Skip to main content

Development Practice: News Sources

Information resources to support Masters in Development Practice and other Emory development studies programs

AllAfrica.com Latest Headlines

Loading

BBC Africa News

Loading

ELDIS: Africa

Loading

NGO News Africa

Loading

News Sources

 

General African News Sources:

The following titles review African developments in an on-going basis:  

Africa Confidential. Semimonthly. v. 13, 1972- . DT1.A19. Latest year in Reference. Africa Available electronically from 2004 (Emory only) but latest year is print only.

Africa Contemporary Record: Annual Survey and Documents.1968/69- . DT1.A2 latest year in reference. DT 1 .Af815

Africa Research Bulletin. Monthly. 1964- . Political, social, and cultural series and various other series. DT 1. A28. Latest 2 years of Political, social and Cultural series in Reference.Current issues in Reference - 1997 to present online (via Blackwell-Synergy)

Africa Yearbook Online. Annual. 2004- .Covers major domestic political developments, the foreign policy and socio-economic trends in sub-Saharan Africa.

Africa South of the Sahara. Annual. 1971- . DT 351 .A37 Latest in Reference

 

Important Digital Continent and Country News Sources: 

TIP: When you search a digital news resource remember to adjust to the dates you need. Most news databases default to the latest week/month only.

Access World News (Newsbank) (Emory only)covers over 130 news sources from Africa. Select "World" and then "Africa" to limit to African sources.

African Newspapers/News    lists news sources by country. From the excellent website  Africa South of the Sahara

News (breaking)
News (continent-wide)
News (by country)

allAfrica.com provides current news from over 125 African media outlets, including newspapers, news agencies and publications all over the African continent. Also includes selected African-related reports, speeches, press releases and announcements from governments, non-governmental organizations and other newsmakers, inside and outside of Africa. Includes the archive of the Africa News Service back to 1997. Emory users have access to the Premier Search engine.

Sustainable Africa: Water-Energy-Health-Agriculture-Biodiversity is a topical section of  AllAfrica.com. Other topical sections are

BBC World News connects to the British Broadcasting's overseas news coverage which also has tabs for TV and radio. A separate Africa news page is available.

ELDIS and other general development websites often have a special African development news section or news feed.

Factiva (Emory only) lets you quickly search nearly 8,000 publications from around the world (including Africa) in 22 languages. It includes the world's most prestigious publications and the Reuters and Dow Jones newswires. You can select "Source Category" and 'Publication by Region."

GlobalVoices Online is a community of over 300 "citizen activist" bloggers throughout the world including Africa. An important alternative source of news founded in 2005 by former CNN journalists. FAQ available.

International Relations and Security Network is part of the Swiss Center for Security Studies and directed at international relations and security professionals. Its website is an excellent source of information on ongoing and potential conflicts throughout the world. Their digital library captures information from a variety of groups and can be searched by topic or region.

Lexis/Nexis Academic (Emory only) is a major source for newspapers throughout the world, including Africa. You can limit your search by source.

New York Times, Africa, International News contains breaking news and opinion. Note "Times Topics: Find News by County" search box in upper right of page.

Newspaper Map, a Google Map that has been annotated with sites from more than 10,000 worldwide news outlets including many from Africa. One click will take you to a news site, and you can choose which language you would like to read it in (e.g. Swahili to English), thanks to Google’s translation services. The site is the work of Great Name, a Web-development squad from Gothenburg, Sweden.

NGO News: Africa A non-profit that supplies news from volunteers throughout Africa.

OneWorld.net is an online media gateway for independently produced news on a host of issues that impact people worldwide. Built on sources from its global network, which includes nongovernmental organizations, development-oriented news services, foundations and research institutions, this Web space is both a search engine and online community for organizations and individuals seeking in-depth information or guidance on how to become involved in addressing challenges facing people worldwide .Focuses on news/issues that may not be covered by mainstream media. There is also a regional OneWorld: Africa.

 PressDisplay provides online access to today's newspapers from around the world in full-color, full-page format.  The ever-expanding collection currently includes more than 1,700 U.S. and international titles —from 94 countries in 48 languages. Sub-saharan Africa titles are limited with the richest collection currently from South Africa.  Using Library PressDisplay is similar to reading the familiar print edition, viewers can browse articles and other key content, such as pictures, advertisements, classifieds, and notices. The service also provides up to a 60-day backfile and the ability to perform keyword searches across all titles and the entire backfile. Note there are five simultaneous users for this database.

Television News Archive (Emory only) collection at Vanderbilt University holds more than 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline since 1989. Includes coverage of African developments such apartheid in South Africa which were featured on US news.

The Times Digital Archive (1785-1985) (Emory only)is the digital archive of the Times (London), an important paper with significant coverage of African affairs. The database is searchable full text, including advertisements and photographs, back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. More recent years of the Times (London) are searchable on Lexis-Nexis.

World News Connection (Emory only)is a foreign news service from the U.S. Government that offers translated and English-language news and information. Includes the local media sources in foreign countries and regions, including Africa. Compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources, the information in WNC covers socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events . Goes back to 1994.

The general index, Africa-Wide:NiPAD (Emory only) , covers news sources as well journals and other resources.

African Newspapers 

The Woodruff Library Newspaper List gives information on newspapers the library holds in paper or microform.

For more information on African news sources including historical resources see African News Research Guide.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322