Skip to main content

Development Practice: Mapping & Statistics

Information resources to support Masters in Development Practice and other Emory development studies programs

Getting Started

Many of the sources listed throughout this guide have statistical information, however there are also specialized statistical publications related to specific countries and issue areas that you can find below.  The Data Resources for International Development LibGuide is a good starting point.  

Mapping

Geographic Information Services (GIS) are available in Electronic Data Services, Woodruff Library, Level 3 in the Emory Center for Digital Scholarship.

Megan Slemons (megan.slemons@emory.edu) works with faculty and students who want to incorporate geospatial technologies into their teaching and research.  

For more information on mapping check out the following research guides: 

Statistics

Find Data

 

International Historical Statistics. Africa, Asia and Oceania 1750-2005. 5th ed. 2007. Ref. HA4675 .M553 2007

 International Historical Statistics. Americas 1750-2005  6th ed.  Ref. HA175 .M55 2007 

Statistical Abstracts of the World is a collection of the statistical abstracts of approximately 40 countries, mostly developed, but also a small number of others including Chile, Bangladesh, Kenya.

Most international organizations produce exensive statistics on individual coutries and regions. Major titles include the United Nation's 

Demographic Yearbook, contains general tables including a world summary of selected demographic statistics, statistics on the size, distribution and trends in national populations, natality, foetal mortality, infant and maternal mortality, general mortality, nuptiality and divorce.

Statistical Yearbook  Ref. HA12.5 U63 Also available online. The most general of the United Nations statistical publications

For more, browse the UN Statistics Division. Most publications cited can be located in the library and many are also available online at the UN site.

 The World Bank is another important source of statistical information. Of interest is the Annual Review of Development Effectiveness, and independent evaluation of the work of the World Bank.

The Economics Intelligence  Unit (EIU) (Emory Only) is an important source of economic information.

Humanitarian Response Index (HV553 .H856) recurring publication started in 2007 which provides statistical information on donors and spotlights humanitarian crises. Some years available online.


Aid Worker Security Report (Humanitarian Outcomes)

Armed Conflict Location and Event Data (ACLED) a publicly available conflict event dataset designed for
disaggregated conflict analysis and crisis mapping. This dataset contains information on the dates and locations of
all reported political violence events in over 50 developing countries, with a focus on Africa.  ACLED User Guide for Humanitarian and Development Practitioners


 

NEW!  Humanitarian Data Exchange (HDX)  new project to provide a central source of humanitarian data. Officially launched in 2014. Project of ReliefLab and the United Nations.

 

 

 

Other agency sites with important statistical information (watch for special statistical pages) to browse include:


ADB - African Development Bank Group

FAO - United Nations Food and Agricultural Organization
ILO - International Labor Organization
IMF - International Monetary Fund
OECD - Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development

UNAIDS - United Nations Joint Programme on HIV/AIDS
UNCTAD - United Nations Commission on Trade and Development
UNDP - United Nations Development Program
UNECA - United Nations Economic Commission for Africa
UNESCO - United Nations Economic, Scientific and Cultural Organization

UNFPA - United Nations Population Fund
UNHCR - United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees
UNICEF

WHO - World Health Organization
WPF - World Population Fund

 

AID DATA 

AidData (Global Development Portal)

Attempts to capture the universe of development finance and foreign aid, increase the value of data by providing more descriptive information about development activities, provide data in an accessible format, and strengthen efforts to improve donor and recipient strategic planning and coordination. More info Demo.

Aid Transparency Index (PublishWhatYouFund)is an effort to rate various international (World Bank, Global Fund) and country aid organizations by the transparency of information about their foreign aid efforts including recipients, purpose, project evaluations, etc.

Foreign Assistance Dashboard (U.S.)

The Foreign Assistance Dashboard provides a view of U.S. Government foreign assistance funds and enables users to examine, research, and track aid investments in a standard and easy-to-understand format. The Dashboard is still in its early stages of development.

Financial Tracking Service: Tracking Global Humanitarian Aid Flows

 The FTS is a global, real-time database which records all reported international hummanitarian aid(including that for NGOs and the Red Cross / Red Crescent Movement, bilateral aid, in-kind aid, and private donations). FTS features a special focus on consolidated and flash appeals, because they cover the major humanitarian crises and because their funding requirements are well defined - which allows FTS to indicate to what extent populations in crisis receive humanitarian aid in proportion to needs.


Millennium Challenge Corporation (MCC)

MCC is  a bilateral United States foreign aid agency established by Congress in 2004. It is an independent agency, separate from the State Department or USAID. It seeks to deliver U.S. foreign aid to countries that meet selected policy and performance indicators. Countries identify and implement their own proposals. Monitoring of funds is rigorous and transparent with statistics available on the the website..

Health Data

 

The libguide, Health and Disease in Africa has a special tab for Mapping and Statistics.  Most of these sources are not limited to Africa.

 

Other Specialized Resources:

Afrobarometer is an independent, nonpartisan research project that measures the social, political and economic atmosphere in Africa. Surveys are conducted in more than a dozen African countries and are repeated on a regular cycle. Because the instrument asks a standard set of questions, countries can be systematically compared. Trends in public attitudes are tracked over time. Data can be downloaded or analyzed online.

