Skip to main content

Development Practice: Official, IGO & NGO Resources

Information resources to support Masters in Development Practice and other Emory development studies programs

IRIN: Humanitarian News & Analysis

humanitarian news and analysis
is a service of the UN Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs that offers many RSS feeds for all areas of the world and a wide variety of topics.

Loading

Sociologists Look at NGOs

"Outsourcing Social Transformation: Development NGOs as Organizations,"

Susan Cotts Watkins, Ann Swidler, and Thomas Hannan
Annual Review of Sociology, Vol. 38: 285 -315 (Volume publication date August 2012)

Development Agencies

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Official, IGO & NGO Resources

Directories/Lists

Directory of Development Organizations   lists almost 54,000 organizations involved in development. For easier referencing, the directory has been divided into 6 geographical sections: Africa, Asia and the Middle East, Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean, North America, and Oceania. Provides brief information on each organization including a link to a website if available.

 For each of the regions contacts have been annotated by the following 9 categories: (1) international organizations; (2) government institutions; (3) private sector support organizations (including fairtrade); (4) finance institutions; (5) training and research centres; (6) civil society organizations; (7) development consulting firms (including references to job opportunities and vacancy announcements); (8) information providers (development newsletters/journals); and, (9) grantmakers.

 

Some Other Guides to Development Related Agencies:

 

  • Global Go to Think Tank  (University of Pennsylvania) Lists the most important think tanks in the world and by area/country and topic including the most important think tanks related to international development. Annual ranking.
  • One Water (University of Miami) list of water-related organizations. SEE ALSO Emory's Center for Global Safe Water's web list

 

 Selected National Development Agencies

 

See also The International Development Research Centre (IDRC)  a Crown corporation created by the Parliament of Canada in 1970 to help developing countries use science and technology to find practical, long-term solutions to the social, economic, and environmental problems they face.

 

USAID also supports a special University Engagement website intended to be a centralized source to help students, researchers and faculty identify programs and grants related to international development

                 USAID@United Nations General Assembly, 9/2010, President Obama

                     

 

Selected International Agencies

The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is an organization of 186 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world. Website includes links to statistical information, research reports and country information focusing on economics. The World Bank and the International Monetary Fund produce the Global Monitoring Reports which analyze progress throughout the world on meeting the Millennial Development Goals.

Topics e.g.

Development
Public Governance and Management
Regional, Rural and Urban Development
Sustainable Development
Departments, Directorates, Centres and Agencies
e.g.
Development Co-operation Directorate (DAC)
Development Centre

Statistics Portal

Founded in 1944, the World Bank Group is one of the world's largest sources of development assistance. The Bank is now owned by more than 180 member countries and is working in more than 100 developing economies, bringing a mix of finance and ideas to improve living standards and eliminate the worst forms of poverty. For each of its clients, the Bank works with government agencies, nongovernmental organizations, and the private sector to formulate assistance strategies. Its country offices worldwide deliver the Bank's program in countries, liaise with government and civil society, and work to increase understanding of development issues. The website includes numerous statistical resources as well as documentation for country needs and World Bank activities.

The World Bank Group is made up of two unique development institutions owned by 186 member countries: the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (IBRD) and the International Development Association (IDA). Each institution plays a different but collaborative role in advancing the vision of inclusive and sustainable globalization. The IBRD aims to reduce poverty in middle-income and creditworthy poorer countries, while IDA focuses on the world's poorest countries. The World Bank and the International Monetary Fund produce the Global Monitoring Reports which analyze progress throughout the world on meeting the Millennial Development Goals.

Not all World Bank reports are freely available. You will be able to identify some in EUCLID and all current reports in

   

World Bank eLibrary (Emory only)

The World Bank eLibrary is a collection of the World Bank’s numerous publications, reports, working papers and other related documents. All texts are searchable by both topic and region, and available in full-text. Currently, over 4,500 documents are indexed in the database. The World Bank’s areas of focus include economic and social development, education, environmental issues, health, and finance.

 

 

Selected NGOs

Amnesty International

Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

CARE International also Care Online Library, a strategic subset of the many documents, manuals, thought papers, and studies produced all the time throughout CARE USA.

Clinton Global Initiative

Doctors Without Borders

Engineers Without Borders USA

FRAME is a peer-to-peer network of Natural Resource Management practitioners, facilitating knowledge transfer and relationships building, enabling members to grow best practices around development challenges.

Human Rights Watch

Interaction is the largest alliance of U.S.-based international nongovernmental organizations (NGOs) focused on the world’s poor and most vulnerable people. Produces Monthly Developments Magazine, Foreign Assistance Briefing Book(US): NGO Aid Map,  a wide variety of training materials and useful jobs site.

International Federation of the Red Cross & Red Crescent Societies

Oakland Institute is an independent U.S. based think tank whose development-related research is often cited. One topic of recent note is large transfers of African land to foreign investors.

Practical Action is an international non-governmental organisation (NGO) which specialises in helping people to use technology for practical answers to poverty. Taking small steps and working with existing resources, appropriate ideas can help people to help themselves. Some ideas are captured in videos which are also posted to YouTube.

Save the Children

STEPS Centre, a global research and policy engagement centre bringing together development studies and science & technology studies including topics like agriculture& food, energy & climate change, health & disease, and water & sanitation.

Transparency International is an independent group that spotlights corruption around the world with a variety of special and annual reports.


Selected Recurring Reports

 

Aid Worker Security Report (Humanitrian Outcomes)

Amnesty International Report

Bill a & Melinda Gates Foundation Annual Letter overview on development work generally)

Country Reports on Human Rights Practices (U.S. State Dept.)

Freedom in the World: Political Rights and Civil Liberties (Freedom House)

Global Report (UNHCR)

Human Development Report (UNDP)

Human Rights Watch World Report

Hunger: Annual Report on the State of World Hunger. (World Institute on Hunger & Development)

International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies World Disasters Report

International Federation of the Red Cross and Red Crescent Annual Report

International Helsinki Federation for Human Rights Annual Report

State of the World (WorldWatch --annual sustainability report) HC59.15 S734

The State of the World's Children (UNICEF )

State of the World's Mothers (Save the Children)

State of the World's Land and Water Resources for Food and Agriculture (FAO)

World Refugee Survey (US Committee for Refugees and Immigrants)

World Survey of Women in Development (UN Division for the Advancement of Women)

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322