Skip to main content

Development Practice: Country Profiles

Information resources to support Masters in Development Practice and other Emory development studies programs

Countries of Africa

Country Information

EIU Country Reports

 

Historical Dictionaries

 

Millennium Development Goals Country report

Country Information

Most of the major development websites have a country profiles section. See for example ELDIS country profiles which provides profiles of countries and regions. Country Gateways section of Development Gateway provides information on country level development portals. There are over 10 listed for Africa.

Also do not forget the country pages of :

 ***Africa South of the Sahara: Selected Internet Resources (Stanford, Karen Fung)
A huge, well-organized site covering Sub-Saharan Africa. You can search by country or topic. There is a special section on Development.

Organizations working in Africa also tend to have information by country. See for example

African Development Bank, Countries

Food and Agriculture Organization's (FAO)  Countries

United Nations Development Program's (UNDP)  Human Development Country Reports; Millenium Development Goals Country Reports;

and MDG Monitor

United Nations Economic and Social Organization (UNESCO) Countries

United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees: Africa

United States AID, Sub-Saharan Africa

World Bank, Countries

World Health Organization's (WHO) Countries

OTHER COUNTRY SOURCES                                                               

African Historical Dictionary Series Check EUCLID or discoverE for individual call numbers.

Contains entries for important names, places, etc. in the history of individual African countries

BBC Country Profiles:Africa (scroll down page to Country Profiles)

Country Studies/Area Handbook Series
Older but still useful. A U.S. government produced series of monographs on individual countries throughout the world. There is a volume for most African nations. This series is well-written and contains extensive bibliographies. Electronic versions of volumes published since 1988 are available. Paper copies of the full collection located in the Documents Collection D101.6/6 on level one of Woodruff Library.

**EIU Country Reports   (Emory only)

The Economist Intelligence Unit is the world's leading provider of country intelligence, providing up-to-date, reliable and impartial analysis of worldwide market trends and business strategies. EIU continuously assesses and forecasts political, economic and business conditions in almost 200 countries, and provides insight into how companies are responding.

EIU VIEWSWIRE(Emory only)

This Economist Intelligence Unit service provides daily highlights of key economic, political and business developments worldwide. In addition to updates to the EIU Country Reports, EIU Viewswire includes summaries of regulatory, trade, industry, and investment analysis.

Europa World Plus (Emory only)

Great place to get a summary of recent political history/events in a country.  (Choose your country then go to the "Recent History" section.) Covers political and economic information for over 250 countries and territories.  (Also available in print at REF DESK D2 . E821 2005.)

Foreign Information by Country (University of Colorado)

Very useful listing of a wide variety of links to country information put out by the U.S. government, international organizations, and various web portals.

GlobalEDGE: Africa (Michigan State University) pulls together information about individual African countries from a variety of standard sources.

Portals to the World (Library of Congress)

Contains selective links to authoritative, in-depth information about individual countries maintained by subject specialists at the Library of Congress.

U.S. Central Intelligence Agency. World Leaders (formerly Chiefs of State & Cabinet Members)
Provides a list of the President, cabinet members, the Governor of the Central Bank, the country's Ambassador to the U.S., and its U.N. Representative for all countries from Angola to Zimbabwe. Paper and microfiche copies are available in documents colelction on level 1.

United States. Central Intelligence Agency. World Factbook
Information on geography, people, government, economy, transportation, communication, defense for individual countries. Prepared by the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency. A paper copy is available in the Documents Collection, Pr Ex 3.15.

U.S. Department of State. (Sub-Saharan Africa)
Links to a variety of information on the geography, people, government, economy, history, government and political conditions, principal government officials, foreign relations, defense, and more for each country with which the US has diplomatic relations.

World Bibliography Series (Reference collection. Check for individual call numbers).
This series, which is available for many African countries, contains annotated lists of books and articles dealing with all elements of the nation.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322