Sub-Saharan Africa Religion Survey

Global Well Being Full Report (PDF; 190 KB) is classifies respondents as “thriving,” “struggling,” or “suffering,” according to how they rate their current and future lives on a ladder scale based on the Cantril Self-Anchoring Striving Scale.

Land Matrix: The Online Public Database on Land Deals. is a" global and independent land monitoring initiative that promotes transparency and accountability in decisions over land and investment.  This website is our Global Observatory - an open tool for collecting and visualising information about large-scale land acquisitions." From website.

Index of African Governance rates governance in 48 African countries by using statistics ranging from elections to refugees and human rights.

Africa Capacity Indicators: Capacity Development in Fragile States. Inaugual report publisheded in 2011. Intended to be an annual.

USAID CSO Sustainability Index for Africa. Started in 2009. Measures the sustainability of each country's CSO sector based on seven dimensions: legal environment, organizational capacity, financial viability, advocacy, service provision, infrastructure, and public image

 

 

Analyze Data

 

Electronic Data Center (Woodruff Library, Level 3)

 

The Electronic Data Center helps students and faculty locate numeric data and statistical information for analysis. We also help researchers manage, format, and prepare their data for statistical analysis. 

http://edc.library.emory.edu/ - The Homepage for the Electronic Data Center

http://edc.library.emory.edu/content/links - The Data Freeway, a thematically-organized collection of links to on-line data sources. The sources here are often more specialized and niche-oriented than the resources included in this guide.

http://edc.library.emory.edu/content/help-resources-and-training - Here, you'll find help resources for working with particular data resources, such as the ICPSR. You'll also find various guides for and introductions to working with particular statistical software programs (SAS, SPSS, and Stata).

http://einstein.library.emory.edu/citation_guide.html - Yes, you do have to cite your data sources. This guide will help you figure out how to cite your data in a way that is informative and useful to others.

http://edc.library.emory.edu/content/contact - Data Center contact information and hours.

EDC Research Guide: ECON 362-000/AFS 389-002 - Economic Development (Fall 2011)

EDC Research Guide: Selected Data Resources for ECON 366 (Development Issues in Africa)

 

Other Useful Tools:

Gapminder is a visualizing tool which allows you to plot a range of development data on a map or chart and animate it over time. Check out Let My Dataset Change Your Mind Set, a speech and demonstration by Gapminder creator & Swedish Professor of Public Health, Hans Rosling to the U.S. State Department in 2009. SEE ALSO Rosling's Debunking third-world myths with the best stats you've ever seen and 200 Countries, 200 Years, 4 Minutes

A Developing World, produced by the Canadian Geographic Enterprises and Canadian International Development Agency, is an interactive map which allows you to click on continents, regions or countries and find more detailed information associated with the MDGs. You can also compare countries as well as take a thematic approach and find out more about population, poverty and hunger, health, education, environment and HIV/AIDS at the global level, and in specific regions/countries. Data was compiled in 2007-2008.

 

SELECTED MAPS

 

Malaria Deaths (UNICEF): Map showing countries of world resized according to malaria deaths (Worldmapper)

 

UC Atlas of Global Inequality

Atlas of Global Development: A Visual Guide to the World's Greatest Challenges. 3rd ed. 2011 (World Bank) Emory only

The Atlas of World Hunger.  2010. G1046 .E59 B38 2010 Using the Hunger Vulmerabilty Index, includes maps, tables, graphs and text.

Africa: Atlas of Our Changing Environment  2008. (United Nations Environment Programme)is a unique publication which brings to light stories of environmental change at more than 100 locations spread across every country in Africa. There are more than 300 satellite images, 300 ground photographs and 150 maps.

National Geographic Map Machine Maps from National Geographic both general and on various topics,

NGO Aid Map from InterAction houses a variety of aid maps including NGO response to African drought, Haiti earthquake, etc. NGO Aid Map is an InterAction initiative focused on collecting information on NGOs' work at the project level and making it accessible to donors, NGOs, businesses, governments and the public through an online, interactive mapping tool.

Worldmapper is a collection of digital maps on a variety of topics where the maps are resized by subject (see Malaria Deaths above).

 

Selected Specialized Health Maps:


Atlas of Climate and Health. World Health Organization. 2012. (On order)

Global Health Map tracks disease outbreaks and public health concerns worldwide. (Childrens Hospital Boston) . HealthMap brings together disparate data sources, including online news aggregators, eyewitness reports, expert-curated discussions and validated official reports, to achieve a unified and comprehensive view of the current global state of infectious diseases and their effect on human and animal health. Through an automated process, updating 24/7/365, the system monitors, organizes, integrates, filters, visualizes and disseminates online information about emerging diseases in nine languages, facilitating early detection of global public health threats.

Malaria Atlas Project. The most detailed map ever created of malaria risk worldwide has been published by an international team of researchers funded by the Wellcome Trust.


World Health Organization WHO: Welcome to the Global Health Observatory Map Gallery

 

 

 

 

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322