Skip to main content

Development Practice: Videos/Images

Information resources to support Masters in Development Practice and other Emory development studies programs

Why (& where) videos?

If a picture is worth a thousand words, adding sound and movement makes videos/films even more valuable. Fortunately, Emory has an extensive collection of videos relevant to Development Studies including a large collection of films related to African and Latin American Studies and environmental studies.

The film collection is located in the Heilbrun Music & Media Library located on the 4th floor of the Woodruff Library (use Lobby stairs & elevators, to your left and right as you enter the building)

Specialized finding aids for Emory's film collections:

Don't forget YouTube for development videos!

What if I can't find a video I need?

  • The film may be released under more than one title. Contact the Main Reference desk or the Film Studies and Media Librarian for assistance.
  • Qualified Emory borrowers may be able to obtain the video through Interlibrary Loan. Try checking in OCLC WorldCat first to see if other libraries have it.
  • The title you're looking for may not be on video at all due to market constraints or licensing issues. If you are conducting a research project you may be able to make arrangements to see the film in an archive.

Use discoverE to Find Films

Use discoverE's catalog tab to find audiovisuals as well as books, journals government documents, microfilm collections and other materials at the Emory libraries, which include Woodruff, Pitts Theology, Health Sciences Center, McMillan Law, Guy Chemistry, Math & Science Center and, Oxford libraries.

SELECT ADVANCED SEARCH and limit your search to videos using discoverE's drop down menu under Material Type.

If you do a simple search using keywords, you will have an option to select videos on the lefthand side of your screen under Refine Search Results.

Check out Find Movies & Music and discoverE's Help page for more information.

Using the Collection

Use of Emory film collection is guided by U.S. copyright law.

Individuals can view films in the Music and Media Library and there is a smaller circulating collection.

Films can also be checked out for classroom use.

Copyright restrictions apply to public showing of films outside a classroom.  This includes showing films at clubs, public lectures, or film series. It does not matter if the showing is free.

Films may be shown if the library owns public performance rights or the film is in the public domain. The Emory Music and Media Library staff can work with you to determine the licensing and viewing rules for titles in the film collection.

More information on the use of Emory films is found on Music and Media Library. See also http://duc.emory.edu/documents/2013_movie_policy.pdf

Don't Forget YouTube for Development Videos

KBC -Kenya: Published on Aug 1, 2013

Deaths from malaria related complications have continued to pose a major challenge to the health sector in Kenya with most of these deaths attributed to late diagnosis of a rather treatable disease.

Photo Sites

Photoshare, managed by Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, is growing (20,000+) image collection covering a broad range of subjects in international development, with a focus on public health. Images are freely available for educational and non-profit use.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322