jr. Memorial Internship
RFF offers a paid internship for graduate students with a special interest in Chinese environmental issues to spend time at RFF in Washington, DC. RFF seeks highly motivated candidates in their first or second year of graduate training in the social or natural sciences. Candidates should also have outstanding policy analysis and writing skills. The intern can expect to work with one or more RFF researchers on a variety of ongoing projects or assist in the development of entirely new areas of research and policy analysis. Interns are normally in residence at RFF for three months during the summer.
Winston Foundation for World Peace Fellowships
Winston Foundation for World Peace Fellowships support undergraduate and graduate students with an interest in cooperative security, conflict resolution, and disarmament. Fellows design their own projects, usually involving public education, media outreach, grassroots organizing, or another active approach to issues of cooperative security, nuclear arms control, conventional arms transfers, demilitarization, democracy building, conflict resolution, and the like. Applicants are expected to work full-time with a non-profit organization. A $300/week stipend is provided for the duration of the project, which lasts from 2-4 months.