Skip to main content

Development Practice: General Websites

Information resources to support Masters in Development Practice and other Emory development studies programs

ELDIS: General

Loading

ELDIS: Policy & Research

Loading

ELDIS: Health

Loading

World Bank: Development Impact

Loading

World Bank: Health, Nutrition, Population

Loading

Millennium Goals

Loading

Best Development Websites

ELDIS is one of the most important development websites.  It is maintained by the Institute of Development Studies at Sussex and aims “to share the best in development, policy, practice and research.” It offers: 

  • 26,000 full text documents free to download from more than 7,500 different publishers. 
  • Eldis resource guides that are subject focused and offer quick access to key documents, organizations, research themes, discussions and other key resources.
  • Eldis country profiles provide access to databases arranged by country, plus quick links to country briefing services on other websites.
  • Eldis email newsletters bring the latest research on 35 different topics to your mail-box.  
  • Eldis newsfeeds feed to your website or news reader for the latest information on 25 topics.  (For more info on RSS feeds, click here.)
  • News, events and jobs provide a selection of recent development news, announcements, email newsletters and job adverts. 

ELDIS also features: 

  • Eldis Google Development Websearch enables you to search the full content of over 4000 development focused websites, as selected by Eldis editors. You are able to filter results according to type, such as PDFs, videos and blogs, and by region.

  • Eldis Community is a free on-line community developed by Eldis where you can meet others involved in international development, discuss issues that are important to you and share useful resources. Anyone with an interest in development issues can join the site free of charge. On the front page of the Eldis Community Site you find the option to join us and 'create a personal space for yourself'.


The British Library for Development Studies (BLDS) is Europe's largest research collection on economic and social change in developing countries.  It contains over 1,000 journals and 80,000 monographs plus links to electronic resources throughout the world. You can do your own search of the BLDS catalog or use canned searches on individual countries or subjects. Unlike most library cataloges, the BLDS catalog includes records for numerous individual journal articles as well as books.  BLDS Digital Library focuses on resources from developing countries


Development Gateway was originally conceived by World Bank but is now run on a not-for-profit basis by partner organizations, for development information and knowledge sharing. Includes:

  • AidData attempts to capture the universe of development finance and foreign aid. Currently contains a database of information on nearly $2 trillion worth of foreign aid projects financed by 87 donors between 1945 to date.  Contains various mapping apps.   You can find more info and a demo here.  
  • Zunia is a source of development information for practitioners that is searchable by topic/country.
  • AID Management Program builds capacity for aid information management through a combination of Web-based tools, process analysis, and training.
  • DGMarket finds tenders, as well as procurement and consulting opportunities.

Global Development Network (GDN) is an International Organization of research and policy institutes promoting the generation, sharing and application to policy of multidisciplinary knowledge for the purpose of development. It was founded on the premise that good policy research, properly applied, can accelerate development and improve people’s lives. GDN emphasizes research done in developing countries. GDN’s approach to policy relevant research is a multidisciplinary one, in that efforts to address development challenges must be informed by knowledge based on a variety of methodological approaches. The website's advanced search screen provides access to thousands of development research projects, researchers and organizations. Regional Windows allows you to target news and research from individual world regions and countries.


The World Bank was founded in 1944, and is currently one of the world's largest sources of development assistance. The Bank is now owned by more than 180 member countries and is working in more than 100 developing economies, bringing a mix of finance and ideas to improve living standards and eliminate the worst forms of poverty. The website includes numerous statistical resources as well as documentation for country needs and World Bank activities. More information on the World Bank is found under the Official, IGO and NGO tab. The World Bank offers numerous blogs of interest to people in development including Let's Talk DevelopmentWorld Bank Live is a space to discuss development topics in real time. Chat live with experts, watch livestreams and more. You can subscribe to alerts and follow on Twitter ( Follow @WorldBankLive and hashtag #WBLive for real-time updates about events.)

World Bank eLibrary (Emory Only)

While much information is available for free on the World Bank's website, many important resources are excluded.  They can be found instead through the subscription service, World Bank eLibrary, a collection of the World Bank’s numerous publications, reports, working papers and other related documents. All texts are searchable by both topic and region, and available in full-text. Currently, over 4,500 documents are indexed in the database. The World Bank’s areas of focus include economic and social development, education, environmental issues, health, and finance.


 

The United Nations Millennium Project was commissioned by the United Nations Secretary-General in 2002 to develop a concrete action plan for the world to achieve the Millennium Development Goals (MDG) and to reverse the grinding poverty, hunger and disease affecting billions of people. In 2005, the independent advisory body, headed by Professor Jeffrey Sachs, presented its final recommendations to the Secretary-General in a synthesis volume entitled Investing in Development: A Practical Plan to Achieve the Millennium Development Goals.  As of January 2007, the UN Millennium Project secretariat team has been integrated into the United Nations Development Programme, which produces the MDG Monitor--a tool for policymakers, development practitioners, journalists, students and others to track progress through interactive maps and country-specific profiles.

Other Development Websites

AlertNet is "the world's humanitarian news site" and is a product of the Thompson Reuters Foundation Service. Established in 1997 after the Rwandan genocide, AlertNet is a free humanitarian news service covering crises worldwide. Multimedia content comes from specialist AlertNet reporters around the world and a network of 196 Reuters News bureaus. In addition, a community of about 500 international relief organizations and 60 specialist news content partners provide information.

BRIDGE is another information product from the Institute of Development Studies (IDS) at the University of SussexIts focus is on gender.  Its goal is to bridge the gap between researchers and community workers.

Forced Migration Online (FMO) provides instant access to a wide variety of online resources dealing with the situation of forced migrants worldwide. It contains an introductory guide to forced migration for visitors who are new to the subject and is coordinated by a team based at the Refugee Studies Centre of Oxford University.

HURISEARCH facilitates access to quality human rights information on the web. A powerful web research tool that increases the visibility of information published by human rights organizations, in particular, small local organizations with first-hand information. It provides direct access to the content of over 3000 human rights websites and filters out the non-relevant content: only the pages from websites with a main focus on human rights are indexed and includes over 50 languages.

International Relations and Security Network is part of the Swiss Center for Security Studies and is directed at international relations and security professionals. Its website is an excellent source of information on ongoing and potential conflicts throughout the world. Their digital library captures information from a variety of groups and can be searched by topic or region.

ReliefWeb is the global hub for time-critical humanitarian information for complex emergencies and natural disasters. It allows you to create your own country briefing kit.

Women in Development: A Guide to Information Resources is a research guide for development resources for women's rights in development through Columbia University Library. 

Tip: you can find even more links at International Development, the WWW Virtual Library.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322